We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, centrally-located guest house”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beacons

The Beacons
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Worthing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beacons
Ranked #10 of 30 Worthing B&B and Inns
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable, centrally-located guest house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Very good value. We spent four nights in this attractive guest house, and received a warm welcome. The breakfast (especially the eggs) was very good - just marred by small plastic pots of rather un-tasty preserves. An ample supply of good coffee. The lounge area was a bonus - lovely to have somewhere to sit outside the bedroom.

The Beacons is very central for all that Worthing has to offer - pier, promenade, restaurants, museum/art gallery, cinemas, theatres, shops - within walking distance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Butterfly500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Have just stayed for a week here - I can highyly recommend staying here.
Both Jo and Adrian are fantastic in making you feel welcome and the breakfasts are yummy.
For a proper British welcome and wonderful hospitality this is THE place to stay in Worthing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I'm working in Worthing temporarily and have stayed at The Beacons for several weeks now. Jo and Adrian are extremely personable and helpful; the rooms vary in size but are spotlessly clean. Breakfasts are very good and freshly cooked by Adrian. The residents' lounge is a very useful touch, meaning that one's not confined to a bedroom if staying in for an evening. I'm always very happy to be staying here. Oh, and very good value too!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanensia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Lovely boutique guest house. Spotless tastefully decorated room with smart en-suite. Guest lounge and dining room beautifully presented. Superb breakfast with lots of choice. Short easy walk to town centre, beach, theatres and restaurants. Adrian and Jo were fantastic hosts. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debs241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I felt very welcome. Marvellous and tasteful interior in the bedrooms and the lounge. Lovely friendly and helpful owners make you feel at home. Tasty breakfast with a lot to choose from. Near to the sea and close to pubs or restaurants. Quiet at night. On site car parking. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank icintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponteland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

This really is one of the very best guest houses we've stayed in. There is ample parking onsite which is great considering its central location. We were welcomed by the owners and shown around - very tastefully decorated in a clean modern style. I was particularly impressed with the residents lounge - very comfortable and beautifully decorated and furnished. The honesty bar was a surprise - especially the "at cost" prices. The dining room was of a similar standard - possibly the best I've seen in a guest house. Our room, though quite small was nice and comfortable with a new en suite which looked great. The Beacons is one of those places that really grow on you. The more you look the more details you find. Clearly a lot of thought and effort has gone into the place by the owners. It is within very easy walking distance of the seafront and the town centre. I stay in hotels and guest houses very regularly - the Beacons is more comfortable than most and certainly more tastefully furnished. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pontman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This guest house is a wee gem. I travelled with my two year old son. Nice n clean, lovely brekkie with continental and / or cooked choices. It was a little early on a Saturday for my liking (8-9am) but a small point didn't detract from overall stay. Was especially impressed with the bathroom. Would recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 11 in Worthing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
4.1 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beacons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beacons

Property: The Beacons
Address: 18 Shelley Road, Worthing BN11 1TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Worthing
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beacons 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been established for many years and Adrian and Jo would like to offer you a warm welcome to our town centre guest. All our rooms have en-suite facilities. Tea/coffee etc are available in your rooms and also freeview TV, hairdryer and free Wifi. There are three ground floor rooms. A comfortable guest lounge, with an honesty bar and very importantly for town centre there is free off road parking. The South Downs, Arundel, Brighton and Chichester are among the many places of interest just a short distance away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beacons Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing