We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A special Birthday”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Sisters ?? Birthday so looked for a deal and 4 of us went to the Mercure Hotel Wolverhampton. We were put into the business centre and rooms were very good. We could not fault any of the staff all first rate, very polite, very helpful and nothing was any trouble. on the Saturday 15th March phoned to see if it was possible for some flowers for my sister in her room, answer was no flower sop attached to hotel, BUT the lady I spoke to went in her own time on the Sunday and got some for me and they were waiting in her room when we arrived.
Only one small complaint? I can't find it now but when I was looking at the hotel I saw in one review, the only complaint they had was John Smiths beer, I will add my complaint to that as well.
It was supposed to be an all in package, but only john smiths and a larger I would not give room in my garage was all that we could get. If we wanted any thing else or different we had to pay extra. First time I have been on a UK al in and been very limited to selection or pay extra. Again no complaints with any thing else at the hotel, a special request for food and it was dealt with and on the plates for both wives the following evening.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Many thanks for leaving your comments following your stay - although I note your disappointment with the choices of all inclusive beer selection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    211
    178
    85
    53
See reviews for
102
252
36
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have just got back from and all inclusive stay this weekend.The room was very clean and very spacious.The radiator in the room would not turn down and it was very hot ..however the staff soon got onto it and sorted it out for us.The staff were very friendly and Faith and Lisa who work there went out of there way to make sure we all had a pleasant stay and a big thankyou to Lisa for helping us give our friend a lovely birthday.Would also like to give the chef our compliments as the food was fantastic and we have come home feeling very stuffed.The only thing that let the hotel down was the leisure facilities The changing rooms had horrible rusty lockers and dirty..around the pool the floor was also very dirty and there was bits of soggy tissue all over the steam room..hopefully the hygiene in the leisure club will improve as it would have completed what could have been a perfect weekend..unfortunately we did not want to go back into the leisure club .Cant wait to go back for another weekend and look foward to seeing Lisa and Faith as they really helped make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babybubbles74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Many thanks for your feedback following your stay at the hotel
Comments have been passed onto the staff and managers concerned
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here over the Valentine's weekend. We were given the bridal suite as it was our wedding reception on the Saturday night at the hotel. The room was very clean and spacious, and nothing was to much, or a problem. The staff at the hotel are suberb. They are very attentive and care about your stay. Their was approx 70 of us staying at the hotel on the Saturday night for our reception. All of our guests checked in with ease, and if required given assistance with luggage. On meeting with our party at the bar, we discovered that all was well and everyone was more than satisfied with their choice of room. The only moan was that the changing rooms in the leisure centre could do with a little more attention when cleaning. Remember when booking this hotel. Its a 3 star. If you want the height of luxury. This isn't the hotel for you. The Goldthorn is a very friendly, comfortable and clean hotel. It is an ideal base at good prices. Treat the staff with respect and honesty, and you will get the same treatment back. We had a great time with our family and friends and would not hesitate torrecommended or re book.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wwfc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for you kind comments which have been passed on to the staff
We are glad that you had a great weekend and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

On arrival the hotel looked to be pleasant enough, this was backed up by the efficient way with which I was handled by the reception and directed to my room.
The room had a good sized double bed along with another single bed, which looked as if a previous guest had used it as a convenient place to put a suit case. It was also obvious that the room had not been vacuumed. It did however have probably the best shower I have ever used in any hotel anywhere, although one of the complimentary shower gels had been used by a previous guest and not replaced.
I had a good meal in the bar, which had a good atmosphere and welcoming staff.
In all I would say it was a good stay which was let down by the hotel's housekeeping.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay - I have passed on your comments to the Housekeeping team and the appropriate action is being taken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This is a whole new area for me, no I am not Disabled but my partner broke her foot, and we are both o.a.p.'s did not do well with cruches, so walking frame and wheelchair. I contacted the Hotel and explained that we needed Disabled acommadation, and that we on a All Inclusuve Package and would be spending most of our time at the hotel, with just one planned outing. I was told that yes the Goldthorn was Disabled friendly. This was a long way from being true!!! The only conssesion to being Disabled was a ramp up to Reception and gave access to the bar and dining room. Note the site slopes down at about 20 degree's , check brakes on wheel-chair. We were taken to our room after I had expressed some misgivings regarding the hotel. To get to our room we were taken outside [the rain had stopped] and down the hill around the back of the hotel past the kitchens. We then got to the door into the Hotel again, up I think it was four steps I was then told that they would get some Chef's from the kitchen to help lift thr wheel-chair up the steps. The corridor to the room was tight as was the turn at the end. As to the room well Gothic/Dungen complete with four-post'erbed, I commented all that was missing were the Shackels on the wall. There was very little space for the wheel-chair and the barthroom door was to narrow for the chair to go though. Would we stay one night and they would move us tomorrow. I said no and pointed out that not only was it totaly unusable but if there was a fire in the night we would end up as kipper's. I then said that I had driven up from Cornwall allready today but would do another 30 mile's for the same deal for four nights as agreed.I was told that they would contact me and left us in the room! After about an hour I walked round to reception to find out what was happening. I was told that they were waiting for a phone call and would contact me for 4-45pm we had been at the hotel from 2-30pm, no contact by 5-00pm and was told it would be soon. A little later we had a knock on the door and we had somewere, Chester It is only 71miles away and should only take you one and a half hours to get there. Get the cook's we need to leave the room [ for the last and only time]. We were offered a cup before we left but with a long drive and a small door on the bathroom no thankyou. A short stay and not a happy one and a very poor start to a holiday. We were headed for the Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel which is eight miles to the noth of Chester. So much for another 30 miles would be OK. Read the rest in my next report.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeep10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Many thanks for your comments and sorry for the problems encountered - we are not disabled friendly and do not profess to be so I am very keen indeed to find out who told you that we were so that further action can be taken - happy for you to email me on gm@hotels-wolverhampton.com. I note in the booking that we had a comment about your wife's broken foot but not about wheelchair use.

Unfortunately our closest hotel in Telford is listed building and definately not wheelchair friendly and Stafford was fully booked - so Chester is the closest Focus Hotel operating as Mercure.

I can also confirm that our Reception Manager issued you with a full refund prior to your departure for Chester

Once again my apologies and I look forward to hearing from you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wolverhampton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed at the Goldthorn for two weeks whilst visiting on business.

The first week my room was in the business centre and was large and well appointed with modern fixtures and fittings especially in the bathroom.

Week two however was a different story, the room was in the main hotel and couldn't have been further away from the previous room.

The room was dated and the bathroom suite looked as though it had been there since day one. The towel heater/radiator didn't work which made the room very cold. The amount of filler around the joints/valves indicated that it was beyond repair.

The shower leaked onto the floor which was more like a wet room.

Would I stay again? Not if I could find somewhere nearer my business.

Room Tip: In the business centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigST99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Following your recent stay - many thanks for leaving us your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed here over night over the weekend. The room was standard not as nice as photos on the website. There was a coach party there and didn't we know it. There was banging of doors,people walking across the floor board, chatting during the middle of the night. I could actually hear someone in the room next door snoring. As you can imagine, we were not impressed.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ch3ryl_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay and sorry you encountered noisy disruption throughout
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#7 of 21 in Wolverhampton
917 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 21 in Wolverhampton
773 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 21 in Wolverhampton
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ely House Hotel
Ely House Hotel
#5 of 21 in Wolverhampton
263 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Wolverhampton - Racecourse
Holiday Inn Wolverhampton - Race...
#10 of 21 in Wolverhampton
71 reviews
1.5 mi away
York Hotel
York Hotel
#12 of 21 in Wolverhampton
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Property: Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Address: 126 Penn Road, Wolverhampton WV3 0ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within easy reach of M6/M54/M5 and NEC, the Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel offers some pleasant surprises. With original features throughout the bar area and a contemporary restaurant, the hotel provides an excellent setting from which to base your visit to the Midlands. There is also the opportunity to upgrade to one of six, four poster rooms, besides the other 76 well appointed en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goldthorn Hotel Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing