We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£105
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Priceline
£105
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
£105
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
No prepayment needed
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
168
29
10
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
168
29
10
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews enjoyable evening the pub family lunch booked a table would highly recommend this hotel goreng nice room lovely hotel excellent breakfast downs tearoom roast toiletries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2023

I'll keep this brief. Cannot fault the superb quality of the sunday roast I recently enjoyed here. The service was excellent too and we all had a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon. Will definitely be going there from now on.

Room tip: Definitely book the restaurant or you may be disappointed.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jimrE6738ZB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2023

We stayed on 7th September for one night for my birthday. We were blown over by the quality of the rooms the restaurant was amazing best pub type food we have had in years and so much choice. Well done to the Chef. All the staff were so friendly nothing too much trouble we will definitely be back and stay longer. We were left a lovely bottle of bubbly in our room and a Happy Birthday message which was very unexpected. We would like to say a big thank you to the Manager Maria and Owen in the restaurant too sorry didn't find out any other names of staff.

Room tip: No Air Con in rooms if very hot a fan is provided however.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank loobys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2023 via mobile

Lovely hotel with nice rooms. Everything is done to a high standard and very clean. Beds were comfy. The rooms were quite hot, and although a fan was in the room this wasn’t sufficient at cooling it down. Please look at air con. Generally great food at the hotel. Lovely cooked breakfasts including fresh fruit, nice yogurts and decent pastries, although they do need to learn how to poach an egg. Also, almost every meal there was a wait for at least one of our group to get their meal. We were a group of four so not too complicated. Would stay again and hope that some tweaks can be made based on feedback. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AlWarner88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 September 2023

We recently enjoyed a wonderful weekend with several friends at The Highdown and cannot say enough good things about it!

We were there to celebrate my husband's birthday and hosted a dinner for 21 in the private dining room, with pre-dinner drinks on the terrace outside beforehand and as a result, would definitely recommend The Highdown for any special occasion!

My online interaction with the staff (with special thanks to Tom and Alice) from booking the dining room and 6 bedrooms to finalizing the menu and organizing a special cake to bring in, was excellent. On arrival, we received a warm welcome from all the staff we encountered and were very impressed with the quality of the bedrooms and, particularly, the amazing bathrooms! My only negative comment is that it was very hot that weekend and the bedrooms do not have air conditioning. However, each room came with a fan and between having windows that opened and keeping the curtains drawn, we were able to cool the room enough to enjoy a good night's sleep.

Breakfast the next morning was excellent and we then went for a walk in the lovely gardens next to the hotel. Finally, I'd like to give a special word of thanks to Phil who took care of all our needs at the dinner and beyond.

The Highdown really is a hidden gem in West Sussex Downs and we had a terrific stay. I am a Brit living in the USA and frequent traveler and look forward to returning here in the future.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 August 2023

Lovely venue and the staff always helpful. Unfortunately, hit and miss with the food. The roasts are very good but are ruined by the excessively salty gravy which I realised too late. Had to return meal as inedible. My husband had the steak with the peppercorn sauce, he said the steak was excellent but again the sauce was excessively salty. Fortunately, he tasted before pouring on the steak. I did complain to a member of staff who advised that the gravy is made with homemade stock. Since when is homemade stock excessively salty. I cannot believe people people are prepared to eat a really salty meal. Is it a ploy for you to drink more!!!!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews