We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another satifactory visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Worthing
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Really happy to have returned to Highdown for another visit, myself and my partner enjoyed a relaxing evening. The hotel is peaceful at night, the room was clean and inviting.
Upon checking in I was greeted by a friendly and welcoming member of staff.
As always there were plenty of parking, and the facilities were to a good standard.
Thank you very much for another memorable visit!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuntEzzyLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

but for me a pleasant surprise.

Ample parking, friendly welcome on arrival, clean comfortable spavcious room, wi-fi a bit erratic but hey, it's free, Meal in he carvery was basic but plenty of it, nice bar to chill in,all at a budget price. If I had paid twice as much, i.e. stayed anywhere else locally, then I might have a grumble or two but value for money this was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Attended a fantastic and memorable wedding. Party room and food were excellent, great layout, not at all cramped, nice decor & well presented. A great day in a great venue. Nice and private, felt our party had full use of the venue with no 'outsiders'.

Main course of chicken wrapped in quality ham with creamy mushroom sauce was very impressive & tasty. So overall a great review except...filthy glasses in the bar & not the best managed draught bitter in the world. There seemed little point in saying anything to the young bar staff and asking for a clean glass just resulted in receiving another dirty one!
(Didn't stay overnight so can't comment about the rooms).

I was a little surprised at how firm an older member of staff was at ushering people out at the end of the night. Almost immediately after midnight as weary partygoers were gradually leaving and saying their goodbyes after a long day of happy celebration, this woman was abruptly asking, no telling, people to leave.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank HonestRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Traditional awful British Carvery complete with soggy veg and horrible smell, cheap if you eat this sort of awful rubbish.Better off going to the lovely tea rooms opposite for some nice food with a smile.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We had a wonderful experience at The Highdown Carvery Restaurant.
We were celebrating a birthday, there were 8 of us and it couldn't have been nicer. The carvery food was delicious, the vegetables really nicely cooked, nothing to complain about here!
The staff were very helpful, we had brought in our own birthday cake, which we left in the kitchen, the staff brought it out, candles lit and supplied the plates and serviettes for it.
To be honest, I wouldn't have wished to be anywhere else.
Back soon, for sure!

Room Tip: We did not stay, restaurant visit only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Thea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Friendly warning if you are considering this as your wedding/reception venue, as I was. After checking they had the date free and visiting the venue to look around, my fiance and I discussed the options, then called the venue with a list of questions and decided to go with Highdown Hotel. The call to the venue occurred the day before we decided to book but upon calling back to confirm the booking, we were told that someone else had booked our wedding date earlier that day. To my knowledge, all professional venues register enquiries against the date and give you fair notice if someone else is considering the same date. We were not time wasters, from first enquiry regarding the date to the decision to book, took us ten days. Finally, I would recommend you take a look at the wedding review posted on Trip Advisor titled "Our Wedding!!!! Saturday 26th March, 2011" and then I would heartily recommend that you give the Highdown Hotel a very wide berth! Good luck with your venue search.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Good points-

Car parking
Quite location
Price

Bad points-

Smell of sewer in corridor, from room 9 down to the turning for 6
4 cats sat in the door way of hotel eating
Can't put drinks or food on a tab or room, so bring cash as there's a min payment for card
Lack of enthusiasm from reception on problem solving


Overall I was miss lead by the phrase "hotel". It's not, it's a B&B and offers the same value as other B&B. it's functional, quite and bearable for a night.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank foshUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthing
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
3.2 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in Worthing
438 reviews
3 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 10 in Worthing
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
355 reviews
2.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 10 in Worthing
336 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#6 of 10 in Worthing
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Littlehampton Road, Worthing BN12 6PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range: £53 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highdown Hotel And Restaurant
Highdown Hotel Worthing
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing