We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    205
    169
    75
    46
See reviews for
96
244
36
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Good and bad.The hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren with loads of stairs and no lifts so clearly unsuitable for those who struggle to get around.It is by a busy main road so dont expect views of the rolling hillside but it is handy for the football ground (Wolves) and the city.Rooms are adequate without being luxurious.Food was OK without being anything special.The hotel was extremely (uncomfortably) warm but it was an unusually mild day.Staff were all very helpful,attentive and friendly.We booked specifically as it had an indoor pool for our wee one to have a dip but the night before someone had re-created the "Dukes of Hazard" and driven Keith Moon style into the deep end so the pool was out of service.If you are looking for somewhere to stay in this location you could do worse but it isnt somewhere where you would rush to stay for a relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: If you have trouble getting around/have young children etc I would be very specific on your room cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay - and sorry about the pool problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I spent 9 nights here in before Easter. My first 24 hours impressions were very poor.
STARTING WITH THE POOR --- I was given a room in the 'business annex'. The access was up 18 steps with no elevator and there was no offer to assist with my luggage. I'm 67 years old and still too macho to ask for help but it should have been offered. The shower was pathetic, it was a shower head at the end of the bath with minimal head-room due to the eaves. The next morning I asked to be moved to a room with a proper shower which was arranged but I had to move my own luggage. Worst was my morning paper had been thrown away though poor communication between staff. Trying to buy a paper late in the day is not always successful.and I needed to drive around the town's stores. There was no fridge or ice machine but an ice bucket was supplied on request, There were several places around the hotel where there were threadbare carpets and badly chipped paint on doors and skirting boards and badly damaged wallpaper including the dining room.. As there was no doorstop, the wall by my room was damaged by the handle..
There were 3 security levels (key, passcode and card) to access most rooms in the annex which is good but this somewhat fails when people were leaving the front door 'on the latch'. One day the bed was made but the waste bin was not emptied.. There was distorted background music in the dining room which was supplied by a pathetic Bush CD player that you can buy in Argos for under 30 pounds. The men's toilets adjacent to the dining room could have trapped anyone with larger than average build. I am average build and I had to manoeuvre around the toilet seat just to close the door. Suggestion, knock the 2 closets into one and it would be the right size.There was brown paper covering the window to the reception. Are they too mean to buy blinds? The service in the dining room on my first night (9th April) was terrible. I waited ages before I was even shown the menu. My fish and chips was probably the worst ever and was an insult to my palate. A waiter of integrity should have spotted this before it was brought to the table. And as for the chef...I hope he is moved on quickly if he produces food like that. The fish looked as if it had been cooked several times and was like a biscuit, and the chips were not a lot better, definitely not fresh. I sent it back and the replacement was OK. Several days later the 'Angus' burger was really a sad reflection on the British inability to create a decent burger. It is not a good sign when you are not asked how you want it cooked, (Message to self - cancel the order if you are not asked how it should be cooked.)
After this long gripe
THE GOOD
Everything was clean. The hotel is on a busy road but the annex was quiet. After the first night the dining room service was good even when it was very busy. Although the food was not the best it was adequate with a reasonable variety. Quantity not quality. I remarked to my waitress that the water she brought to the table tasted odd, as did the tap water in my room. The following evening she went out of her way to make sure that I had bottled water. I believe it was out of her own pocket. Poor show Mercure Hotels if that is the case..

Room Tip: If the weather is bad, even the relatively short walk across the car park from the annex to the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakewood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Many thanks for your feedback on Trip Advisor - I have discussed this at length with my management team so that improvements can be made.
Apologies for the inconvenience encountered
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wolverhampton hotels

Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed for two nights, having stayed there several times. A little concerned as some reviews had not been too positive. On check in informed my room would be on the third floor I asked for a lower one .( a dodgy knee and no lift) the receptionist kindly transferred me to the first floor. The manager asked if I would like some help with my luggage which he delivered to my door. The room was a reasonable size but a little tired ready for redecoration. It was very clean so one can overlook the decor. The room was a little warm and i could not get my window to stay open had been a warm day. I ate in the hotel where I was looked after by the most delightful young lady who kept that up during my stay. She constantly checked I had all I required. I think her name was Tracey sorry if I have got it wrong. All the other staff I came into contact with were also very attentive. The public areas were modern and comfortable. Would I stay again despite needing some room upgrading yes I would for a short stay, but the stairs are steep so may have some difficulty if there for a week.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetjohn001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback and giving us the opportunity to make your stay a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The family room was spacious clean and well equipped , staff were helpfull polite . We were in room 97 it's quiet .breakfast was ok plenty to eat .. They looked after all the wedding party well .. Thank you for that . I would recommend this hotel . Just hurry up and fix the pool door so next time I can have a swim .

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuarthaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments after your stay - sorry that the pool was out of use - someone's car rolled into it and we are waiting for their insurance assessor to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here for our Wedding party/reception. Firstly all staff are great Alison, Richard (I think the guy with ponytail) and the Irish guy all so did the hotel proud. Everything set out perfectly and everything came together smoothly. Couldn't have asked for anything more. Rooms were clean and tidy, lounge was comfortable. Perfect Day, Thank you. :-)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolves-Beddus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments - glad you had a good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

1)Decor very old & shabby place falling down.
2) Manager never available. Nobody wanted to solve problems.
3) Waited 45 minutes to be asked what I wanted for dinner, then another long wait for it to arrive.
4) Food extremely poor.
5) People a couple of tables away were given toast with fungus mold on it.
6) great shortage of staff.
the place needs condemning & environmental health need to go & close it down. It is a health hazard..

Room Tip: don't bother to go their.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for leaving your comments following your recent stay
I am sorry that you were dissatisfied - there was a Senior Manager on duty at the hotel every evening should you have asked to speak to him
I was available every morning should you have wished to talk to me
We did ask the Tour Manager for a pre-order to speed up service but he did not wish to go ahead with this which slowed service down
We have just had a thorough EHO review and have been awarded 5 stars for Food Hygiene - I can assure you that we take this very seriously indeed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
1.0 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#7 of 20 in Wolverhampton
855 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#5 of 20 in Wolverhampton
869 reviews
0.9 mi away
A Park View Hotel
A Park View Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wolverhampton
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 20 in Wolverhampton
685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#2 of 20 in Wolverhampton
431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ely House Hotel
Ely House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Wolverhampton
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Property: Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Address: 126 Penn Road, Wolverhampton WV3 0ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within easy reach of M6/M54/M5 and NEC, the Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel offers some pleasant surprises. With original features throughout the bar area and a contemporary restaurant, the hotel provides an excellent setting from which to base your visit to the Midlands. There is also the opportunity to upgrade to one of six, four poster rooms, besides the other 76 well appointed en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goldthorn Hotel Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing