We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Investment needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Victorian Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Scole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Investment needed”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The potential that this place has is unbelievable. It retains it's character in the bar area, where you can perhaps get away with letting thing go a bit, but our room needed some attention. Saying that, we only really used it as a base to rest our heads and had a very comfortable night sleep. The breakfast did take a while, I would recommend giving yourself time in the morning, but that's a sign that it's not pre-cooked and just kept warm - things are done to order. Cannot speak highly enough of the staff as they were friendly, helpful and informative. I can see that a permanent receptionist may be a waste of money, I think it's a sensible business decision, and a quick trip round the corner into the bar area will find you a friendly face to check you in.
Overall, the issues can be pointed at the management company, not the team running it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    55
    48
    37
    55
See reviews for
46
63
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This Hotel ticked all the boxes when I looked for a cheap Hotel in the Worthing area.
The TV remote did not work.
The full english breakfast arrived 45 minutes after being ordered. Even the tea took 20 minutes.
This Hotel suffers from a lack of staff and investment in decor.
Hotel had Karoke till 23:00 not mentioned on website.

Room Tip: Room was clean but amenities were basic, TV remote did not work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevespittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Worthing hotels

Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed here for one night with my partner, curtain hanging off, rubbish left in the room. noise all night someone had pulled doors off welsh dresser in hallway during the night.
Chinese meal spilt all down the stairs, breakfast disgusting swimming in grease, (Waiter, cook and bottle washer same person!) would have been better suited being a bouncer seemed very agitated when I asked could my fried egg be actually cooked (looked raw on my plate) but came back like rubber, did complain about the noise during the night and the state of the room, but didn't seem to take my complaint seriously apparently this is owned by the Chapman Group so I am putting my complaint in writing as I said NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterMerseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The worst Hotel I have ever been to.... no toilet roll, no soap & the room stank of BO, we had to buy some soap & toilet roll & air freshener but we couldn't get rid of the foul sweaty stench, never any staff around, breakfast from 7 to 8am only & the service was a complete joke, DO NOT STAY HERE! You'd be better off paying a bit more & not being disappointed - would've given it zero out of 5 but one is the minimum... you have been warned.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank NDrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

A group of family and friends stayed at this hotel for a wedding it was awful I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone I would rather stay in a tent!

Not only was our room constantly full of blue bottle flies is was grubby and shabby the shower was not a power shower it was very feeble and the staff were rude and unhelpful.

I didn’t see anyone on reception and we stayed for two nights. Breakfast was between 8.00 and 9.00 but they weren’t prepared for guests nothing was ready not even the table laid and there were no menus, they had no orange juice, no tomatoes and if you were late you didn’t get anything.

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c_h_080711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

5 day stay, ideally situated opposite railway station. Good food and excellent service delivered by friendly helpful staff. Will stay next time in the area, thanks.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The Grand Victorian Hotel has lots of lovely period features but it was absolutely filthy. We switched rooms as the toilet did not flush well and had not been cleaned. Wall paper was peeling off the walls and the surfaces and carpets were dirty. In the second room the toilet had been cleaned but again not the carpet or the surfaces. I dont mind tatty too much if a place is clean but even the fire extinguishers in the hall ways were coated with a thick layer of dust. It was very off putting as if areas that can be seen are not cared for what are the other areas of the hotel like ie the kitchen.
The breakfast was beyond a joke taking too long, drinks finished before the food arrived etc etc..
There is a nightclub/disco loxcated in the basement and sound from that vibrates through out the hotel, even to the top floor where we had our room.
Definately would not stay there again and would not recommend it

Room Tip: Sorry - no tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WitneyWoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
0.7 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#6 of 11 in Worthing
665 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 11 in Worthing
463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victorian Hotel

Property: Grand Victorian Hotel
Address: 27 Railway Approach, Worthing BN11 1UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Victorian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your Grand Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Victorian Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing