We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Wolverhampton
1 review
“NICE HOTEL”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Very nice hotel but a bit slow checking us in,it took about half an hour to get our room and i had pre booked. clean and quiet room good value for the money. very comfortable stay and close to everything we needed. Bar closed at 10.30 which is a bit early but can order drinks from reception night staff. Very happy with our stay once booked into our room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    111
    124
    155
    350
See reviews for
97
213
83
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

After arranging a show & hotel accommodation for close friends to show off what my home town had to offer I was so disappointed when we entered our rooms. My friends room had lipstick finger marks all over the outside of the door & over the inside walls. The toilet had remains of someone else excrement. Stained carpets & curtains were absolutely disgusting. After complaining, the room was changed but still both rooms were dated, dirty & disgusting.
Please DO NOT stay in this hotel!! I'm sure Wolverhampton has better alternatives.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank signer1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wolverhampton hotels

Conwy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel may be a little worn, but.......it is warm, clean, has basic but comfortable rooms with en-suite, I had a great shower at 6.30am...plenty of hot water...it's very conveniently located, the staff are lovely and helpful, and the full English breakfast is everything you'd expect. At £27 + £5 for breakfast, this hotel is also a bargain.Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hogorgog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This place is clearly letting bedrooms to the local council for emergency accommodation. People were smoking in the "hotel", the rooms were not only dated they were filthy. The staff were rude and unhelpful, especially the very rude woman on reception at check in. The lift was out of order, TripAdvior reviews show this has been out of order for months. The whole place wreaks of "we don't care". Online price paid for the room was more than the price advertised at the hotel, when I enquired why I got a short sharp "we don't do refunds". Sounds like they don't so enquiries either. This place is a total dump, you wouldn't let your dog sleep there. There's not hotel about it, it's more like a Hostel. Since my visit I have written complaints on Britannia's Twitter Page with no response. Proof that they just don't care.

Room Tip: What fitness centre? What room? No one told me they were there! Here's a tip - stay somewhere el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Salle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Just turned up at this hotel without booking.The staff were very helpful & pleasant.It makes a change to see local people working there instead of seeing Eastern Europeans at the reception.Our room was lovely,well worth the money.Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Rooms very average ,dont think decor been changed for 20 years, shame as i good location and staff lovely.This hotel could be good,dont know whether they are doing up because scaffolding up outside?Oh the hardest bed ive ever slept in wer did u get them mattresses from? they sure sorted my back out , .like sleeping on a concrete slab.All in all value for money clean bedding ,clean bathroom all id ask for in a value for money hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if they got better mattresses if you pay for a more superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tillymint65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Britannia. We were given an Executive double, which was very nice, spacious and clean. We did have scaffolding at the window, but I guess you put up with it as it's for improving the hotel.. On arrival the gentleman at reception was very helpful, although he asked me for payment, which I had already paid in full., so then apologised. We could not fault our room, but the breakfast was dreadful, on arriving at the dining room in the morning, we were told only 1 could have breakfast, though this was soon rectified afterwards, as we had paid for 2.. Again another apology. Then about the parking issue... We were told different things from each member of staff on duty, the day we left 20/10/13 the girl on reception said it was cheaper than purchasing a voucher from the hotel, but when we got to the train station, we were advised it is cheaper with the hotel voucher.. Such a big hotel should know all the details on important issues like the parking!, Although all we heard was sorry for 2 nights, I would return to the hotel for another stay, but only in an executive room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livelyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#5 of 20 in Wolverhampton
869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Wolverhampton City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
#15 of 20 in Wolverhampton
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
A Park View Hotel
A Park View Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wolverhampton
322 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#7 of 20 in Wolverhampton
857 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton

Property: Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton
Address: Lichfield St, Wolverhampton WV1 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Wolverhampton Hotel is a stylish Victorian building situated in the city centre. It is conveniently based just five minutes walk from St Georges Metro Station and is perfect for those visiting Wolverhampton University or the Mander Shopping centre. For fans of the theatre, the hotel is next to the Wolverhampton's Grand Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolverhampton Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing