We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crashworthy Only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Worthing and Findon Pit Stop
Ranked #21 of 26 Worthing B&B and Inns
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Crashworthy Only”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Positives: (rm10), TV, WIFI, SKY (not certain if full package as I was working), En Suite Room

Negatives to my requirements: No Hairdryer, No Alarm Clock, Extremely poor finish to the bathroom, grouting over the tiles and some areas not covered with boarding......looks incomplete

Overall Value - Good Value

......However my booking was for a King Room and when I arrived and checked on the website I had been given a double room. As mentioned in another review there is a green light in the room for Health and Safety Reasons and it is right above the bed and as a light sleeper......you can guess no an ounce of sleep was had, which did not bode well for the early start and long day with lots of driving ahead of me. I am sorry but I will not stay again it was not suitable for me turning up to a business appointment with wet unkempt hair with dark circles under my eyes.

Room Tip: My room did not have the views over the downs as per the site, I had views of the shops over the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodecia48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    13
    18
    11
    9
See reviews for
19
30
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Very happy with the accommodation provided. The greatest thing about this place is the fresh décor and revitalising modern feel. The facilities were more than ample and the television outstanding. Very comfortable place to stay. Offering so much more privacy than other b+b's and hotels. Could do with little more milk but that would really be nit picking!!! Will definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jessica w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We booked this hotel through hotels.com, and paid £90 per night to include breakfast, staying for 3 nights. We had two rooms 11 and 7. We received a text the day before our stay, stating that the keys would be in the doors of the rooms, and the front door would be left open. When we arrived, we saw that all of the rooms were above a convienence store and steakhouse restaurant, there was no allocated parking spaces and had to park quite a bit further up the street. To get to the rooms you have to go up a very steep set of stairs (so elderly and disabled people be aware), and the light is on a timer, which isnt long enough, and the light kept going off when my elderly parents were only half way up the stairs. The rooms initially appeared clean and tidy, until we moved to bed to get in as it is up against the wall, this has obviously never been hoovered under, and we found feathers, dust and a black sock underneath. The bed had obviously been broken by previous customers and when you sat on the end, the slats went through to the floor, and needed fixing everytime before you got into bed. Mum and Dad couldnt get the heating to work in their room and there was no instruction on its use.The room information booklet stated that if you needed toilet roll, milk, towels etc then you had to text the number given on the booklet, and if you had any problems then you were to text the given number. As we wearnt sure about what time breakfast etc we text the number and were told that breakfast would be at the steakhouse downstairs at 8am. We got up for 8am, only to find that the steakhouse was shut, and no breakfast was given the first day. I spoke to Clive, who bascially told me that I was in a £100 a night room, and I hadnt paid full price so it wasnt his fault!! He was very rude, telling me he was stressed and he had been up all night with his sick daughter, trying to put the blame onto everyone except himself. After complaining he phoned us back and told us that breakfast would be sorted for the next two days and the steakhouse owner would give us a refund for the missed breakfast (which he didnt do, he said that we were to get the refund from Clive). We text the number and asked for some more toilet roll and milk and went out for the day. On our return that is exactly what we got! there was no cleaning of the room, no clean towels and only 1 toilet roll placed in the room and 4 small cartons of milk. The next two mornings we got breakfast at the steakhouse, and aside from being cold it was very nice. Again we left for the day, and came back to the room again not being cleaned or serviced and we had used up the toilet roll and Milk again, so text the number given for them to bring some round. No-one came, so we were left with no toilet roll or milk, we ended up having to go to the tesco express a couple of miles down the road to buy our own milk and toilet roll. At no point during our 3 night stay was the room serviced/cleaned, we never once saw any member of staff from the Stay @ Findon and feel the rooms are highly overated, we stayed in a days inn on the way back up north which we paid £25 per room, this was of much better quality and the service was excellent in comparison. The rooms are small and certainly not worth the £90 a night we paid for them let alone anymore, I have stayed at lots of hotels in my time and would never ever stay here again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judithcharmerswanabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Worthing hotels

Dartford, Kent, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a reasonable place to stay in Findon, albeit that you are located over a convenience store (which is closed at present – not sure how peaceful it would be when trading). It’s a good location insomuch as the village pubs, restaurants and shops are all within a 5 minute walk (definitely worth trying The Steakhouse restaurant – excellent food!).
Worth noting that The Stay only offers accommodation, but no dining – maybe a tie-up with one of the local eateries would be an idea?
The decor is generally in good condition, but the bed in our room (9) was far too soft, leading to a very stiff back in the morning!
All-in-all, good enough for a one-night stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clivehorsfall, General Manager at Worthing and Findon Pit Stop, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
We'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review, however sites such as these can be subject to abuse of which we have no control. We'd welcome any feedback to be sent direct to us on feedback.thestayfindon@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We booked directly through 'The Stay' online.

Unfortunately our confirmation email didn't specify which room number we had been allocated and how we were to go about checking in and out. There also was no information on where it was safe to park our car.
Upon arrival we ended up being assisted by a very kind gentleman next door. What a pity no-one from the Stay responded to the two calls we made to both allocated numbers we didn't even receive a text or see anybody connected with 'The Stay'.

The room was small and very cramped, as soon as we came in through the door the bottom of the double bed hit your legs. Once the sofa bed was pulled out we couldn't find any space to put the travel cot up where it was easily accessible and safe. Our booking we had believed would be for a king family room to accommodate us comfortably.
Next the bed linen and pillows. They were old and stained and had no pillow protector covers on any of them, neither were there any mattress protectors.

For fire & safety reasons there is a green light permanently on right in the centre of the room. Which illuminates the whole room at night . However these probably have to be in place due to fire & safety rules but bear this in mind if you find it hard to sleep with a strange green glow in your room.

All in all I think for a clean and spacious family room you could do better at the Premier Inn. The Stay seems more suited as cheap & cheerful suited to single workers who need somewhere to crash whilst working away from home.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Explorers41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clivehorsfall, General Manager at Worthing and Findon Pit Stop, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
We'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review, however sites such as these can be subject to abuse of which we have no control. We'd welcome any feedback to be sent direct to us on feedback.thestayfindon@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Had an overnight stay at the Stay with my husband and two children. The room was perfect and we fitted in well. Had a lovey night's sleep and was tempted to pinch Clive's pillows! Good communication before our visit with a text with all the information we needed. Loved the fact that you could just turn up, key was in the door and get on with our stay. LIst of numbers in case of problems or if you needed more supplies. Will definitely be staying again in winter as I would love to experience the local pub in the village (The Village House) in the winter. It was gorgeous in the summer and cant wait to sit by a roaring fire. Clive - you are a fabulous host.

Room Tip: Perfect value for a family looking to stay in one room. Lovely view of the village from the front r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clivehorsfall, General Manager at Worthing and Findon Pit Stop, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
We'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review, however sites such as these can be subject to abuse of which we have no control. We'd welcome any feedback to be sent direct to us on feedback.thestayfindon@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have just spent an evening in Findon at The Stay as we needed a one night stop over. Firstly great that you can book for just one evening. The accommodation was clean and had everything we needed. Will certainly use The Stay again and looking forward to coming back. Findon is a lovely country village with good restaurants and a lovely tea shop where we had breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grattsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clivehorsfall, General Manager at Worthing and Findon Pit Stop, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
We'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review, however sites such as these can be subject to abuse of which we have no control. We'd welcome any feedback to be sent direct to us on feedback.thestayfindon@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
3.4 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
228 reviews
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
3.2 mi away
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village House Hotel
Village House Hotel
#7 of 26 in Worthing
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worthing and Findon Pit Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worthing and Findon Pit Stop

Property: Worthing and Findon Pit Stop
Address: Nepcote Lane, Worthing BN14 0SE, England (Formerly The Stay at Findon)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Worthing and Findon Pit Stop 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Worthing and Findon Pit Stop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worthing And Findon Pit Stop West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing