We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
£105
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
168
29
10
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
168
29
10
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews enjoyable evening the pub family lunch booked a table would highly recommend this hotel goreng nice room lovely hotel excellent breakfast downs tearoom roast toiletries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2024

We stayed at The Highdown over Christmas and it was lovely. As we were visiting family nearby for a few days, we were using it as a 'bed and breakfast' base and it was absolutely perfect! We previously stayed in the summer and spent the day exploring Arundel and Arundel Castle.

The rooms are large and comfortable, and everything you could need is provided. It's really peaceful and a long way from the main road and street lights.

Being there on Christmas Day felt odd (for us!) but the staff were fab and made it feel really special. We've previously had dinner at the restaurant several times - also excellent - and we're already booked for our next stay!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LeoViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2024 via mobile

From the moment I emailed them to the afternoon tea itself they could not have been more helpful and understanding. It was a gathering of family in celebration of my mothers life instead of a funeral. It went smoothly and everyone thought it was a much better idea than a funeral.
The staff were welcoming, empathetic, helpful and friendly.
We could not have asked for me. Greatest thanks.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Broughton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2023

Will always be Sterns... and I guess a lot of party goers would recommend this as a perfect place for trip advisor...
10pm the underground would open...the lazer show would start
.and the visuals on the old TVs would start swirling... the steps would sway around and we all had a great time. Call it what you like... it'll always be Sterns

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jmg1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2023 via mobile

Discovered by accident and what a great discovery it turned out to be.
Great staff, very good rooms and amazing food….
Dinner was superb and great value for money.
We will become regular visitors for dining out and overnight stays when we are un-inclined to travel too far from home.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 149ukc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2023

I'll keep this brief. Cannot fault the superb quality of the sunday roast I recently enjoyed here. The service was excellent too and we all had a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon. Will definitely be going there from now on.

Room tip: Definitely book the restaurant or you may be disappointed.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jimrE6738ZB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews