We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Worthing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Benson's Guest House
Ranked #13 of 26 Worthing B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at Benson's Guest for 5 nites earlier this month as part of a driving trip in England. We were greeted by Chrissy and Wendy upon arrival as if they had been waiting for us. We stayed in the Amber room which was lovely, quiet an dfull of "treats" and a fridg. Both Chrissy and Wendy treated us llike we were part of their family and couldn't do enough for us. When they found out we had been travelling for several weeks they offerred to do our laundry. We had family matters to attend to in Worthing and they offerred to let us use the dining room for a family meeting. Upon leaving I found a Benson teddy bear on the bed for me to take home...I'm sure this is not given to every guest just those with a longer stay. Their knowledge of the area was very helpful...restaurant recommendations were great...don't miss The Fish Factory just a short walk away and very importantly, they give you a parking permit! A word about the breakfast...it was cooked to order and delicious...I highly recommend staying at benson's Guest House any time you are in Worthing!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnieLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2010

We went to watch the National Bowls Championships and this was a 6 minute walk away, about 10 minutes from the town. We were able to leave the car at theGuest House which looked out to sea, the place was beautifully clean and the food excellent with lots of choice. I thoroughly recommend this place and will certainly go again if we ever return to Worthing again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerieHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed in Worthing on our way to Brighton for one night for my birthday. While slightly outside our price range we could not have asked for more from an ad-hoc call to a local B&B. I was 7 months pregnant and it was still an easy walk into a lovely little seaside town, the owners of the guest house were lovely, particularly Chris who greeted two grumpy travellers! :-) Our room was the Amber Room with a quiet outlook, a free and stocked fridge, fresh fruit, chocolates on the four poster bed and a lovely spacious and luxuriously furnished bathroom. The stay was one of the best we experienced on our trip and we would not hesitate to recommend Bensons for the room, the service, the people, the location and the breakfast - utterly yummy from start to finish!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraMc1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Absolute perfection from the moment we arrived. Cant praise this B&B highly enough. A must try place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philipirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

I own a Guest house in North Devon and i travelled to Worthing for myBrothers wedding.
Many of the other guests booked into one of the big chain budget Hotels that you see advertised ever where and were dissapointed with many aspects of the place and price.
I, on the other hand doubled checked Trip Advisor and was able to find what i was looking for.
The Bensons was convenient, nice location, clean and comfortable.
In fact i could not fault the place in any way.
I did try!!!! i looked at the room and the place from another owners point of view and could find nothing that i would have changed or done differently.
So whoever reads this review{sorry i,m not allowed to give you my name] can be assured that you will be please that you choose the Bensons and will understand that Trip Advisors reviews can be trusted.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angryDevonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Outstanding quality Guest House situated close to Worthing centre. All the little touches made the quality shine. The traffic noise can affect your sleep if you chose the excellent views from the French Room. The warm welcome and attention we most appreciated. Little tip. If you like your poached egg nice and runny make sure you say so.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rollernig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We had a great stay in a wonderful warm and friendly guest house, with fantastic hosts. Lovely little touches such as fresh fruit in the room, bottled water in the fridge and gift chocolates on the bed. The house was wonderfully decorated and spotlessly clean and definitely high class - highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazza1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
0.4 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Worthing
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#6 of 10 in Worthing
689 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Hotel
#3 of 10 in Worthing
257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 10 in Worthing
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#5 of 26 in Worthing
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson's Guest House

Address: 143 Brighton Road, Worthing BN11 2EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Worthing
Price Range: £76 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benson's has 4 stars and the Gold Award for Quality. With its touches of luxury and elegance you'll find it a beautiful and unique place to stay with a warm and friendly welcome assured. The rooms are stylishly decorated to individual designs and furnished with antique furniture, original artworks and chandeliers. Cross the road to the beach,walk along the promenade passing cafe's,local art and mini golf and in 10 minutes you will find yourself at the Pier with it's theatre and tea room. You are then in the centre of town with its shops, cafes, coffee houses, restaurants and bars all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Benson's Guest House Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing