We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Pub circa 1500: Delicious Fare, Friendly”
Review of The Gun Inn

The Gun Inn
Ranked #39 of 348 Restaurants in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
229 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Authentic Pub circa 1500: Delicious Fare, Friendly”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We enjoyed a delightful dinner in this charming pub. While it has all the requisite updates you'd hope for, it has retained the old world details that make it so worth seeing: old beams from Roman ships that still bear the Roman numerals indicating where they were to be placed. Food-wise, 6 of us proclaimed everything delicious. The chef owner isn't seen but his darling wife is funny & sweet and so accommodating--while the rest of the table was enjoying homemade ice cream for dessert, she brought me just picked strawberries and clotted cream that was not on the menu & was delicious. Her husband had just taken their children out to pick them that day!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    76
    30
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Findon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific pub”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I have had a wonderful meal starting with asparagus and poached egg for sue and charcuterie for me. The main course comprised of roast beef and roast lamb with extra gravy superb! We were both too full for dessert. Will be going back soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gezparton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious food in an older world atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We went for Sunday lunch as part of a group of twelve, and it was really nice to find something for everyone on the menu. Although I am not a vegetarian the options were so good that I felt I had to try them, mine was so delicious, I cant wait to go back and have it again. If you are going as part of a group I would recommend booking early as the private dining rooms look amazing, The staff were really friendly and nothing appeared to be a problem. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fab food”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We came here for our wedding anniversary and it was "French night" with a set menu - I have to say at this point I'm not a fan of French cuisine .... (I didn't know it was going to be a themed night) .... just in case you think I'm bonkers for going there ... However the food here is lovely I loved the goats cheese tartlet mmmm just thinking about it makes my mouth water - The staff are always lovely and the whole atmosphere is of a traditional English pub with the addition of gorgeous food

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hotblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great service and tasty food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Popped in for Sunday lunch, weather was good so decided to sit in the small beer garden. Although busy it wasn't noisy, and plenty of well behaved dogs about.
The smoke mackerel starter was really good, and then followed by the roast beef with HUGE Yorkshire pudding was excellent. The staff are really friendly and polite, nothing was too much trouble, and for me that makes it such a nice place to visit. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sass22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gun Inn also viewed

 
Worthing, West Sussex
Findon, Arun District
 

Been to The Gun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing