We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Tidy, But Very Dated”
Review of Chatsworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chatsworth Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Clean and Tidy, But Very Dated”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel has definitely seen better days, it's clean and tidy but very dated and run down. The staff are polite and helpful but that's not really enough. The real saving grace is the location of the hotel, right by the sea front and close to the highstreet

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevSuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    237
    138
    67
    32
See reviews for
105
226
45
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked into the hotel on Good Friday. We were booked to stay in a double, room 124 for three nights. On the first night I had to complain regarding the noise from the persons next door with the TV on maximum. It turned out one of the occupants were deaf. Our bed was uncomfortable and turning over every spring pinged and no sleep was had. I went to the extremely helpful reception staff on the Saturday morning and we were moved to a bigger twin room. The twin room was such a contrast. Airy comfortable and the beds amazing. The restaurant was superb. We ate there every evening. Superb three course meal for less than £20. Best meal in a hotel for the cost ration we have ever had. The restaurant staff were polite efficient and their professionalism second to none. The restaurant manager Tinsley was one of a kind. For someone so young the way he ran the restaurant was hugely impressive. There was nothing we could criticize regarding his approach to guests and the presentation of the food. First rate. He has a remarkable resemblance to Digby from Holtby. Sorry Tinsley take that as a compliment. All in all we cannot fault the Chatsworth and will be staying again.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin room Anything you are unhappy with they will resolve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BobLONDON96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have just taken a group of friends to the chatsworth hotel in Worthing.The staff made us feel very welcome,and could not do enough to make our stay a very enjoyable one.I would not hesitate in booking another stay at theChatsworth.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just had three nights stay and after reading some of the other reports was a bit worried about what our stay was going to be like. but this turned out to be a very nice stay the room was on the front over looking the park The staff very friendly and helpful could not do enough to help they were ready at breakfast to take your order and after a few minuets it was on the table so all in all they made it a very pleasant stay would stay there again. Shops and beach are just around the corner. The hotel is being refurbished so it does look a bit dated but this did not put us off.

Room Tip: ours was on the front a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissy898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here for one night as had a wedding in worthing.
Location etc perfect. Would recommend to those looking for a weekend by the sea.
Little bit dated now decor wise but very comfy.
Check out at 10.30 which is a bit early.
Breakfast ok, but I do prefer a buffet breakfast so no waiting, but saying that nothing really wrong with the breakfast, just a personal preference.
Staff friendly
Some refurb work currently going on.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcelhinneyrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

hotel in good location food very good room nice garden view drinks reasonably priced short walk to beach also close to the town good bus service to other towns hotel is on a one way road system can be a noisy first thing in the morning town has a market day a good section of shops and pubs and restaurants

Room Tip: high room front facing has garden view can have traffic noise rooms at the back look over the bus ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We decided to stay in the Chatsworth due to it's proximity to Worthing esplanade, the pier, and the hotels fairly grand exterior. We enquired as to what rooms were available, and were told by the disinterested receptionist we could be offered was a double at the rear of the building for £100 which we foolishly accepted.

The hotel interior is like the inside of a an old-folks home - I appreciate it is an old building, but this seems be due to a lack of renovation rather than retaining the period feel. The bedroom was absolutely tiny and felt very oppressive - again extremely old fashioned decor. It seemed clean on the surface, but closer inspection found net curtains with holes in them, and torn bedding. The room looked over the bus station which as active from the early hours of the morning until late at night. There was no window in the bedroom, but a french door to a small terrace (complete with cigarette butts overlooking the bus garage), which was totally impractical - the room seemed to have absolutely no ventilation and was roasting through the night.

The bed was a very small double, and extremely uncomfortable. The mattress was thin, saggy and dipped in the middle with the springs poking into backs. This combined with the bed in our (and our neighbour's rooms) squeaking loudly every time we moved, with squeaky floorboards in every corner of the room, we woke up absolutely shattered!

Breakfast was served in the large restaurant which felt more spacious than any other area of the hotel. Despite being fairly empty, we were sat at a table in the far corner of the room (complete with dead flowers), with tables by the windows overlooking the gardens being free - maybe because we were not from a tour group?. It was a fairly unimpressive effort - continental offerings of croissants and cereals on offer at a buffet table, and hot 'full english' breakfasts ordered. It was hot, and reasonably portioned. Waiting staff seemed friendly, but were inefficient and simple breakfast requests not being followed through.

Early check out at 10.30am - how this hotel gained 3star status I will never know. Stayed in a stunning hotel down the road on the coast which had every facility you could wish for, with magnificent rooms (that were £12 more expensive than this place). The Chatsworth Hotel demonstrates very clearly why the British Seaside holiday is in decline, with Hotel's like this charging disproportionate rates in relation to rooms and impersonal service. Disappointing!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jinglis84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHotel, Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review, I am sorry to hear that you did not have a satisfactory stay with us. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment with the first phase of all of our sea view rooms completed this week.

All of our bedrooms are slightly different in size due to the building being listed which we are unable to change, however they are of an adequate size and we do not usually receive complaints relating to this.

I am sorry that you found holes in the net curtains, thank you for bringing this to our attention and we have now renewed them. Our Housekeepers do take the utmost care when servicing the rooms, I do apologise if there was a hole in the linen.

Due to the location of the hotel being in a town centre, some guests do experience problems with noise, if you are light sleepers then we normally recommend a room on a higher floor. Many of our rooms are also secondary glazed. We also have many rooms with air conditioning which we allocate if you specifically request this.

We regularly turn our mattresses and unfortunately the floor boards do creak in certain parts of the hotel, again due to its age- in 2007 we celebrated 200 years!

I am sorry to hear that we did not seat you at one of our garden view tables in our restaurant for breakfast. It is not the case that we only seat our group guests at these tables. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the food at breakfast.

A 10.30 check-out is quite common in many hotels, however we do offer a late check-out service or early check-in service if requested. I was very surprised at your comment regarding our 3* status as we have only recently been inspected as we are on a yearly basis by Visit England for which we passed with flying colours.

Our hotel tariff is very competitively priced with similar hotels in the area. I am sorry that you felt disappointed regarding impersonal service. The hotel has been in the same family for over 3 generations and prides itself on a personal service treating guests as family, this is shown by the amount of repeat guests that stay with us.

If you had have mentioned any of these problems at the time, we would have rectified them immediately.

I hope that you will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you, as I do not want your lasting impression of the hotel to be a negative one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Worthing hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
0.0 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 11 in Worthing
463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
387 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
233 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth Hotel

Property: Chatsworth Hotel
Address: Steyne, Worthing BN11 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chatsworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatsworth Hotel has 97 ensuite bedrooms, all varying in size and appearance and with many overlooking the sea and Steyne Gardens. We always offer double or twin rooms for sole occupancy where required and some bedrooms also have air conditioning. All benefit from a desk area and complimentary wi-fi and are comfortably appointed to ensure you get a good nights rest. Room service is available 24 hours a day for cold snacks, our bar is open for hot food between midday and 1.45pm and our Restaurant is open in the evenings.For special occasions we have a number of luxury four poster suites with beautiful seaviews and for families we offer rooms with an adjoining room with bunkbeds. Accessible rooms are also available, and we have two lifts, serving our three floors. We also have a well stocked Games Room, with two slate bedded Snooker tables,a pool table, table tennis, darts and a skittle alley. Parking is available on street outside the hotel or at the local NCP car park. Unfortunately we do not have a car park but do offer discounted parking vouchers to our guests.Call our Reception team to discuss your requirements, or book online. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing