We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor xmas” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatsworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chatsworth Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
nuneaton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“poor xmas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

have just spent 4 days over Christmas which weren't very good.There was absolutely no atmosphere there what soever.if it hadn't been 4 very pretty decorations you'd not have known it was Christmas!!.Was very very dissappointed.couldn't fault the food or my room which had a/c in lovely.Staff weren't particularly helpful either.entertainment very poor considering the season.was just like any other day.Our group were last to go in for every meal every day,when manager was asked if he would rotate the sittings he said it would cause problems.Over £500 waisted.could have stopped at home and watched the TV would have been more entertaining!!
would certainlt nor recommend the chatsworth for Christmas not sure what it would be like thest of season.

Room Tip: ask for room facing garden or sea. room 326 was lovely and.very quiet was on 3rd floor.haas 2 lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scattyann35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHotel, Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review, I am sorry to hear that you did not have a satisfactory stay with us.

We have had nothing but compliments this year as we do every year on our festive decorations and I am glad that you agreed. We do try our very best to create a festive atmosphere by playing Christmas music, serving traditional Christmas fare, nightly live entertainment , Christmas themed quizzes and a visit from Santa on Christmas morning. I am sorry that you did not agree.

I am a little confused that you mentioned that the staff were not helpful, could you elaborate in what sense as you have ticked the ‘good service’ column on our quality of service card that you have filled in.

As one of our receptionist informed you when you enquired, we try and be as fair as possible with regards to the timings for your group meals and your tour operator had been contacted prior to arrival to check that they were happy with the times allocated to them. We regularly have more than one group staying with us and we have found from past experience that rotating dinner times on a daily basis causes a lot of confusion with guests.

It is a shame that you did not enjoy your stay with us as we have received a positive comment card back from the majority of group guests who stayed with us over the festive period.

I hope that you will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you, as I do not want your lasting impression of the hotel to be a negative one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    223
    120
    58
    29
See reviews for
102
206
43
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I've lived in Worthing all my life and have never visited the Chatsworth before

We we greeted by the manager upon arrival and the waiters were very friendly. It was a very warm and welcoming environment and I would definitely return.

It's a great location, very near to the town centre, but has lovely views out to the sea, and the Steyne Gardens.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaN86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
467 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We had to rush down to Worthing and managed to book a room at the Chatsworth, at a very reasonable price, with Breakfast included. The room was excellent, very warm and cosy, the staff from start to finish could not do enough for us, and the breakfast was excellent, would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malc1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed at the Chatsworth 13th - 14th December 2013.

It cost £40 for a twin single occupancy.

The staff are very helpful and friendly, the room was excellent except for a few minor repairs needed.

A full English breakfast was included which was excellent with very good service.

Will certainly recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the Park 3rd floor 342
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goring, West Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

My family and I, a party of five, booked a table at the Chatsworth for my 80th birthday. When first seated, we felt that the table was a bit too small; this turned out to be so as plates were all crammed together by the waiters, one of whom spilled a glass of wine on my daughter's special dress and over her side of the table. Instead of re-seating us, they used lots of napkins to mop up the spillage on the table and just apologised to my daughter. It became pretty obvious that the two young waiters were pretty inexperienced, but the manager did little to help the situation. Some birthday celebration!
The food wasn't anything to write home about either.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daphne75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Have just visited this hotel, with a local coach company for a turkey and Tinsel 5 day break, our party was only 14 , but this hotel still did its utmost to make our holiday enjoyable. My room was excellent very clean and spacious. christmas day dinner was very good with the rest of the meals also very tasty! the breakfasts were rather small but there was plenty of choice. the entertainment tried their best , dont think they ever had such small audiancesto play to! i would certainly stay here again probably in the summer when more people staying

Room Tip: room 130 overlooking park and view of sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank val A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
325 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here for a wedding and would probably not stay again. Certainly not until they have a revamp.

The price was quite high, there was a wedding booking discount which made it a more reasonable rate but if you were booking at the standard rate I think you would be very disappointed.

Booking in the first place was difficult. Phoning up and quoting the wedding details seemed very difficult for the staff to comprehend. I found out that many other people in the wedding part had similar difficulties in booking.

The building looks great from the outside but is not so good on the inside. The floors are uneven, some doors do not fit at all well. Generally the place looks dated. You could say qwerky if you were being kind.

Breakfast was ok. Good selection from the buffet table, average full english.

Parking is difficult in the immediate area, you can drop off outside but getting a space close by is near impossible. They have a deal with the local multistory for discounted parking but that can still add a significant amount to your stay if you are stopping for multiple days.

Best thing in my opinion was location. Close to the main town, the sea front and pier.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthing
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
0.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#7 of 11 in Worthing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
4.2 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth Hotel

Property: Chatsworth Hotel
Address: Steyne, Worthing BN11 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chatsworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatsworth Hotel has 97 ensuite bedrooms, all varying in size and appearance and with many overlooking the sea and Steyne Gardens. We always offer double or twin rooms for sole occupancy where required and some bedrooms also have air conditioning. All benefit from a desk area and complimentary wi-fi and are comfortably appointed to ensure you get a good nights rest. Room service is available 24 hours a day for cold snacks, our bar is open for hot food between midday and 1.45pm and our Restaurant is open in the evenings.For special occasions we have a number of luxury four poster suites with beautiful seaviews and for families we offer rooms with an adjoining room with bunkbeds. Accessible rooms are also available, and we have two lifts, serving our three floors. We also have a well stocked Games Room, with two slate bedded Snooker tables,a pool table, table tennis, darts and a skittle alley. Parking is available on street outside the hotel or at the local NCP car park. Unfortunately we do not have a car park but do offer discounted parking vouchers to our guests.Call our Reception team to discuss your requirements, or book online. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chatsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing