We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jayne

What a gem!

Review of The Highdown
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Jul 2023
This is an absolute gem of a hotel! Immaculately clean with beautiful rooms in lovely surroundings. The staff are amazing and the food is some of the best quality we've ever had as a reasonable price!
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£139
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £139
2.6 miles from The Highdown
Free Wifi
Beachfront
PremierInn.com
£55
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Agoda.com
2.6 miles from The Highdown
Free parking
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
£119
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £119
1.3 miles from The Highdown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£135
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £135
3.3 miles from The Highdown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£80
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £80
3.1 miles from The Highdown
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Travelodge
  • ZenHotels.com
    £56
  • Algotels
2.8 miles from The Highdown
Beachfront
Restaurant
Exterior The Railway Hotel opposite Worthing Railway Station
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £84
  • Priceline
2.7 miles from The Highdown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £144
  • Expedia.com
    £148
3.2 miles from The Highdown
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £97
  • Expedia.com
    £99
1.5 miles from The Highdown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £54
  • Expedia.com
    £55
3.4 miles from The Highdown
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Worthing
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
168
29
10
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
168
29
10
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews enjoyable evening the pub family lunch booked a table would highly recommend this hotel goreng nice room lovely hotel excellent breakfast downs tearoom roast toiletries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2023

We visited with family just for a drink and food, which was delicious.
Plenty of staff who were very efficient and pleasant. Surprised how busy it was for a Tuesday evening. We would all be very happy to return again

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Melvanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2023

Clean, comfortable and relatively quiet (apart from the next door rooms shower and plumbing) Beds were very comfy, room facilities and quality bathroom extras to please all. Very useful having the Gardens next door.
The breakfast and dinner in the Hotel were both very good, with the added bonus of friendly, attentive and smiling staff throughout. What's not to like?

Note to owners - your DB&B rate on your website was £85 more than the B&B rate, for a £30 each credit for dinner. Consequently we booked B&B.

Room tip: Visit the Gardens next door.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank markdI8972XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2023

We stayed for a couple of nights with friends in dog friendly rooms. Our room was of a good size and welcoming. The quality of bedding, towels and amenities was outstanding. The bathroom was amazing and we just loved it. The dog bed, food and water bowls and treats were so very welcomed and a lovely touch.
We arrived on a warm Sunday afternoon when it was very, very busy but the staff were working hard and it was understandable to wait every now and then for ones order.
All the staff we met during out stay were professional, friendly and helpful. The management should be very proud of their team.
All meals we had were of excellent good quality and good size.
We would absolutely recommend the Highdown and we will return.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2023

Excellent stay. room perfect, clean and of high standard. Had excellent breakfast and evening meal. All nicely prepared. Service excellent. Nice walk around highdown gardens before we left is recommended

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank peterborough1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 May 2023 via mobile

Our third stay here and as always it was top notch! We came for my birthday as we do each year as The Highdown has a nice feel to it with great service.
We stayed with our dog and were pleasantly surprised at the new additions such as a doggie ‘Menu’ at the bar and a dog welcome pack left for us in our room. A nice touch.
The walks nearby are just wonderful and then you can enjoy really good food in the restaurant. We will be back next year!

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hazzahazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews