We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My dreadful stay”
Review of A Park View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Park View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My dreadful stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed here for four days on business during july, i can honestly say this is a pretentious bed and breakfast posing as a hotel.
 It is run on the same basis as a prison camp , there is no front door key you have to press a buzzer to be let in , the bedroom doors are not self locking , you have to remember to lock your door when leaving, 
 The hosts want to know your every movement to the point being intrusive,What time your coming back , if your dinning, which , along with the bar , they were overselling,
 There are no lifts here, so you have to drag your bags up 3 flights of stairs, the rooms are small and are decorated in an old fashioned way.
 The bathrooms are small and have a plastic cubicle for a shower , which is jokingly called a spa .
 In the morning you are hovered over by young inexperienced girls, whom, obviously , have been employed on a low budget. We were offered items we hadn't asked for or ordered. When our breakfast came it was a let down fried eggs were overcooked and tasted dreadful and sausages and bacon very limp and not great quality, I've tasted better in a traditional " greasy spoon "
Needless to say we didn't book  places in there restaurant 
 All in all we plumbed for the premier inn on our next stay where service ,food , and stay  were far more pleasant experience.
 

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Shooter663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AParkView, General Manager at A Park View Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
This gentleman was removed from the establishment for highly disruptive behaviour for our other guests. We as a high quality establishment have a zero tolerance drugs policy. All our guest are able to read all the reviews and take an informed judgement on the accuracy of this rather bitter and childish review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    38
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
131
11
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is a wonderful find in Wolverhampton. It is on the park and a local carnival was going on when we arrived so we went over. Got a taste of real life in Wolverhampton! The staff and owners are fantastic. Beautifully restored old building with truly modern fittings. Breakfast couldn't be better.
We had dinner at Hamilton's, their restaurant. It was truly fine dining; wonderful food. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helene123Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AParkView, Owner at A Park View Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for your review. It was lovely to meet you both. I hope the rest of your journey in the UK is pleasant and exciting. Don't forget to come back and see us should you be in Wolverhampton again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at A Park View while on business in Wolverhampton.
The location is central and easy to get to my appointments in the morning with the help of the wonderfully friendly staff who booked me a cab.
On arrival we enjoyed a speedy check in at the plush lobby and were quickly directed to our superior double room which was gorgeous.
After a walk round the picturesque park we enjoyed a first class meal cooked to perfection by the hotel's Masterchef finalist chef and enjoyed a chat with the friendly staff who recognised me from my last visit.
The hotel is family run, but far from an overbearing atmosphere we were left to our own devices to enjoy our stay.
With a stressful day ahead with was essential that my stay at A Park View was relaxing, and it certainly was. I awoke refreshed and ready to start the day ahead.
I would 100 per cent recommend A Park View to anyone visiting Wolverhampton. For the same price as an (often) soulless Travelodge you get so much more. Excellent service and value for money!

Room Tip: I stayed in a superior double room which boasted an en suite bathroom with bath, flat screen TV and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AParkView, Owner at A Park View Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We always enjoy welcoming returning guests to the hotel and I'm glad to hear that the second visit was just as good as the first. We'll shall see you again for the third.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southminster, essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Very Friendly, nice and clean and exremely comfortable bed.
Would definately stay there again.
A trip to Wolverhampton for a wedding. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, from booking us a taxi to the wedding to explaining what would happen in the temple and the reception afterwards.
Being an extremely fussy eater, my breakfast came from the kitchen exactly the way I asked for.

My only complaint was we couldn't stay for longer!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolanneneall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AParkView, Owner at A Park View Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for your review. It was lovely to meet you both and I'm glad that we were able to add to your weekend by making it a pleasurable and relaxing stay. Should you ever be back in Wolverhampton for another wedding, you know where we are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

It is great to have a pace like this in Woverhampton. I travel a lot for work to Woverhampton so I will stay there again for sure. The food was amazing, all the staff really hepful and from my room had very nice views of the park. The room was spotless, very clean and the bed was very confortable. Congratulations to all the staff of the A Park View Hotel because they are doing an amazing job!

Room Tip: I stayed on the front side, I recommend it as you get nice views and its a quiet street so you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

A lovely, friendly, small hotel, just by the city centre but right opposite the park. The staff are kind and helpful, the wifi is free in your room and the home-made punjabi curry, made by one of the proprietors, is truly fantastic, a real treat. You have to give an hour and a half's notice for it but it's worth it.

Rooms are a lower price than other hotels in the city but it's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: They upgraded me to a double because they didn't have the single room I asked for - nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fionacflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Cannot comment on the hotel as we only visited the Hamiltons restaurant for dinner - Trip Advisor does not have the restaurant on as a seperate establishment to the hotel unfortunately (can you fix this please TripAdvisor??)

We happened to stumble across the restaurant few weeks prior, whilst walking past and we made a reservation for our next available Friday night.

Arrived for our early 6pm reservation and had drinks at the bar. Was quiet as we expected, and I must say we enjoy eating out at quieter restaurants as you do not have to strain to hear each other speak or fight with other guests for the attention of the waiting staff!! Upon chatting to the owner we were delighted to discover that the chef was a Masterchef finalist! As it was quiet and the owner identified us correctly as self-confessed foodies (!), the chef actually offered to provide us with taster menu off the menu as he had some time before other reservations!! Lovely gesture and immediately made us feel welcome.

We actually ended up ordering mussels for the starters and I ordered the caribbean sweet potato soup. The portion of mussels for the starters was a very generous portion as you will see from our photo, they came with a beautiful creamy sauce. My caribbean sweet potato soup was lovely also, spicy. Starters were given with the homemade bread and butter that tasted lovely.

For mains we actually ordered three to share between the two of us as we couldn't decide! I had the pork belly and my partner had the duck breast. Both were cooked beautifully, and again the portions were very generous. The third main was the vegetarian option of butternut squash whih was lightly curried - again lovely. All accompanied by the triple cooked chips we had ordered on the side which were gorgeous!

For dessert we had chocolate delice with salted caramel icecream, and white chocolate raspberry mouse with raspberry milkshake and shortbread. This was beautiful.

The bill for two starters, three mains, two desserts, a beer and side of triple cooked chips came to £75 which we thought was excellent value for the quality of fine dining offered.

We will definitely be back and definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ballroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
2.0 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 20 in Wolverhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#5 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wolverhampton City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ely House Hotel
Ely House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Park View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Park View Hotel

Property: A Park View Hotel
Address: 12-13 Park Road West, Wolverhampton WV1 4PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A Park View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Park View Hotel is a luxury Hotel bordering Wolverhampton City Centre and is within easy reach of the main travel hubs to City Centre and M6 Motorway. Historical on the outside yet timeless on the inside. A Park View Hotel is an elegant fusion of old meets new.This impressive Victorian building is located opposite Wolverhampton’s pristine West Park. Close walking distance to Wolverhampton Civic Venues and is highly recommended by venue vistors. The Hotel's restaurant, Hamilton's, is the perfect venue for a Pre-Show Dinner & drinks. We pride ourselves on offering our guests a unique hotel experience, welcoming and friendly staff always happy to help you. Behind its doors, the authentic features have been preserved giving the hotel an enduring elegance and grandeur that can be seen throughout all 21 en suite spacious rooms. We also have two unique family suites located on the third floor which can accommodate from 3 to 6 guests. Our Executive rooms all come with brand new Jacuzzi steam shower units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your A Park View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing