We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“underwhelmed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Findon Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Findon Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“underwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

I wish that I had read the reviews before booking.

This was apparantly the last room available in the area, due to a "twinning convention" in in Worthing. Once visited, I can see why. The first impression of the hotel is quite good, although the car park is tiny, considering that there is a bar attached to the establishment.

Our room was a twin-bedded room, named Ginevrah, situated over the entrance and the lounge. The sound from these areas and the surrounding rooms was very pervasive, even when the television volume was increased. The bathroom, on first glance a definite wow factor with a fabulous slipper bath, was in fact a real heeath and safety hazard. There were two steps in the bathroom, which had a glass door (another hazard?). There was a step up to the hand basin and two steps to the bath. The space for your feet on the step before climbing into the bath was really small. I have restricted mobility and was aprehensive about using the bath. I should have been more concerned about using the over-bath shower. There was no independent temperature control and I had to wait for others to turn off taps before completing my task of simply washing my (very short) hair. The extractor fan in the bathroom was not working.

The decor in the room was very quaint, with good, comfy bedding. The fact that the property is quite old means that the floor was not level and the beds slanted towards the centre of the room. The advantage was that it made it easier to get out of bed.

The bar staff were very friendly. which is fortunate as we stayed in the bar, rather that spend time in our very noisy room. Breakfast was served in a very pleasant room and was varied and plentiful.

With some atention to soundproofing the rooms, i am sure that this would be a good, relaxing hotel, set in a good area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joan4327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    119
    44
    12
    17
See reviews for
95
148
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed at the room called "Aldaniti" (named after a race horse) for two nights. It is a room with a four-poster bed and a bathroom with a whirlpool. The decor has just been updated. The dark brown bed posts and headboard which you see in older pictures are now painted white. The mirrored walls and the shower over the whirpool tub have been removed and the entire bathroom has been updated. Everything was fresh and clean, but the shower over should have been retained. The bathroom amenities smelled wonderful.

"Aldaniti" is on the first upper floor with a beautiful view of the garden. The room is spacious and has a large closet. A hair dryer is provided, you have to hunt around for a socket, though, to actually plug it in. A nice bay window provides room for a mirrored vanity with two chairs.

Breakfast was served in the breakfast room on the ground floor. Cold items were self-service and anything that had to be served warm was brought to your table. They had everything from fish to eggs to order, mushrooms, tomatoes, toast, .....

We enjoyed our stay very much and would return anytime, should we find ourselves anywhere near the village of Findon.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herewegonow2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

Booked our room through LateRooms and have never been disappointed before (always a first time). As soon as we mentioned to the Receptionist we had booked through this medium she told us (because the hotel was full) we were to be in the smallest room (if we had gone the usual route we could have chosen a room apparently) - sometimes you get an upgrade (not on this occasion though). Our room was called 'What a Myth' after a racehorse and the 'write ups' proved to be definitely that. The room was adequate but the TV siting was high on the wall and the only comfortable place to view it was lying down on the bed. The bathroom was in need to some TLC and my husband had to get rid of three large spiders before it could be used. The fact that there was a small step up to go into the bathroom and another one to use the loo proved a little hazardous at times. The walls were paper thin and on our first night we decided to go to bed at approx 10.30 and the guests in the room next door decided to do the same. We could hear virtually every word of their conversations and their trip to the bathroom was equally as audible making me feel rather embarrased.They eventually called time on their chatting at midnight. We slept well after an agonising couple of hours. Breakfasts were very nice with a good choice of buffett and cooked options. Our second evening proved to be a much quieter experience (not sure if they heard us the previous night so decided to be quiter this time round). Staff were reasonably friendly but the second morning (the day of check out) the waiter seemed rather flustered as the guests were moved to the bar area for breakfast (breakfast room had been laid up the night before for a wedding which was to take place the following afternoon) . We heard him make some rather grumpy comments and didn't seem as accomodating to the guests as the previous morning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Banburian26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Sunny Island
Level Contributor
159 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Stayed here in August 2010 and booked on laterooms.com paid £49.50 for 2 in a double ensuite room with breakfast. When we arrived we had to park on the grass as the gravel car park was full (just before we arrived people had arrived for a funeral wake). The receptionist was polite and helpful but she seemed new and didn't see my special requests (ground floor room mobility problem, no potpouri or feathers, due to allergies). The booking was then taken over by a tall man (don't know his name) who had a funny attitude...I explained that I could not do a lot of stairs and did request a ground floor room and when he looked at the booking he saw that these had been requested (being a country manor there are no lifts). Our room was then changed to ground floor and we had Kybo (all the rooms are named after race horses). The bedroom was a good sized, curtains, bed cover in floral design, with windows overlooking a grass area (where we had to park). Room itself had a dressing table with mirror, tv, tea coffee making facilities. Good bed, it was very comfortable and had a good night's sleep. Bathroom was a very good size and had a bath with a shower over (although the shower was problematic, it didn't produce much water at all). Complimentary shampoo, conditioner, etc supplied. When we got to the room there was only one set of towels but soon we had towels for us both and I asked that the potpourri be taken out of the room because it causes me allergy problems the manager had a funny attitude over that!

In the evening we had dinner in the pub (Snooty Fox adjoining the hotel). There was a varied menu including some specials. It was a small pub, but with great food and wonderful service. Our meals were scampi which came with chips and a salad (I requested no peppers and this was adhered too, I also requested a seperate dressing, ie for me to dress the salad and again this was done). The other meal was sausages and mash with gravy and it looked very nice (I was told it was very tasty!), for desert I had cheese and biscuits and the other desert was treacle sponge and we had a bottle of Rose wine. Dinner was about £46 (the wine was £16 of the £46)

Breakfast was in the bar although the Manor has a restaurant so it surprised me to be in the bar area, but the breakfast was nice. There was a choice of yoghurts (if you are vegetarian they do natural yoghurt that is suitable), plus there was grapefruit segments and some fresh fruit (apples, oranges), cereal, juice (all help yourself). Cooked breakfast was served (no vegetarian sausages) but choice of how eggs are done, sausages, bacon, fresh tomato half, mushroom. Very nicely cooked. Tea/coffee and toast is brought to your table. there was also fish etc available on the menu.

Check out.....we went to check out and the manager (I presume manager, very tall man) was quite arrogrant, ie could we pay now before we had a chance to check the bill (I always check the bill before paying) as he was busy! Its not the attitude one would expect at such a place!

Internet access it does state available in some public areas and bedrooms, however I couldn't pick up wifi at all and used my mobile stick.

Despite his attitude I would stay there again if needed accommodation in the area. Findon is small but has a few eating places including 2 or 3 pubs, its about 4 miles from Worthing.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quillingartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

I stayed for 1 night here after getting a great last minute deal online. Whilst this hotel was superb value for 1 night business stay, there were good points and bad points. Good points - lovely location, really nice old building, lovely garden with bags of character, great breakfast which was well presented, generally friendly service. Bad points - noise insulation in bedroom was terrible with banging and crashing from kitchen below perfectly audible in room until midnight and from 6am, room decor was really dated, bed really uncomfortable and shower was impossible to control - seen better days. A bit of focus on the bedrooms to match the other high standards would be advisable. Overall though, I would recommend - just.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atp79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lliber, Alicante
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed for four nights over a weekend. We had a twin-bedded room, small but beautifully appointed with everything you needed. We looked into some of the other bedrooms and if you want a double bedded room you have the choice of some lovely bedrooms with four-poster beds over-looking the garden. It also has two ground floor rooms which open straight onto the garden where they allow guests to have their dogs stay with them. We ate every evening in the bar (watching the World Cup!) and the menu was extremely varied (with specials each day), the food first-class, freshly cooked to order and served with a smile! On Sunday we hosted several friends and family to lunch at the hotel and had an excellent meal in the restaurant. Breakfast every morning was also excellent - varied buffet to start with followed by waitress served for your cooked breakfast (the full English was well worth having). Throughout our stay all the staff were so pleasant and very helpful - we really had a great time there and intend to come again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jill1472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

The Hotel and Staff were very helpful, the catering excellent.
The location, backing into the Sussex Downs quite spectacular

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunkenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthing
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
4.2 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
4.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
12.1 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Findon Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Findon Manor Hotel

Property: Findon Manor Hotel
Address: High Street | Findon, Worthing BN14 0TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Findon Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the Sussex countryside and on the slopes of the South Downs Way Findon Manor is set in its own gardens and offers guests a relaxing country retreat. The hotel provides the ultimate relaxing surroundings away from the hustle and bustle of daily life, yet close to the centres of Worthing and Brighton.When it comes to eating at Findon Manor we offer a wide range of choices and our Chefs work to provide guests with menus that use only the freshest locally sourced ingredients whenever possible. Whether you want a quick bite in the Snooty Fox Bar, our speciality traditional Sunday Lunch or a choice from our A La Carte menu in the Terrace Restaurant, you can rest assured that we'll provide a dish to suit you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Findon Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Findon Manor Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing