We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, shame about the staff”
Review of Windsor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Worthing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, shame about the staff”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Don't do it! Manageress clearly dislikes people, very unfriendly and rude!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Fidler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    56
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
56
67
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

A midweek couple of nights by the sea (+ event at the Dome Cinema). Easy booking and friendly welcome. Apparently the hotel was full, so we had been upgraded to the 'bridal suite' (room no.3) though that was 47 years too late for us. This certainly had plenty of room and a comfortable four poster bed, but unfortunately the orange glow from the flood/security light at the front of the hotel shone through the curtains - a pity no blackout blinds or linings. Giant flat screen TV! Generous and 'glamorous' bathroom, though only towels for one person initially and the toiletries not replenished for the second night. Minor maintenance issues were dealt with promptly. Decor generally dated and heavy. Restaurant unattractive (being redesigned?) and evening food disappointing; breakfast better, and the friendly waitress took trouble to find a selection from the standard pre-pack marmalades - a pity nothing more interesting available. Overall, quite good, but not as good as other reviews had led us to expect.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the car park with its flood/security lights which may be intrusive. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NNW38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We had a James bond/ Las Vegas 70 th birthday party taking over the hotel for our friends and relatives.From the moment we arrived everything went with a swing.The staff were friendly happy and helpful We were lucky the weather was fine so we able to have pre dinner drinks in the attractive garden if we wanted.The organisation of the dinner and entertainment ran like clockwork.We all gathered in the morning for breakfast which included hot croissants fresh fruit as well as full english unrestricted.It was so good to have waitress service instead of a buffet so we could sit and talk which we did till late but never got any negative looks from the staff as Im sure that they would have wanted to clear away.There are many types of rooms but all our friends said that they were clean and comfortable the young ones upstairs older down they all slept well and had nothing but praise for our choice of venue.We stay in many 4&5 star hotels and although they may have facilities like swimming pools I have not been in one yet to beat the service friendliness and efficiency of this little hotel Full Marks Well done keep it up.We shall return.

Room Tip: Try the Four Poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philipplbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My partner and I stayed here on a Friday night having been recommended the venue by a client following a business meeting earlier in the day. Worthing is not blessed with easily identifiable hotels and this could be easily overlooked as another hotel catering for the seaside clientele. Don't be fooled. The hotel has made fantastic use of its facilities is very smartly decorated in the reception, bar and dining areas and yet still retains the character of its original Edwardian construction.
We stayed in room 10 facing the front and it was large and very well appointed with an en-suite. Beautiful decoration reminding us of a Versailles Room. It was very clean and equipped to the standard of a Four Star chain hotel, including reliable free Wifi.
We didn't use the restaurant in the evening but had breakfast the following day which was to an excellent standard. The cold selection was fresh and and a good selection. The full English was individually cooked. When it arrived it was enormous and had clearly used ingredients that were fresh and of a good quality. We didn't need to eat that day again until the early evening!

Great friendly service from every member of staff that we encountered.

Well done the Windsor Hotel, certainly look forward to returning again at some time in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I used this venue for a conference and seminar over a weekend. The staff were very accommodating and did so with a smile. It didn't matter what issues cropped up, they were very obliging which made organising much easier. The food was lovely and even catered to my wheat intolerance, gulten free, dairy free and vegan options were also given if needed making my party very happy. The disabled suite is beautiful and the lady who used the room said how helpful staff were with her. We will certainly be back next year to run the same seminar weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I've been to the Windsor 6 times now in the last 12 months, I have to visit Worthing on business fairly regularly and always stay at the Windsor. As the lay out is that of 2 houses mashed together with a central reception area the lay out is a little odd and all the rooms are different. I've been happy with ever room although it would depend on how picky you are, some rooms would not be out of place in a big chain hotel whilst others are a little bit more seaside B&B. The last room I had looked out over the kitchen roof with all the air-con units. This didn't bother me as I was there on business, it was usually dark when I got back and I wear ear-plugs at night anyway, but if you are sensitive to noise it might have been a problem.

But decor aside the staff are the ones that make the visit for me the ladies on reception, at the bar and in the restaurant are always pleasant and chatty, will always do anything they can to help even if you're being a bit picky over dinner, as I was beacuse I'm on a diet.

Now the food is lovely the restaurant has a limited menu but the dishes would not look out of place in a top class London establishment and despite there being numerous restaurants in and around Worthing I usually eat there at least 2 nights out of the 4. The breakfasts are cooked to order and as a business traveller used to the generic buffet style at most chain hotels this is an absolute delight. I've even considered popping back to the south coast for pleasure sometime and if I do I will be booking into the Worthing.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonglecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
394 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This was my second stay at the Windsor Hotel and it lived up to my previous visit in all areas.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful.
My room was clean, well equipped, with an abundance of storage space, and extremely comfortable.
The food is of a very high standard and plentiful.
Definitely my favourite Hotel when in this area.
I give it 5 Stars in all departments.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManicUSAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 11 in Worthing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.3 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: 14-20 Windsor Road, Worthing BN11 2LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing