We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely, clean, comfortable guest house away from the busier Brighton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
High Beach Guest House
Ranked #22 of 26 Worthing B&B and Inns
cannock
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a lovely, clean, comfortable guest house away from the busier Brighton”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My husband was booked into this B & B by his employers while he was working in the area. My short visit was purely for leisure! For those wanting to visit Brighton, Arundel, Chichester to name but a few this is an excellent guesthouse to be based in, particularly if you dont want the crowds, nightlife and extortionate prices charged in similar hotels a few miles along the coast. The rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable and provide everything you need for a relaxing stay. Breakfast is plentifull and tasty and served at the time you request it on the pre-order form. Off road parking is a bonus and although the hotel is located on a very busy road, It did not affect my ability to sleep soundly!. As my husband works nights the housekeeper always serviced the room whilst we were at breakfast and when I wasnt staying, they made sure the room was refreshed in the evening when he went to work which was much appreciated. The hotel is a lovely old victorian building which retains many original features whilst managing to provide up-to-date shower rooms and en-suites...again, all kept exceptionally clean. Very pleasant, friendly hosts, who genuinely care that you enjoy your stay, made a short break in Worthing a very pleasant experience and we would recommend this guest house to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: Room 3 is located on the side of hotel, so slightly shielded from the main road but still has lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    9
    4
    9
    3
See reviews for
2
19
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We found this hotel very comfortable and friendly.

The service was excellent. The staff were very attentive, engaging and seemed to know and remember everyone.

Cooked breakfast in the morning was tasty and grilled, so healthy too! Plenty of cereals were available for anyone who wanted them. The room had shower, WC, TV and teas and snacks. It also had a decent sea view.

We parked in the quiet street directly next to the hotel. We went for a night out in Brighton and took a cab that cost £22. It's a fair drive, but when you consider the cost and comfort of the place, as well as being able to book only one night (instead of two as most places in Brighton insist) then it is well worth it. I can see from the other reviews that there is a pretty cheap night bus you can take to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Friendly owner, great location opposite of the beach. Pittoresc view of coloured boats and fish selling fisherman. Room with sideview to the sea. Nice decorated, fine bathroom with a good shower. Ok bed, a little soft. Great English breakfast. Bus stop in front of the door, easy acces to Brighton.
Excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Was clean and comfy - It wasn't modern and very dated decor which meant nothing to us and we were just sleeping there - good on site parking.

We stayed there because we were doing a night out in brighton night bus was like £5.00 each so no problems there.

Didn't get to sample breakfast because we were too hungover and missed it!!

The owners were really nice!

£60.00 on a saturday night and we booked last minute too! Very pleased with price wasn't quoted anything under £120.00 for the night in Brighton.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

While the guest house was fairly clean and the room was reasonably comfy I was somewhat disappointed with not being able to check in when I wanted to. I spent over an hour trying to ring to say I was checking in but no one answered, on arrival at the guest house there was no answer at the door so we went into town for a bit, when I finally got hold of someone I told them I would be with them in 20. Minutes (which i was) only to find the door still locked and no answer on the phone. We waited in the cold wind outside for about 15 minutes until a resident let's in, a further 25 minutes later after numerous un answered phonecalls the landlady finally answered only to be very rude towards me for being inside her conservatory-which was meant for residents!!!! There was no explanation or apology, she just had a go at us, stomped up to our room and was very abrupt when explaining breakfast and what little ammeanities they had....not impressed!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed in a sea-sacing room with a single bed and a balcony, but no en-suite. The room was neat and tidy - in particular the sheets and towels were clean and new.
The owners were friendly and helpful, and all amenities were provided.
If you don't want to stay in a Brighton hotel because of the price, this is a much better option - the train from Brighton to East Worthing takes approximately 20 minutes, cost only £4.30 and runs regularly. It's about a 20 minute walk from the train station however. There's a bus stop just across the road from the guest house, so this would be easier and cheeper.
I didn't have the cooked breakfast, so I can't comment on it, but there were lots of cereals to choose from, as well as juice and teas.
Obviously, this isn't as luxurious as a hotel, but it's very nice for a guest house. The owners care about the standard of service they provide and the condition of the accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlunderBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2011

A warm welcome to this sea front guest house away from the late night clubs. Very well organised routines by hosts who know and enjoy their business. Room serviced while we were at breakfast - a very nice touch! They know lots about the area so don't be afraid to ask.

Room Tip: Rooms 1,2 or 3 for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alf051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#6 of 11 in Worthing
649 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenhill Guest House
Glenhill Guest House
#9 of 26 in Worthing
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Beach Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Beach Guest House

Property: High Beach Guest House
Address: 201 Brighton Road, Worthing BN11 2EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — High Beach Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your High Beach Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Beach Guest House Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing