We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great guest house, but let down by plumbing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Beach Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Beach Guest House
Ranked #23 of 30 Worthing B&B and Inns
Chesham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great guest house, but let down by plumbing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We found the High Beach Guest House accommodation to be warm, the beds comfortable and everything clean. The cooked breakfast was hot and well presented and all the staff very friendly.

Our bay window had a lovely sea view, however the furniture layout of the room was very awkward The wardrobe was situated so close to the foot of the bed that the doors could not be fully opened. Maybe this could be replaced with a unit with sliding doors? More annoying was the poor plumbing. The handle of the WC cistern was loose making it very difficult to flush the loo. This was reported to the owner on the first morning. The hot tap water flow was slow and never reached a high temperature.

Apart from the above concerns about the room, everything else was fine. At breakfast the addition of yogurts, fruit such as tinned grapefruit or prunes and a choice of juice would have made it even better.

Overall it was a pleasant stay and we would recommend it to others looking for a quiet location yet convenient for the town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    9
    3
    8
    2
See reviews for
2
15
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

I stayed 4 nights at this lovely B&B (would have stayed longer but they were fully booked!)

I was greeted by a lovely man who gave me directions to park the car securely around the back of the house (there are three spaces available on a first come, first served basis). This saved me alot of money in parking fees. The house is right by the sea as advertised, and even though it was very chilly in late February, the house was lovely and warm. On arrival the room was spotless and housekeeping came during our breakfast, so that when we went back to the room everything was sparkling clean again, bins emptied etc :)

The room we booked was a twin en suite on the ground floor facing the garden. It was a lovely size with very comfortable beds. Also plenty of plug sockets which were very useful.

The toilet is separate from the shower in the bedroom in a little room on its own and the shower is off to the left side of the room (not fully enclosed). Found this a bit strange first of all but it suited us very well and it was private enough :) The towels were spotless, changed every day and the shower very clean.

The breakfast was good, sausages and mushrooms could be improved but the poached eggs, bacon, toast and coffee were lovely! The lovely man doing breakfast was a gentleman and was very helpful throughout our stay, attentive but not over bearing in any way. We both felt very safe staying there as young women.

Please be aware that the ground floor room is next door to the small dining room, which wasn't a problem for us at all but may be for others who would like a bit more peace and quiet in the mornings from 7.30am (we were up early every day so didn't affect us).

The B&B internet connection is also excellent (I was away on business so this was very important to me) and the free view channels on TV offered great choice. The tea tray and kettle were very handy and very clean. I liked the sink and worktop in the room with the cupboard underneath also to store our food, that was very useful.

The B&B is less than a mile from the basic shops (all level ground) and we often walked here easily. It would be lovely in the summer by the sea without being in the centre of Brighton. There is a bus stop a couple of doors down and the bus's leave every 10 minutes on most days to get into Brighton. Its roughly a half hour bus ride to Brighton.

Highly recommended!

I will definitely be back in the summer, fingers crossed :)

Best wishes, Helen x

Room Tip: 1) The ground floor twin en suite room is next door to the dining room, which wasn't a problem f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenWordwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, Surrey
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

stayed at the High Beach. Many +ves including great full english breakfast, sea views, very clean and well maintained, warm ( snow outside), staff very freindly & helpful, plenty of free parking in the local roadsand only 10 mins walk into Worthing centre.All for £30 on a weekday.

The only probelm I had was the guest in the room next door snored all night big time. I did not sleep a wink. I had plenty of time as I lay there exhausted to try and work out whether it was something about the hotel ( i.e. thin walls) or nothing that would not be a similar issue in another B&B or hotel. After 6 hours of no sleep I concluded I did not know so I suggest you try this place and draw your own conclusion.

Room Tip: all rooms shoudl be ok , not preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

I booked a single room, as cheap as I could for one night. I had the warmest welcome I have ever received! Sarah the proprietor even gave me a slice of homemade cake to go with my tea as she had just baked it for christmas. As a single girl travelling on my own for work it can be hard but I immediately felt at home. My room was immaculately clean and comfortable and had everything I needed. The house was decorated outside for christmas with lots of lights which was lovely at this festive time. Thank you to Sarah who looked after me :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cakelover84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cannock
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

My husband was booked into this B & B by his employers while he was working in the area. My short visit was purely for leisure! For those wanting to visit Brighton, Arundel, Chichester to name but a few this is an excellent guesthouse to be based in, particularly if you dont want the crowds, nightlife and extortionate prices charged in similar hotels a few miles along the coast. The rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable and provide everything you need for a relaxing stay. Breakfast is plentifull and tasty and served at the time you request it on the pre-order form. Off road parking is a bonus and although the hotel is located on a very busy road, It did not affect my ability to sleep soundly!. As my husband works nights the housekeeper always serviced the room whilst we were at breakfast and when I wasnt staying, they made sure the room was refreshed in the evening when he went to work which was much appreciated. The hotel is a lovely old victorian building which retains many original features whilst managing to provide up-to-date shower rooms and en-suites...again, all kept exceptionally clean. Very pleasant, friendly hosts, who genuinely care that you enjoy your stay, made a short break in Worthing a very pleasant experience and we would recommend this guest house to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: Room 3 is located on the side of hotel, so slightly shielded from the main road but still has lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We found this hotel very comfortable and friendly.

The service was excellent. The staff were very attentive, engaging and seemed to know and remember everyone.

Cooked breakfast in the morning was tasty and grilled, so healthy too! Plenty of cereals were available for anyone who wanted them. The room had shower, WC, TV and teas and snacks. It also had a decent sea view.

We parked in the quiet street directly next to the hotel. We went for a night out in Brighton and took a cab that cost £22. It's a fair drive, but when you consider the cost and comfort of the place, as well as being able to book only one night (instead of two as most places in Brighton insist) then it is well worth it. I can see from the other reviews that there is a pretty cheap night bus you can take to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Friendly owner, great location opposite of the beach. Pittoresc view of coloured boats and fish selling fisherman. Room with sideview to the sea. Nice decorated, fine bathroom with a good shower. Ok bed, a little soft. Great English breakfast. Bus stop in front of the door, easy acces to Brighton.
Excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.3 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#7 of 11 in Worthing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#5 of 30 in Worthing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenhill Guest House
Glenhill Guest House
#9 of 30 in Worthing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Beach Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Beach Guest House

Property: High Beach Guest House
Address: 201 Brighton Road, Worthing BN11 2EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — High Beach Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your High Beach Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Beach Guest House Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing