We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No flavour”
Review of Lemon Chilli

Lemon Chilli
Ranked #47 of 347 Restaurants in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No flavour”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The service here was fairly slow and poor but it was explained that the waiting staff were new so that was fine.

Our disappointment came with the food. The flavours were just not there, for instance the starters were over cooked deep fried items which had a fishy taste ( as a veggie I was a bit concerned as it is likely everything got dipped in the same oil which did not taste fresh).

The real disappointment was the green Thai curry, this was white in colour and was nearly flavourless. Either the cook was not great or just skimping on ingredients. Will not eat here again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    34
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty roof, attentive staff, good value”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to try a different Thai restaurant and this is Lovely! The food is fresh and tasty, generous portions and beautifully presented, the staff were attentive and welcoming and the restaurant was clean and airy. It's a real bonus having the open front and felt like we were somewhere exotic.

Helpful?
Thank CCutlerCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earthofthai49, Manager at Lemon Chilli, responded to this review, 19 January 2016
Thank you for your custom and review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fireworks and Thai”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We came here last night (4th visit) as we wanted to visit the pier for fireworks after our meal. We are never disappointed with the food and Shaun and Ruby worked very hard to serve the packed restaurant. The food did take a little longer to arrive and even met the chef who brought our dish out to us personally to help out. All the sliding doors were open last night as it was hot which was lovely. Good luck to the staff as I know they are keen to please and make a good impression.

Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earthofthai49, Manager at Lemon Chilli, responded to this review, 19 January 2016
Thank you for your custom and review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Try it and see!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Visited for the first time last night on recommendation. We were not disappointed the staff were friendly and welcoming and food excellent. The decor is modern and fresh and you don't feel your sitting on the table next to you and can have a conversation without shouting to be heard. Will definitely be returning

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earthofthai49, Manager at Lemon Chilli, responded to this review, 19 January 2016
Thank you for your custom and review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We recently had lunch here and were really looking forward to the experience given the reviews.
We found the food to be OK, not nearly as good, nor as authentic as The Spice Thai Kitchen , nor even as good as Thai Street Food. The red curry was greasy and the Pad Thai Noodles had a peculiar sweet tomato sauce on them, the peanuts were left whole and not crushed...very disappointing. The whole place lacked atmosphere . The Restaurant seems too large and unless packed appears lifeless.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earthofthai49, Manager at Lemon Chilli, responded to this review, 19 January 2016
Thank you for your custom and review
But so many thai style cooking and deferrence eat tasting of pesonal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lemon Chilli also viewed

Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Been to Lemon Chilli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing