We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”
Review of Burlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Burlington Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Worthing
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Stayed at the Burlington for 1 night with my girlfriend whilst visiting Brighton for the weekend. The hotel is well situated and has a nice appearance when you see some of the other hotels nearby. There is no car park. Street parking is your only option with meters at 12p per 20 minutes or you can get a voucher in reception. On entering the hotel we were greeted by a friendly and pleasant member of staff. He was only too happy to oblige to our request of a room on the top floor so we wouldn't be kept up all night by any noise coming from the lively hotel bar. The room was very clean and decorated nicely. Our view over the sea was beautiful. There are tea, coffee and hot chocolate making facilities, ironing facilities, hair dryer, phone and alarm clock radio. There are spacious wardrobes and draws in the rooms and the en-suite bathroom was clean and the water was hot. The hotel in general was clean and tidy and a nice place to stay. I see some people complaining about lack of lift. This is fact but there are only 4 floors plus the building was built probably as a house with no room or intentions of being a hotel. The stairs aren't steep either. My only negative was the price. Although I was perfectly happy with my stay, I feel that £90 is a tad pricey to stay in a hotel for 1 night. A nice breakfast was included in the price though

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dazzathfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

Came as part of a group of family & friends. Nephew had to be moved due to no lift in the hotel! A four star hotel with no lift? Room I had booked was twin beds, carried heavy bags up to the room to discover had been allocated single room for myself and my niece. Then relocated to the top floor - fantastic carrying bags up more stairs. Thankfully was moved into the hotel next door for the 2nd night and even though we was on the first floor they had a working lift. My late husband and I have been to many hotels of various standards and we would definitely not rate this as a 4star hotel.

Room Tip: Room was pleasant enough, bulbs were missing on the lights and the lamps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

we came down for a family wedding and booked 8 rooms. there was no disabled access and a family member had to be moved to the hotel next door because the lift had been broken for months and never repaired!, no ramps from outside to get the scooter in anyway. 2 ladies booking twin room were given one bed and had to be moved to the hotel next door also!, our room was a family room and although we had a nice view the standard was most definitely not 4 star...the carpet was stained and badly frayed. the bath mat was filthy, woodwork was dirty and dusty, the walls in the bathroom were stained, the plus points was the bedding was lovely and clean and plenty of chairs in room, tv was good.
the stair carpets in hotel were very thick but stained, breakfast order was wrong each day and was amazed that warm white bread was called toast,
we were all charged different rates that seemed to be plucked from thin air, guests staying in family rooms were given completely different prices although when challenged they did then give us all the same price,
all in all not a 4 star experience in my opinion

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank kkkkcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

i have never wrote a review on a hotel but felt the need too on this occasion! me and my 3 children had a nightmare from start to finish, i requested a low floor room as i had a toddler and when i arrived i was on the top floor and when i requested to be moved i was told ther was no more available then i got chatting to people who booked in the day after me who had the same size family and wer put on the ground level, my 3 year old and 11 year old sons wer shocked when turning the lights on and off above their beds and when i complained i felt i was being made out to be a lier and was told i have to get a doctors report iff i wanted money nocked off my bill, rediculous! and as for a 4 star hotel suely that cant be right and dont expect to watch any tele unless you have strong glasses as mine was a tiny portable on the wall that we couldnt see, the breakfast was horible and to top it off they have charged me twise so now im £190 down and i only found out when i checked online banking, staff could do with some training

Room Tip: not a clue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Do not ever go to this hotel,staff have not got a clue what they are doing,no help what so ever and extremly rude,its dirty, mould in the bathrooms, paint peeling from the ceilings,and god knows when the last time the hotel saw a lick of paint must have been years ago,what was supposed to be white doors and woodwork was yellow and all chipped,the carpets on the stairs look like they have never been cleaned since the day they were put down,the veiw is the only half decent thing aboiut this place,that is if you could see through the windows for all the dirt and bird muck all over them.
The breakfast, thebacon was so thin and hard you could have a shave with it, if it was a cheap hotel you could perhaps forgive some of these things but at the price they are charging it is scandalous,just one other thing,if your a disabled traveller,no ramps or disabled access, there are stairs everywhere and the lift doesnt work and i beleive it hasnt done for months.

Room Tip: do not stay there,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were friendly and even though some of the decor is a little dated, they've done enough sprucing up of the rooms that it didn't feel like you were stuck in the 90's. Breakfast was good and the location - on the seafront and just a short walk from the centre of town - is superb.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waltsey1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Four of us came to meet up here for an overnight stay,on an offer, and were delighted with our stay
Freindly, welcoming staff and lovely rooms.Great breakfast.
The only criticism we have is that we had to eat a very nice dinner in the very noisy bar where we could hardly hear ourselves speak.Not sure why not in restaurant.
Would stay there again or/and recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THIRSTYSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
0.7 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#6 of 10 in Worthing
743 reviews
0 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Worthing
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Hotel
#3 of 10 in Worthing
269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 10 in Worthing
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington Hotel

Address: Marine Parade, Worthing BN11 3QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range: £57 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burlington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing