We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Worthing and Findon Pit Stop
Ranked #21 of 26 Worthing B&B and Inns
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Was booked in here by a friend, and when we arrived (having been given directions over the telephone because no-one would be there), took one look at the disgusting state of the bed and room, and checked into a Premier Inn. With no staff on site, and the need for instant accommodation, this was our only recourse, and compensation will be sought from Expedia with whom this was booked.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    13
    18
    11
    9
See reviews for
19
30
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We found Clive's landline number on the Internet when we were trying to book the Marigold (cottage/motel) and he said that although the Marigold was fully booked, he had a room at The Stay. He said he would phone me the weekend before our visit to take payment and I must admit I was beginning to panic when we hadn't heard from him 3 days before our trip and I couldn't get an answer on the landline. However, I needn't have worried, 2 days before we were due to arrive I received a phone call by mobile with full instructions of how to reach the property, which, by the way is now called the Findon Pit Stop. We arrived and the key was in the door to no. 11 as promised. The room was adequate for our needs. A comfortable double bed. A hot shower and towels. A huge TV and comfortable sofa. Kettle with tea and coffee. There is also a lovely cafe opposite which serves a delicious breakfast at reasonable prices. It is very convenient for visiting the South Downs, Worthing and Arundel. If the other rooms in The Stay are a similar standard, I can't understand why other people have left such bad reviews.

Room Tip: Perhaps room 11 is best?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willowtring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is the worst "hotel" we have ever stayed in. We stayed in Room 1 Marigold Cottage and it was filthy, the bedding looked slept in and the bathroom was a nightmare. There were stains on the wall, mould and dirt all around the room. The extractor fan in the bathroom screeched hideously and kept going even though we turned the light off again. The shower tray had a tide mark around it complete with pubic hairs. The toilet seat looked very unsavoury. The tea tray was minging with a handful of loose uncovered tea bags thrown on to it. Down the side of the bed was mouldy and our view out of the bedroom window consisted of old coat hangers, bottles and other rubbish thrown there. Out of three wall lights only one was working and the glass shade was so thick with dust it made the room very gloomy indeed. The other "guest" in our room was a squashed insect above the bed! If we hadn't have arrived so late we would have tried to find somewhere else to stay.We emailed Clive when we returned home and his reply was very flippant and we were told that if we didn't like it we should have gone somewhere else! Fantastic customer service. He even said that we were trying to blackmail him into giving us a refund! We are a mature couple who stay in hotels all around England and Europe and we have never had cause to complain before. To say that we were blackmailing him was quite frankly an insult. I don't know where the photos of the rooms came from that were on the web site, they certainly were not the room that we experienced. Thanks Clive for a very unpleasant stay. We will not be back.

Room Tip: Don't book Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Worthing hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

key was left in the door as appears the norm, we were told the room had been cleaned and was ready for us. On entering the room our first view was of the bed with grubby, unironed bedding and staines on pillowcases. The carpet was threadbare in places, then noticed something pocking out from under the bed and found it to be a dominos pizza box containing someones leftovers, also piles of dust between the sofa bed and the skirting board with odd bits of timber. We reported this to Clive and he said this will all be cleaned up and be ready for us in about an hour. He phoned us whilst we were waiting asking us "do we always inspect our rooms" of course I answered \yes of course we do. a few hours later we returned to leave our luggage, on opening the door the bedding had been changed, still unironed and still looking grubby, decided to lift the mattress to make sure that nothing had been left under the bed and found full of fluff, dust and rubbish underneath.
The place just made my skin crawl and we had to find and pay for alternative accommodation, we would never go near the place again.

Room Tip: is there a good room?
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank sabra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clivehorsfall, Owner at Worthing and Findon Pit Stop, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
With all due respect if you try to check in early with the self service checkin facility the room is not going to be ready, checkin is 3pm and not 1.30pm..get your facts right before you wave a finger. Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here.

The place is brilliant - it has great facilities in the room - and if you need anything at all, you just need to ask Clive the owner, who was more than helpful and informative during our stay.
The bed was very comfortable, the room had it's own fridge and a 50" wide flat screen tv!!
The rooms are heated well, and very clean.
All for only £33 the night we stayed, it is truly fantastic value for money.


I look forward to my next trip down there, would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quick getaway, and it is located ideally between Gatwick and Dorset.

We used the room overnight after returning from holiday on a long flight, it was ideal.

The place is very quiet and much better value than anywhere within 50 miles!!

Thanks for a lovely hassle free stay!

Do remember this place has an un-attended reception at times, so follow the instructions you are given when you book.

I would advise booking direct, and you get a chance to discuss any queries you have and get advice on travel / arrival etc.

There are some disappointing reviews on here considering what you actually get for your money, and my opinion would be that there is a hint of spite from people who don't seem to have planned or communicated their stay properly.

We had no issue booking, arriving, entering our room, or staying with The Stay.

Will be a pleasure to return.

Room Tip: Just speak with Clive, he is very personable and hospitable - he can cater for all needs!! We arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

There is no personal touch at this accommodation. All of our communication was done via text. Check-in details etc were sent a few days before arrival - although check-in would not be the right words to use as you don't actually do anything but turn up. Finding the place was fun, in a very dark village and a small door between a convenience store (empty) and a tapas bar. Your key is on the outside of the door. You see no-one! On arrival we noticed there were workmen in the empty shop below. The drilling was so loud and continued until 9pm when I had to text the contact name I had (Clive) to ask if he could sort something out. He texted back straight away and said he would sort it. The workmen left shortly after. Only to return and use a drill that sounded like the equivalent of a jumbo jet at 7.30am !!!!! Not sure if this was done on purpose for our complaint the night before (as they had gone by 10am!). The bed was very uncomfortable (too soft maybe). The shower was either freezing or scalding (burnt my arm so had to jump out).

The plus side is it is quite nicely decorated, our room was compact but was fine for one night. Communication was OK.

The downsides - before booking make sure shop below is finished as this really did ruin our night. We were so tired after a very long journey and to be woken up at 7.30am was not funny. Admittedly this is not the fault of the owner of the rooms, but something needs to be done or customers need to be informed work is being carried out. Be careful of the shower in room 10.

Room Tip: Room 10 is compact and shower desperately needs fixing before someone gets scalded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polegate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Having read all the reviews of this place, i can only surmise that some the rooms here are lovely, and some are not. We were obviously in one of the cheapest, nastiest rooms!
They key was left in the door of the room, and i have no issues with the lack of personal service at all. But what struck me when we walked in to the room was how cold and unwelcoming it was. The thermostat on the wall read 13 degrees - and it was December. My husband rushed for the info book supplied, which basically said "Don't fiddle with the thermostat!" Luckily i spotted a radiator on the wall with a switch beside it, so i turned it on and we retreated to the warmth of the local pub down the road. On our return the temperature had warmed up to a more pleasant eighteen degrees - apart from in the shower room, which was still freezing, No chance of opening the door up to let the warmth circulate, as it smelt strongly of damp.
The shower room itself wasn't big enough to swing a cat, or even a small kitten! There was a laminated notice stuck to the wall, saying that if you turned the switch past the drawn on black marks, you would blow something in the shower and you would be charged £100! Why not just have an electric shower that works properly in the first place i wonder?
It was impossible to control the temperature of the shower - it was either freezing or boiling. Luckily i quickly got out, as when i switched off the water i realised the shower tray was completely full of water, nothing was draining away....probably not everyone had spotted this, hence the horrible smell of damp.
The bed was uncomfortable, and there was a weird glowing green safety light right above the bed, which didn't help me sleep. Next morning i sat on the end of the bed to put my shoes on, and all the wooden slats underneath moved. On lifting up the mattress to put them straight, i found lot of dust and rubbish under the bed.
I was also quite concerned about all the trailing leads about the place. As there were not enough sockets by the tv, they had an extension lead tacked right along one wall and plugged in over the other side of the room.
Would i stay here again? not if you paid me! Worst place ive ever stayed in....

Room Tip: Try somewhere else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveller65_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
3.4 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
4.0 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Motel Findon
The Motel Findon
#2 of 2 in Worthing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village House Hotel
Village House Hotel
#6 of 26 in Worthing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
4.0 mi away
Glenhill Guest House
Glenhill Guest House
#9 of 26 in Worthing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worthing and Findon Pit Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worthing and Findon Pit Stop

Property: Worthing and Findon Pit Stop
Address: Nepcote Lane, Worthing BN14 0SE, England (Formerly The Stay at Findon)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Worthing and Findon Pit Stop 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Worthing and Findon Pit Stop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worthing And Findon Pit Stop West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing