We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, Great value.”
Review of Vesuvio Italian Cafe - CLOSED

Vesuvio Italian Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, Great value.”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We went here on recommendation and were not disappointed. Tiny premises with four tables, a chef and a waiter and the food was excellent. I was a little concerned as the reviews said it had a limited menu but actually found it hard to choose a main course. The starters and desserts are limited but can highly recommend the Tiramisu. The food took a little while but was worth the wait. Excellent value but you need to bring your own wine. This no frills authentic italian restaurant has a lot to offer. Will be returning soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeG1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    14
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Visiting from the north”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Very friendly staff and the food is lovely and really not to much money. Take your own wine. its is very small place very Italian! Enjoy

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LesleyJonze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Second visit still very impressed nice too see a couple of new options on the menu. Again lovely fresh flavours. Bruschetta starter brilliant and tiramisu too die for. Have already booked our next visit in June.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeCSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“great food at a great price”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Popped in here as we were passing early one evening. So glad we did.

This is a small (about 18 - 20 covers) and welcoming addition to the restaurant scene in Worthing. The limited menu really reflects the tiny cooking area that the chef has to prepare the food, but he somehow sends out delightful plates of genuinely tasty food.

We started with the Bruschetta with tomatoes and basil. One plate was enough for us both share. It was so simple, yet lovely and flavoursome.

I had the Risotto with Meatballs which was plentiful and really tasty. My companion had the Carbonara which was met with a much approval.

The desserts are a little limited - mainly several different varieties of Tiramisu - and we opted for the Classic and Lemon flavours. Both of them were home made (in wine classes) and were of great quality.

The total bill was £26.10 including coffees

The waiter was very pleasant, although his English is limited, and he worked hard to keep everybody happy.

One added bonus is that this a 'bring your own' restaurant, so no expensive alcohol bills to put you off.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tez1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile


Been to this Restaurant, and the food was excellent, starting from the starter, and then a lovely plate of pasta.Would for sure recommend this place

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vesuvio Italian Cafe also viewed

Worthing, West Sussex
 
Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing