We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast!”
Review of Findon Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Findon Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast!”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Customer service excellent, room was very clean and small but fine for one night's stay, bed comfortable but a bit small (sleigh bed) so kept banging toes during the night.
Breakfast was very good, very well cooked and more than enough - lots of good coffee and refills and service was good as well.

Would highly recommend this hotel - lots of pubs and restaurants in the village - good for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    128
    47
    13
    19
See reviews for
106
159
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitbourne
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Small but lovely room (named after a horse and was priced at £60). Egyptian Cotton and Down bedding. Wooden bedstead. Lovely rambling period building.
Lovely bathroom, with Victorian style mixer taps.Great night's sleep.

Reasonable size TV. Tea making facilities. Nice tea and hot chocolate offerings, and good bathroom soap and shampoo etc
Snooty Fox restaurant was traditional but good. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This was my second stay at the hotel. Check in was straightforward. The gentleman on reception was polite and helpful. They had correct booking details, unlike my previous stay. I was originally allocated Giacommetti. The bedroom was clean and comfortable, thankfully free of the faded chintz I’d experienced in ‘What a Myth’ in May, but clearly not as luxurious as those in photos on Tripadvisor. The bathroom was clean and fully functioning but plain and basic.

I awoke the first morning to find rainwater seeping through the ceiling. I reported it to reception, not realising then that I was speaking to the new owner and to the General Manager. Within minutes I had been allocated a superior room, Aldaniti. This is every bit as good as the photos on Tripadvisor suggest. A glorious white four poster bed, comfortable quality stylish new furnishings, a big bay window with a charming view of the garden, and a high quality bathroom complete with whirlpool bath and thick fluffy towels. Everything was perfectly clean and well maintained. I was also given a complimentary bottle of wine to apologise for the inconvenience. I cannot fault the professional way in which they ensured that an issue that could have spoiled my stay was dealt with to my complete satisfaction.

The owner made a point of speaking to me, first to apologise for the inconvenience, and to say that he had taken ownership only three days ago, so he was only now finding out about maintenance issues like his. He said that builders would be called in promptly, and true to his word, I saw them at work the next day. The owner also encouraged me and others to let them know of any way their stay could be improved. This represents exemplary customer service: putting the guest first. This was lacking on my last visit, and so it was encouraging to see it this time. Indeed all the staff at breakfast and in the bar in the evening were friendly and enthusiastic to please. I felt well looked after, which made all the difference.

The public areas are decorated like a traditional country house. It has a relaxed comfortable feel throughout. Part of its charm is that it is independent, and doesn't have sterile corporate branded public areas found in big hotel chains.

The room had good entertainment facilities. TV had most Freeview channels (no rip off hotel pay per view schemes), and radio. There is free wireless connection.

There is a restaurant and a bar. Evening meals in the bar were of excellent quality. The bar had a relaxing atmosphere, and reasonable prices. I was delighted to see 3 real ales available, including 2 local Sussex based breweries.

Breakfast was a treat. A very good selection of high quality breakfast items; cooked to order and well presented. Plus various fresh continental breakfast items on a buffet.

So my only recommendation to the management would be to refit the standard rooms to bring them up to superior room standard. And I would encourage anyone staying there to book a superior room for a more comfortable stay. I genuinely look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Aldaniti and the other superior rooms are worth the supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fomzine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We have just returned from a weekend stay at this hotel. The location is good and the car park large . Welcome was very friendly and our room was large and comfortable, as was the bathroom. Only niggle is a fresh coat of paint and new carpet would take it from good to very good. However, tea and coffee making facilities were very good and the little touches of sewing kit, shoeshine etc were nice, bathroom towels were lovely and thick and the bed was comfortable. The location means it is quiet at night, no traffic noise. Breakfast was excellent, perfectly sized portions that were piping hot and very tasty, as well as a plentiful supply of fruit, juice, cereal etc. There is a comfortable seating area with papers etc and free wifi. A little more information on the local area would have been useful to read in this room. All in all, a lovely stay and we would recommend and return.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you wish to return late in the evening. There is access to two bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addison182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We recently spent two nights at Findon Manor Hotel and found it to be most comfortable and very reasonable. We had stayed there before at which time our room was upstairs. On this occasion we asked for a ground floor room and we were given Bradbury Star which had recently been refurbished. The decor was cheerful and bright and the room was large by English standards. The bathroom measured up well too, although the loo was rather noisy! Our rate of 117 pounds, included an excellent breakfast, which we thought was most reasonable. The staff were most helpful and pleasant and the surrounding area is beautiful. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were very happy in Bradbury Star which is on the ground floor - a big advantage since there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is the third time I have stayed at this establishment and each time an enjoyable stay was marred by an unecessary flaw.

However, the unique charm of this country house Hotel entices one back for another smack in the mouth in the fashion of Fawlty Towers!

Food was very good, although service somewhat erratic. The staff, of which there appeared very few, would benefit from customer service training and the rooms, although partially updated, are showing signs of fatigue and could easily be spruced up with a lick of paint. There is a great horseracing theme throughout and the Hotel is very relaxing.

On the whole, a pleasant experience although with a little attention to detail could become a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Our rooms were a bit dated. We had 2 rooms which we initially had to reach via the garden. The twin room was a good size, the double was quite small. The bathrooms were a good size, but each had a macerator for the wc. These made a very loud noise that went on for quite a long time! The breakfast was good. The area is lovely and the hotel attractive, but expensive. Other rooms in the hotel might be worth over £100, but in our opinion, not the garden rooms.

Room Tip: Unless the garden rooms - Bradbury Star and Kybo are discounted, it is worth asking for an upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bisy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthing
4.3 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#6 of 11 in Worthing
648 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
3.2 mi away
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 11 in Worthing
457 reviews
4.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
306 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Findon Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Findon Manor Hotel

Property: Findon Manor Hotel
Address: High Street | Findon, Worthing BN14 0TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Findon Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the Sussex countryside and on the slopes of the South Downs Way Findon Manor is set in its own gardens and offers guests a relaxing country retreat. The hotel provides the ultimate relaxing surroundings away from the hustle and bustle of daily life, yet close to the centres of Worthing and Brighton.When it comes to eating at Findon Manor we offer a wide range of choices and our Chefs work to provide guests with menus that use only the freshest locally sourced ingredients whenever possible. Whether you want a quick bite in the Snooty Fox Bar, our speciality traditional Sunday Lunch or a choice from our A La Carte menu in the Terrace Restaurant, you can rest assured that we'll provide a dish to suit you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Findon Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Findon Manor Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing