We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising. ....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Victorian Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprising. ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

At first glance, a stunning Victorian behemoth! Rooms serve a purpose, staff welcoming on arrival. We thought that the location would lend to a rather noisy night after licensing hours, but not the case at all! The silence was deafening! The bed in our room didn't fill us with confidence of having a comfortable nights sleep, and we both retired with trepidation as to the conditions of our backs in the morning. ....well, we both woke like spring spring chickens, feeling great. .....recommended for those who are looking for a stopover. ..

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    53
    46
    34
    51
See reviews for
42
61
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Having read many of the reviews just before travelling for a family reunion booked by "granny", quite frankly, I was worried about where we were going to be staying! However, I want to say that many of the reviews on here are, in my opinion, highly unjustified and grossly exaggerated! This establishment represents excellent value for money and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel does not aspire to be a 5* boutique hotel -rather it was nostalgic and a step back in time. Our enjoyable stay was tailor made for us by the attentiveness and flexibility of the owners who accommodated all the awkward requests of a party of 9 aged 10 to 80 -nothing was too much for them and I would like to thank them wholeheartedly for all their efforts. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again in future!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I'd like to give feedback on my recent stay as I believe it can be helpful for the future. I stayed in room 19 from 12th-15th December. The hotel was recommended mainly for the location, being very close to the station and not far from where my daughter lives, who I was visiting.

There are a few minor points that I wanted to make - no towel rail in the bathroom and no bin. No non slip mat in the bath - it was very slippery. The bath was very stained. My main point is that the mattress is in urgent need of being replaced. I could feel every spring digging in, so much so that I had to sleep on top of the duvet. As the room was very warm, even with the radiator off, I managed with the thin quilt. I know I should have said something at the time but I did like the room overall and made the best of it. But they shouldn't be letting guests sleep on mattresses like that.

On the upside the towels were of good quality and changed every day, the tea tray was well stocked, the tv was a good size and I was impressed with the amount of channels. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The price was reasonable. The toaster made excellent toast!

I plan to stay again but I would like to be reassured that the mattress issue will be addressed!

Room Tip: I asked for top floor to avoid being disturbed. However if you stay on a Fri/Sat be aware there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosipernell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateshead, tyne & wear
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Rooms are fairly basic and tired, ready for a refurb. Good old fashioned pub which is really what this is and just happens to have rooms attached. Good breakfast but no variation, still adequate and better than many. Bar meals pretty good and reasonably priced. Staff all very friendly. Stairway and corridors well decorated, especially for train enthusiasts, but rooms aren`t up to the same standard. Actually had about four different rooms over several stays and could find fault with all of them but beds were clean and comfortable. All in all this is a reasonably priced, short stay, business hotel but not a family or holiday hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I booked a triple room for a weekend it worked out at £46 per person per night with breakfast, the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful! Perfect location as we travelled by train, bit rough around the edges but I would much rather have lovely smiley staff and the odd cobweb than a pristine room and poefaced staff, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shellski-n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keynsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Whilst Worthing does not have many town centre pubs, this pub/hotel offers all you could want, from accommodation to a good range of food & real ale.

I did not stay here, as my visit was for the football (Worthing FC is only 10 minutes' walk away).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Room basic, electric socket smashed, bathroom in need of good clean, dirty tiles, mirror, taps and skirtings! Bed was clean and comfy towels tiny. Young staff at breakfast friendly but mature guy behind bar needed hair washed desperately. I wouldnt stay here again unless it was refurbed. The only thing positive was convenient location, breakfast was cold but staff happy to heat it up in microwave!!, urghhhhh! i stayedc11.10.2013 room on top floor no lift poor parking facilities?

Room Tip: Low floor as no lift , room on top floor needed good clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Worthing hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthing
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#7 of 11 in Worthing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
3.6 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
7.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victorian Hotel

Property: Grand Victorian Hotel
Address: 27 Railway Approach, Worthing BN11 1UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Victorian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Victorian Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing