We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Relaxing Country Retreat”
Review of Findon Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Findon Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence
Luang Phrabang, Louangphrabang, Laos
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Relaxing Country Retreat”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel was wonderful! Very centrally located (although Findon is very small so that's not too difficult!)
The rooms were very clean and spacious! The staff were friendly and welcoming! It was Easter weekend when we visited so the staff very kindly left an Easter Egg and card on our bed which was a lovely touch!
The only negative would be that the breakfast isn't great - there is plenty of everything but the full English breakfast is very greasy!
Other than that we had a fantastic weekend and fell in love with Findon Village!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaOS_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    133
    50
    16
    19
See reviews for
114
170
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

At the Findon Manor Country House Hotel - the Head Chef, David Eaton is just waiting to be discovered. He is making superb food in the Terrace Restaurant of this gem of a hotel, set in the beautiful South Downs National Park in the village of Findon, near Worthing, Sussex.

We booked into a Superior ensuite on the Ground Floor overlooking the garden. The room was warm and inviting, with an unexpected Easter Egg gift on the kingsize bed to welcome us to our weekend.

Having stayed at Findon Manor three years ago, we learned that it is now under new ownership and Debbie has obviously started on a focussed venture of refurbishment (the Hotel was a little tired and in need of it). A real fire burned brightly in the hearth, and the warmth of the Curt, Assistant Manager and the staff team soothed the biting cold and wind outside. We ate some fantastic food over the two days we stayed - locally sourced lamb and pork from Dragons Farm, beautifully presented with appropriate, interesting vegetable accompaniments and preceeded by wonderful starters of scallops with grilled black pudding, or an interesting layered vegetable cheesecake, or potted leg of duck with homemade toasted brioche ....... (I hope they get this menu onto the website, so you can all enjoy reading it!). The hotel, an easy drive to the sea, also has several pubs nearby, plus their own more casual, Snooty Fox bar and there are many attractions to seek out, not the least of which is Cissbury Ring and the South Downs. The room price included breakfast and the stay was extremely good value overall. Discover it for yourself - oh, and they do weddings, and all special occasions, at very good rates too. One to watch!

Room Tip: Bradbury Star on ground floor is quiet, large with Kingsize bed, and overlooks garden as does the Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylvanglade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My partner and I got married there recently and stayed there for our wedding night. The owner greeted us and treated us like royalty from the moment we arrived. The wedding room was just perfect and the brief ceremony went like a dream. We then took over the restaurant for our wedding breakfast, and the layout, table setting, and atmosphere were again absolutely perfect. The owner herself supervised and helped with the serving of the meal, which was to the highest standard. When we originally booked our wedding the hotel the had different owners, so when the new owners took over we had a few worries about continuity, but we needn't have worried because everything went like clockwork. In the evening we had a small reception in the wedding room, and when it was all over we retired to a beautiful immaculate period bedroom with a four-poster bed and a jacuzzi bath. We had a perfect night's sleep in the utter silence of the Sussex Downs, and awoke to a perfectly-cooked Full English breakfast with cereals, fruit and croissants on the side. The cost of the whole event was extremely reasonable, as was the room cost. The quality of the food was first rate, and the owner and her staff were friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. We really can't think of anything that we could criticize - it was perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are sunnier and quieter, and overlook the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pilgrim68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Relaxing stay in a lovely old hotel and village on the Sussex Downs within an easy drive to the sea. Very pleasant and friendly staff and excellent food with a choice between the more formal dining room or the casual bar. Very good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dots122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Spent 2 nights in twin room on ground floor, bright, roomy and comfortable. Only problem was the plumbing was rather noisy. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We did not eat at the hotel but chose the Gunn Pub in the village of Findon which was extremely good. Breakfast was ok but nothing special. I thought it was a shame that there was a £2.50 supplement if you wanted such items as kippers, haddock etc.
Would I stay again? Probably not.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steelysurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2013

From the moment we arrived on the Friday evening we experienced exceptional service from all members of staff . The room was lovely , clean and well equipped . The restaurant and snooty fox bar served fantastic food . Great value for money will defiantly stay again .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19kim81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

to make our stay a pleasant one.

I stayed here with my Sister whilst we were house hunting and fsamily visiting. We arrived late on a Sunday afternoon when all the kitchen staff had gone home but on explaining that we had been travelling and had not eaten we were immediately offered sandwiches.

Our introduction to what a warm, welcoming place the Findon Manor is.

Lovely, individual rooms awaited us, a comfortable bar to meet friends and family in, a smiling helpful approach from all of the staff regardless of what was asked for, breakfast to die for (smoked haddock).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthing
4.2 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 11 in Worthing
472 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#6 of 11 in Worthing
679 reviews
4.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
322 reviews
6.4 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Findon Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Findon Manor Hotel

Property: Findon Manor Hotel
Address: High Street | Findon, Worthing BN14 0TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Findon Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the Sussex countryside and on the slopes of the South Downs Way Findon Manor is set in its own gardens and offers guests a relaxing country retreat. The hotel provides the ultimate relaxing surroundings away from the hustle and bustle of daily life, yet close to the centres of Worthing and Brighton.When it comes to eating at Findon Manor we offer a wide range of choices and our Chefs work to provide guests with menus that use only the freshest locally sourced ingredients whenever possible. Whether you want a quick bite in the Snooty Fox Bar, our speciality traditional Sunday Lunch or a choice from our A La Carte menu in the Terrace Restaurant, you can rest assured that we'll provide a dish to suit you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Findon Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Findon Manor Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing