We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for coffee with a pushchair!”
Review of The Continental

The Continental
Ranked #113 of 353 Restaurants in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Best place for coffee with a pushchair!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Sounds odd I know, but when you have a pushchair, getting into a building can be a real faff - especially coffee shops with all the tables and chairs all over the place. The Continental is really easy to get into and they are always really helpful in there - plus the coffee, cakes and food are always lovely too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank koh256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What an embarrassment for Worthing”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We chose to eat here on the August Bank holiday monday and sat down at a dirty table outside, me reserving it while my wife went inside to order.

The choice of food is staggering but after a long queue (we accept it was a busy bank hoilday) we find they have run out of white bread and have to settle for paninis. The food arrived in good time but nobody had bothered to clear our table so we had to do it ourselves. The paninis came with salad, which consisted of two thin slices of cucumber, one thin slice of tomatoe and some iceburg lettuce which was brown on the edges and chips which were cold and overcooked.

My ham and cheese panini just tasted of cheese and my wife's chiken and pesto just tasted of pesto. Both were dry and the contents far from generous. Add to this warm coke and knives and forks that bent as you tried to use them.

The final straw was that they closed at about 2.15 (on a bank holiday monday?) leaving all the tables outside full of dirty plates and you can see why we are ashamed that a place such as this is inflicted on our visitors and tourists.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired_travellers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent hot food and friendly staff”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I visit this cafe at least once a week. The staff are always very friendly. The choice of food is huge and they don't mind if you deviate from the set choices on the menu. They will also do half portions of any of the dishes for a child. Their macaroni cheese is the best I have ever tasted. You always get a pot of water with the pot of tea which is great.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank archike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Distinctly average at best”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

A bit like stepping into a time warp and not in a good way. I agree with a previous reviewer that the coffee is poor and comes tepid. Also ordered an apple juice which had already been poured and had dust on the surface! A bit dubious about my son's cod and (soggy) chips. Didn't look like cod....not white enough......pollock I wonder? Toasted egg and bacon sandwich on white not worth eating. Bacon fatty and flabby and toast hard. Tuna sandwiches seemed OK. Wouldn't go back. Can't understand so many good reviews!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alibaba303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A proper cafe”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

a proper, traditional cafe, with hot, home made, traditional food served at lunch. Had the most delicious home made Steak Pie, which was heavenly, loads of big chunks of melt in mouth steak, gorgeous gravy and light crispy pastry. Partner equally impressed with big portion of homemade Macaroni Cheese, with generous cheese. Amazingly good value. Great service and a real homely and friendly feel in the place. Really like it here. It's how good cafes used to be before trendy coffee shops took over.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tastybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Continental also viewed

Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Been to The Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing