We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a pub than a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Victorian Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Clacton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“More of a pub than a hotel”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I would agree with many of the negative comments made about this hotel over recent months. The standard of cleanliness of the rooms is poor - dust all over the place. The remote control on the television was very difficult to use - it was obviously a replacement for the one which actually went with the TV itself. All sorts of objects made their way down the chimney into the fireplace in the room and onto the carpet. The water pressure in the bathroom was low. Above all, there is no chance of getting to bed early here (particularly on a Friday night), with the loud music and conversation blarring out from the pub directly underneath the room - it was difficult to even hear the TV. The only redeeming feature was the breakfast and the convenient location opposite the railway station. The staff were pleasant, but the hotel itself is clearly understaffed (hardly saw anyone on the front desk). Definitely not value for the money paid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emma e, Manager at Grand Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, we clearly state on our site that there is a bar with entertainment at the hotel so guests know what kind of hotel they are booking.
we make sure that all the rooms are dusted everyday but the building is very old and does get dusty we do our best to keep on top of that and extra checks will be done in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    54
    47
    36
    54
See reviews for
45
62
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Read so many poor reviews was a bit worried on staying here for one night. Yes the carpets are a bit tired but apart from that everything else was great. The staff gave excellent service, the bed was comfy and with breakfast included was great value. If your looking for a comfortable hotel for a short stay and don't want to spend mega bucks this is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2_point_4_childre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this the night before as our plans changed last minute! It was £64 for 3 of us Including breakfast...so we were expecting a clean simple room!!

It was simple and it was clean! We had three single beds which was great for three friends staying!

Despite being a pub and directly opposite the train station the hotel was quiet and we slept well. We did not have breakfast so I cannot comment. The staff were very friendly when we saw them...which was only at check in! But there was no one at the desk at any other time.

The biggest negative was that whilst the shower was hotel it trickled out with no power and we had to dance around to get! No chance of washing our hair In the shower and we had to do so under the taps!!

We weren't expecting anything special but I did expect to be able to have a shower!! But was a cheap little find and bare able for one night!!

Lastly parking is permit only everywhere between 10am and 3pm Monday to Saturday so something to bare In mind as no parking at hotel!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank louiseb28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Hi,

Me and my partner stayed here recently. We thought it was excellent value for money it was exactly what we needed. Unfortunately I am unable to comment on booking.com or google review as we did it as a single booking but we think some of the previous comments are really unfair as the value for money is great. Brilliant breakfast, staff were really friendly and great convenience for us to travel to see various family members. Will 100% book back here again.

Thanks Steve and Tamara

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emma e, Manager at Grand Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
thankyou very much for your review its always nice to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay. we hope you will be back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked the Grand Victorian as I needed a family room for a short break overnight at the coast. I had read the previous reviews and did not have deluxe expectations but it seems to be things that can be rectified that let the Hotel down. Simply cleanliness is not expensive.
I arrived and used one of their 4 parking space in an area at the back of the hotel. This area was strewn with rubbish and old bottles. Check in was smooth and staff very polite . The lobby had character and was pleasant. The room itself was on the frst floor (2US) and did have a damp smell to it. Everything was just tired, with carpets needing a good steam clean, light fittings loose, TV on its last legs and torn wallpaper. That said the sheets and towels were fresly laundered and in good order. I will say that there was no noise overnight even with nightclub below and heating and window ventilation was good.
In the morning we took breakfast in the conservatory, again a nice setting but the seats were stained and table needed revarnishing. Hot options were buffet style and cereal was available as well as juice and toast.
All in all the price was reasonable but the hotel had the potential to be so much better if attention was given to redecorating and using the Victorian charm of the building with high ceilings and wood panels.
We had had a satisfactory stay but would only come again if it changed hands or had an extensive revamp.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selhurst1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

At first glance, a stunning Victorian behemoth! Rooms serve a purpose, staff welcoming on arrival. We thought that the location would lend to a rather noisy night after licensing hours, but not the case at all! The silence was deafening! The bed in our room didn't fill us with confidence of having a comfortable nights sleep, and we both retired with trepidation as to the conditions of our backs in the morning. ....well, we both woke like spring spring chickens, feeling great. .....recommended for those who are looking for a stopover. ..

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Having read many of the reviews just before travelling for a family reunion booked by "granny", quite frankly, I was worried about where we were going to be staying! However, I want to say that many of the reviews on here are, in my opinion, highly unjustified and grossly exaggerated! This establishment represents excellent value for money and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel does not aspire to be a 5* boutique hotel -rather it was nostalgic and a step back in time. Our enjoyable stay was tailor made for us by the attentiveness and flexibility of the owners who accommodated all the awkward requests of a party of 9 aged 10 to 80 -nothing was too much for them and I would like to thank them wholeheartedly for all their efforts. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again in future!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#6 of 11 in Worthing
647 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
297 reviews
3.6 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
372 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 11 in Worthing
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victorian Hotel

Property: Grand Victorian Hotel
Address: 27 Railway Approach, Worthing BN11 1UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Victorian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Grand Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Victorian Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing