We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shouldn't be a hotelier….”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shouldn't be a hotelier….”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had the great misfortune of staying at the Highdown Hotel as part of a wedding party recently. Firstly their website doesn't contain a phone number anywhere so had to look up on Yell.com very poor for a Hotel. I had phoned earlier in the week and requested that we could get into our room earlier than the 3pm check-in. we arrived at 1pm to be told in no uncertain terms that this was not possible the manager/owner was very unhelpful. Even when the bride turned up wanting to get into her room in order to get dressed she was extremely surly, abrupt and rude. A "family room" had been booked for my son, his wife and their two children 4yr old and 4 month old son. As they didn't get to the venue until 3.30pm they didn't realise until after the wedding and reception that there was no cot in the room as promised nor was there a Z-bed either by this time there were no staff to be found and so my grand-daughter ended up sleeping in with me in a single bed! In the morning there was absolutely no hot water in any of the rooms so no-one was able to have showers. As you have to pay for the room when you check in - I can see why now!! we had no redress about any of the misgivings. And the owner/managers attitude was one of so what…she told my son that there was nothing she could do about the fact that they'd screwed up and hadn't put the cot and Z-Bed in their room and that she really wasn't interested in what he had to say. She really shouldn't be a hotelier if that is her attitude rude, arrogant and totally disinterested in the welfare of her paying customers. Its a real shame as the actual building and tea shop is lovely - I couldn't fault the staff at the adjoining tea shop they were lovely and the cakes and food were fantastic. Its such a shame that it doesn't extend to the actual Hotel itself. perhaps the surly woman who dealt with us should take a leaf out of the tea shop's staff book…

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2m014, Manager at The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your comments but we are unsure as to where your misfortune started. Hotel Guests started arriving around 1.15pm as reception had not been noted of any early check in, as check in is usually 3pm we went over to House-keeping to see which rooms were available. Luckily most rooms were & the early check in began for all. The Bridal suite was out the Friday evening & no check in was required . The room in question was a family room but we were unaware all beds were to be used, & apologized when were told after breakfast on the Sunday morning. We suggested that if reception had been made aware of this we could have rectified the situation within minutes. The Bar/Reception area was open until after 11pm which would have given ample chance to inform us of the situation at any time. We apologized profusely when this was brought to our attention. The boiler was not working Sunday Morning but unfortunately we were unaware of this until a guest told us after 9.30 & then the situation was rectified immediately. Sorry for any inconvenience caused
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    80
    58
    51
    64
See reviews for
90
115
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely location and quite quiet although the rooms could do with a bit more sound-proofing but very clean. Very strict with finishing food in evening but Sophie was very helpful in sorting out take aways plus supplying plates and cutlery. Decent breakfast. Would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Didn't stay; ate here on Easter Saturday. Struggled to decide whether to go for a 'poor' or 'average' score but staff swung it the right way. Service was pretty good and the staff friendly but otherwise nothing special at all. Food OK and not particularly hot - surprising for 7.30 on a Saturday night. Carvery average - apart from the mashed potato with added veg - clearly left overs from previous lunch/day! Very unappealing!
The loos were a disgrace. Seriously - management - get a grip on some basics and you'll have a great establishment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shep35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola P, General Manager at The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
we would like to thank you for your comments, it`s a shame they weren`t brought to our attention at the time of your visit, the meat & vegetables are probed constantly during service, so I do apologise if your meal wasn`t hot enough for yourselves, the mash with other veg is bubble & squeak,
The toilets are checked & cleaned during our split in service but are used constantly. We can only apologise for this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I'd booked a double room for single occupancy, but my wife decided to come with me. Nothing extra was charged, and for £69 for b and b for both of us it was great value. The room was large and clean, the bed comfortable. The only problem was that I couldn't figure out how to work the window lock in the middle of the night when I wanted some fresh air!
The restaurant is a 'carvery' and we thought we'd have to eat elsewhere, since I'm vegetarian and she's vegan, but they had nut loaf as an option, so we had a decent meal, and at £6.39 each, we couldn't have done better elsewhere. Besides, it was a relaxed and friendly restaurant, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel is in a wonderful position high up over the coastal strip, surrounded by open land and a beautiful garden. After dinner we went for a walk in the twilight up to the top of the hill, and heard two nightingales singing in the bushes. Great!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petermillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola P, General Manager at The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
They you very much for your comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rustington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

food usto be good here but not so good anymore.the potatoes tasted like there being there all day.feel very disappointed as usto be a lovely place to eat.even the coke you cant get a free refill
anymore.on two good notes the meat was nice and the staff and friendly.please can we have fresh potatoes next time?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidRustington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola P, General Manager at The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hi Thank you for the review that you have made,
We are having trouble with the potatoes at the moment & our supplier has informed us that it is due to the Bad winter that we have had, we are trying to rectify the situation.
We are terribly sorry & look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed the night at Highdown with my girlfriend in early February.

We arrived at 8pm, and followed the signs to the hotel, to learn that the reception is in the bar and restaurant building.

Once we had found the reception area, it was deserted. The bar next door was rather busy (Friday night), so we assumed that everyone was in the bar area and someone would be out shortly.

We were wrong.

10 minutes later, I decided to head in to the bar area to see if the bar staff could help. As there was only one person behind the bar, I had to wait another 5 minutes to be "served". After explaining the situation I was informed someone would be out shortly, so I returned to reception to wait with my girlfriend.

5 minutes later the bar worker poked her head around the corner, looked surprised, and left. 5 minutes after that one of the waiters did the same.

10 more minutes and at last someone came out to check us in. There was not a single mention or indication of apology for keeping us waiting over half an hour to check in. We didn't even get a smile from the lady, despite ourselves trying to stay in high spirits. The overall impression I received was of someone who wanted to be elsewhere, rather than sat in the reception area dealing with hotel guests.

After we'd checked in, we went to drop our bags off at our room. We had the mansion suite, which was actually fairly nice, especially for the cheap price, shame about the service prior.

Later on that evening we went back to the bar for a drink. The lady that checked us in was now behind the bar, on her own, surrounded by punters. I'm not sure if this amount of staffing is normal for a Friday night at the Highdown, or if they were shortstaffed, but it was clear that they needed more people serving.

We had breakfast at the Hotel in the morning, which was a self-service buffet. It wasn't anything special, but it wasn't that bad either.

Overall I'd say the Highdown is a nice building, in a nice location, severely let down by poor staffing in the restaurant area.

Room Tip: To be honest the Mansion suite is quite good, and is still cheaper than many "standard" ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zpyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Worthing hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My stay was due a wedding of my family. The first part of the evening , very good! Then delays started to take place where guests were getting fed up of having to hang around,we were not allowed to enter main wedding hall area and delays with DJ, many started to disappear due to lenthly waits . Sadly a long que for food meant those at the end , did not end having what the other guests had , as there was not enough to go around. The actual building and rooms , top class for its location . I do believe its is highly bad manners while the bride and groom, where embracing the evening and guests , for a member of staff to start chasing them for money ! Which would have been dealt with in the morning with meeting the assistant on issues that needing sorted out from the Staffing side !

Room Tip: Single room I had very pleasant , guite reasonable size , but no windows only sky light .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamerfilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthing
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
3.2 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
347 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
288 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
224 reviews
1.7 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Littlehampton Road, Worthing BN12 6PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highdown Hotel And Restaurant
Highdown Hotel Worthing
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing