We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tofu with everything”

Carabao Thai Restaurant and Steak House
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tofu with everything”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We used to enjoy the lunch menu here, but today my chicken pad thai was half chicken and half tofu. When I complained, they said that all their pad thais contain tofu, whichever meat you order. One to avoid from now on I think.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PH0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    22
    11
    8
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Thai hidden treasure”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

The decor was impressive and authentic with a modern twist.The choice on the menu was very varied and different to other Thai places i have been there was steaks for people who liked more american food and classic thai and street thai desserts where intresting. Waitresses very attentive and charming. Value for money as portions were large. Outside looks a bit naff but inside really well put together.recommend to everyone as good service and really great food

Helpful?
Thank lesandphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fanthaistic!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We decided on Carabao for my birthday meal with my parents as although my husband and I both love Thai food, my dad is inexperienced (though very willing to learn) and my mum likes more plain traditional food and dreads 'being dragged' to any sort of foreign food establishment!

The restaurant itself is modern Thai style with tall backed comfy chairs, wood tables and wood carvings on the walls but still bright and the tables aren't too close together. Even the toilet facilities were nicely decorated, very clean and included Molton Brown soap and hand cream.

The Thai staff were very friendly and gave us just the right amount of attention although the only grumble is that my dad ended up with a chicken dish when he had asked for prawn but overall he very much enjoyed his Tom Kha Gai soup followed by Panaeng Curry. My husband loved the scallops and his lamb shank in yellow curry whilst my Phad Ka Pow Neua had just the right amount of zing but topping it all off was the lovely steak that my mum had which was a lovely piece of meat with no fat. All the food was beautifully presented and we can't fault them on it at all.

My mum came out praising the whole experience so I very much hope this means we will be going back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julesg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a turn around”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I wrote a bad review two years ago about this place then it closed down.
I returned there last weekend as it has opened again,
I was informed it has a different owner now!
I must say we had a lovely steak and ok service,
the menu is the same as before, so will try the Thai menu next time,
the staff didn't seem that confident maybe it will be better next time!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hit and miss!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We had been to this restaurant before and we were very impressed so we booked a table for valentines day. We had a very warm welcome and shown to our table. Unfortunately it was down hill from there. We ordered the set meal. it took nearly an hour for our starter to arrive and when it did it was near enough thrown at us as the waitress rushed passed, with no apology for the delay. We had both ordered steak for our main but when it arrived the sauce on my husbands wasn't what he had ordered, when we told the waitress there was a mistake instead of rectifying the mistake she was very abrupt saying there was no mistake. The steak was divine cooked beautifully unfortunately the chips were a let down they tasted like frozen oven chips and there were only 5 on the plate. Based on this visit I would probably not return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam300612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carabao Thai Restaurant and Steak House also viewed

Worthing, West Sussex
 
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing