We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply awful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ardington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply awful!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Room was dirty. No mattress protector, sheets didn't fit bed. Mattress was torn on the bottom corner and looked really dirty.

Whole hotel very run down - one of the worst I've ever stayed in. After a 7 hour drive I was looking forward to a relaxing evening, but it was not to be. I slept in my clothes because the bed didn't seem clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JRickard21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    141
    31
    16
    10
See reviews for
110
115
37
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were at this hotel for a bridge weekend with a group. It was wonderful. We had full board and the food was very very good. Our room was in a good position at the front of the hotel. The location of the hotl is excellent. A short walk to the sea front and a short walk to all the shops.

Room Tip: We have stayed here several times and the rooms have always been fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KfGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We hired a private room at the Ardington to celebrate my father's 70th birthday and I can't recommend it highly enough. Simon, the Manager ,was a pleasure to work with in organising the event. He took time to really understand what my family wanted from the evening and as a result make good judgements and recommendations for the party. All staff were friendly and highly courteous and the areas we used (lounge and Eden Room) were nicely decorated and furnished. Thanks to everyone who made our party a great one.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fimcc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I felt the need to write and express my thanks and gratitude to the owners and staff of the Ardington Hotel. I have been staying at the hotel on a weekly basis on business for the last year and a half. All at the hotel have been incredibly helpful in all respects. They are genuinely concerned that they look after you as well as they can. The rooms are being re-furbished and are great, the bar and lounge are very relaxing with great service from the attentive staff and the food from the Indigo restaurant at the hotel is second to none and highly recommended.

I used the conferencing facilities at the hotel for business and the attention to detail by the staff was first class.

I have moved to another area now and I will miss atmosphere and the people of the Ardington. Well done to the Ardington team. I will pop back to share a glass and say thanks as soon as I can.

Recommended in all respects.

Thanks to all.

Room Tip: All are OK but ask for a newly refurbished one for the top of the range - all are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJT212014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A tad better than the Travelodge on Worthing seafront. That about sums it up...... Not worth the price, I was in room 29 and was woken very early am by the chambermaids talking in their staff room! The room I was in needed an update worn carpet, avocado bathroom .drab and dated I didn't dare look at the mattress! Only stayed one night so didn't bother to make a fuss but not a place to stay for a weeks holiday at the seaside. I am writing this review on behalf of some-one else who isn't known on trip advisor they do not have a computer but wanted their comments to be shared to advise others.

Room Tip: go somewhere more modern if that's possible in quaint old Worthing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinegreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I've been here for a few days so far, and fully intend on spending the rest of my time in Worthing staying here! I have found the staff friendly, helpful, and easy to get on with. The beds are huge, and I've found the shortbread biscuits supplied in the room to be particularly tasty!

The breakfast is superb from the linked Indigo restaurant, tends to keep me full all day! (so much so that I fancied having a nap after eating it!)

As of yet, I haven't visited the restaurant during the evening, but the local restaurants seem to be superb as well, giving you plenty of options.

Overall, I'd say, great trip so far, I look forward to staying here in the future.

Room Tip: Some people have mentioned to choose the refurbished rooms. Personally I have found both the refurbi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Currently staying here, and am planning on remaining here for the rest of my requirement to be in Worthing!
The hotel has undergone refurbishment, and I have found the rooms to be fantastic...the double beds are huge! The hotel appears as described on their website :-)
All the staff are friendly, and are happy to stop and talk with you, ensuring your stay is a positive experience.
Would definitely recommend the Ardington Hotel to others, and will enjoy the rest of my stay immensely (with the complimentary DVD library also!).

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
0.1 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#6 of 11 in Worthing
679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
4.2 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
311 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardington Hotel

Property: The Ardington Hotel
Address: Steyne Gardens, Worthing BN11 3DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ardington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ardington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardington Hotel Worthing
The Ardington Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing