We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding reception ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wedding reception ”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The family room was spacious clean and well equipped , staff were helpfull polite . We were in room 97 it's quiet .breakfast was ok plenty to eat .. They looked after all the wedding party well .. Thank you for that . I would recommend this hotel . Just hurry up and fix the pool door so next time I can have a swim .

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuarthaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments after your stay - sorry that the pool was out of use - someone's car rolled into it and we are waiting for their insurance assessor to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    209
    176
    84
    51
See reviews for
100
250
36
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here for our Wedding party/reception. Firstly all staff are great Alison, Richard (I think the guy with ponytail) and the Irish guy all so did the hotel proud. Everything set out perfectly and everything came together smoothly. Couldn't have asked for anything more. Rooms were clean and tidy, lounge was comfortable. Perfect Day, Thank you. :-)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolves-Beddus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments - glad you had a good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

1)Decor very old & shabby place falling down.
2) Manager never available. Nobody wanted to solve problems.
3) Waited 45 minutes to be asked what I wanted for dinner, then another long wait for it to arrive.
4) Food extremely poor.
5) People a couple of tables away were given toast with fungus mold on it.
6) great shortage of staff.
the place needs condemning & environmental health need to go & close it down. It is a health hazard..

Room Tip: don't bother to go their.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for leaving your comments following your recent stay
I am sorry that you were dissatisfied - there was a Senior Manager on duty at the hotel every evening should you have asked to speak to him
I was available every morning should you have wished to talk to me
We did ask the Tour Manager for a pre-order to speed up service but he did not wish to go ahead with this which slowed service down
We have just had a thorough EHO review and have been awarded 5 stars for Food Hygiene - I can assure you that we take this very seriously indeed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wolverhampton hotels

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Me my husband and two year old daughter are staying here at present. First of all we were met by a very unhelpful receptionist who didn't seem to know much about the hotel. Secondly we asked to see a children's menu for the restaurant and were spoken to very abruptly and told to wait in reception away from the restaurant whilst they found a menu. Finding the room was like being in a maze!! We hiked all our things up flights of stairs as they are no lifts! The room was very basic. Worst of all there is a large hen party in the main function room. There are people walking round in barley anything! Not a pleasant sight for my two year old daughter to see! The music was is still playing very loudly gone midnight! Our room is also situated right next to the hen party occupant rooms!! Considering that we seem to be the only ones here with a child we thought we would have been allocated to a quieter part of the hotel! We are booked for 2 nights but will certainly be leaving in the morning. Worst hotel I've ever stayed in!! Would not recommend to anyone with young children!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KirstyM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Many thanks for your comments - I am sorry that you did not have a good stay
We would have been more than happy to move your rooms on the 2nd night should you have wished - although the disco party was only on Friday night - so there was no disco on Saturday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a five night stay at this hotel. Our first impression was very good. The reception staff were very helpful and polite, especially as they were dealing 31 of us at the time. (we were on a coach tour). We had requested a room on the first floor and was given a very spacious first floor room with a bay window. Everything was very clean and well presented. It was nice to get a decent television that actually worked. The bathroom was very spacious and clean. The one slight disadvantage was the fact that although there was a large wardrobe there were no drawers in which to put clothes, apart from one very small one at one side of the desk. If only staying for one night that is fine but staying longer it is nice not to have to live out of a suitcase. The food was good and very well presented with lots of variations to choose from. One comment I would make is that the chef seemed to think that we liked lots of pepper on most things, and I have to say that some food items were far too 'hot' for our liking. Service at times was rather chaotic and there didn't seem to be any set area of tables for our group which is normally the case when on a group tour. and everyone eats together. The other one problem is the noise. The hotel is on a busy main road so traffic noise is to be expected especially to those like us who were at the front of the building. Slightly more concerning was the amount of noise that was coming from the room above us. There were several young people and children staying in the hotel, whether it was any of them we don't know, but it was rather disconcerting for us as it made sleep difficult.

Room Tip: I would suggest that you ask for a room at the back, others on our party said they were better.Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swanny503920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Many thanks for your comments and glad that - on the whole - you had a good stay
I will pass your comments onto the departments concerned
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Horrendous
Awful, dated, pokey room.
Cracked sink, flaking paint.
Hotel is like a hellish maze.
Terrible service, brash unhelpful staff
Breakfast was ok I guess, but waitress was overworked and loud.
All in all a well below standard hotel with no commendable aspects.
The Mercure group should be ashamed !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hellboy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and my apolgies that you were not happy with the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is the 2nd time in this small but very friendly hotel, the reception were welcoming and soon we were booked in and on our way to nice quiet room on the 2nd floor, with it being a nice day we sat out side and smiley waitress (Lisa) served us with a couple oh beers, despite the restaurant opening at 7.00pm Lisa arranged for out meal to be served at 6.00 pm and also arranged to get us packed lunch the next day good one Lisa keep up the excellent work, once again such a friendly place and also very reasonable give it try we will be back again.

Clem Bromley

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or side as it faces a very busy road.ü
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clembromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Many thanks for your comments - all of which have also been passed onto Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#6 of 21 in Wolverhampton
906 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 21 in Wolverhampton
755 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 21 in Wolverhampton
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ely House Hotel
Ely House Hotel
#5 of 21 in Wolverhampton
261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
#16 of 21 in Wolverhampton
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wolverhampton
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Property: Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Address: 126 Penn Road, Wolverhampton WV3 0ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within easy reach of M6/M54/M5 and NEC, the Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel offers some pleasant surprises. With original features throughout the bar area and a contemporary restaurant, the hotel provides an excellent setting from which to base your visit to the Midlands. There is also the opportunity to upgrade to one of six, four poster rooms, besides the other 76 well appointed en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goldthorn Hotel Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing