We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb home-made punjabi curry made from scratch to order”
Review of A Park View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Park View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb home-made punjabi curry made from scratch to order”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

A lovely, friendly, small hotel, just by the city centre but right opposite the park. The staff are kind and helpful, the wifi is free in your room and the home-made punjabi curry, made by one of the proprietors, is truly fantastic, a real treat. You have to give an hour and a half's notice for it but it's worth it.

Rooms are a lower price than other hotels in the city but it's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: They upgraded me to a double because they didn't have the single room I asked for - nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fionacflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    38
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
133
11
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Cannot comment on the hotel as we only visited the Hamiltons restaurant for dinner - Trip Advisor does not have the restaurant on as a seperate establishment to the hotel unfortunately (can you fix this please TripAdvisor??)

We happened to stumble across the restaurant few weeks prior, whilst walking past and we made a reservation for our next available Friday night.

Arrived for our early 6pm reservation and had drinks at the bar. Was quiet as we expected, and I must say we enjoy eating out at quieter restaurants as you do not have to strain to hear each other speak or fight with other guests for the attention of the waiting staff!! Upon chatting to the owner we were delighted to discover that the chef was a Masterchef finalist! As it was quiet and the owner identified us correctly as self-confessed foodies (!), the chef actually offered to provide us with taster menu off the menu as he had some time before other reservations!! Lovely gesture and immediately made us feel welcome.

We actually ended up ordering mussels for the starters and I ordered the caribbean sweet potato soup. The portion of mussels for the starters was a very generous portion as you will see from our photo, they came with a beautiful creamy sauce. My caribbean sweet potato soup was lovely also, spicy. Starters were given with the homemade bread and butter that tasted lovely.

For mains we actually ordered three to share between the two of us as we couldn't decide! I had the pork belly and my partner had the duck breast. Both were cooked beautifully, and again the portions were very generous. The third main was the vegetarian option of butternut squash whih was lightly curried - again lovely. All accompanied by the triple cooked chips we had ordered on the side which were gorgeous!

For dessert we had chocolate delice with salted caramel icecream, and white chocolate raspberry mouse with raspberry milkshake and shortbread. This was beautiful.

The bill for two starters, three mains, two desserts, a beer and side of triple cooked chips came to £75 which we thought was excellent value for the quality of fine dining offered.

We will definitely be back and definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ballroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Lovely hotel in a nice location opposite park. Rooms were spotless and well presented. The bed was really comfortable. Staff were all really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice, especially the smoothie! We'd definitely recommend the hotel and would stay again ourselves.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Executive King Size room - handy for tall husbands!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Went for a meal in the restuarant really had a wonderful meal would go again. The food was outstanding & the staff was welcomong.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Our stay at the hotel was truly above our expectations, the hotel decor is second to none, with no expense being spared. The owner completed his fathers dream to transform 2 old run down buildings into a fantastic hotel. The food and service are first class, we would like to say thank you to the owners for making our stay memorable and for making us feel very welcome. WE WILL CERTAINLY STAY AGAIN. I hope to see the old telephone box restored on my return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I visited just the Hamiltons restaurant (no overnight stay at the hotel) for a professional meeting. The food is simplying stunning. Definitely fine dining and on a par with some of the top restaurants I've eaten in Birmingham (e.g. Opus).

The atmosphere is initimate and friendly. The staff are very helpful. The food is presented beautifully and opulent. The chef's version of Tiramisu is a work of art. It's a little bit expensive, but naturally worth it.

This is a hidden gem in Wolverhampton and would highly recommend! Perfect for special occasions.

Room Tip: Not applicable. (However, I have been given a tour of the hotel and all the rooms looked impressive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank B11UP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here last weekend as we was down in wolves for a christening, very nice hotel well worth the price it cost. Very clean, good size rooms, good food and owners very nice. Would definatlely go back. The park facing hotel is very nice and is good if you are staying with kids as we was.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jtommo1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
2.0 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 20 in Wolverhampton
723 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#6 of 20 in Wolverhampton
896 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 20 in Wolverhampton
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ely House Hotel
Ely House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Wolverhampton
257 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wolverhampton
441 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Park View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Park View Hotel

Property: A Park View Hotel
Address: 12-13 Park Road West, Wolverhampton WV1 4PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A Park View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Park View Hotel is a luxury Hotel bordering Wolverhampton City Centre and is within easy reach of the main travel hubs to City Centre and M6 Motorway. Historical on the outside yet timeless on the inside. A Park View Hotel is an elegant fusion of old meets new.This impressive Victorian building is located opposite Wolverhampton’s pristine West Park. Close walking distance to Wolverhampton Civic Venues and is highly recommended by venue vistors. The Hotel's restaurant, Hamilton's, is the perfect venue for a Pre-Show Dinner & drinks. We pride ourselves on offering our guests a unique hotel experience, welcoming and friendly staff always happy to help you. Behind its doors, the authentic features have been preserved giving the hotel an enduring elegance and grandeur that can be seen throughout all 21 en suite spacious rooms. We also have two unique family suites located on the third floor which can accommodate from 3 to 6 guests. Our Executive rooms all come with brand new Jacuzzi steam shower units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your A Park View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing