We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“More than adequate”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We expected a usual three-star hotel, but this much better in several ways. Staff friendly and they try to be helpful. Building is a much-altered rabbit warren, mostly in good repair, though some things badly need attention (window frames in our room falling apart). Swimming pool, sauna, steam room - great! In good repair, unless you look at the ceiling. Food is good, slightly too pricey, but we chose to eat there each night because it was so pleasant. Our supposedly "quiet" room was next to a busy road. But these grumbles have to be kept in context - for a three-star, it's very good.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Just a quick note to thank your for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    209
    174
    81
    47
See reviews for
98
249
36
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here this weekend to see a gig and for my 40th Birthday! Staff very friendly and allowed room 2hrs early.
Upgraded to a 4 poster room in the business annex which is nice and modern and comfortable.

Room hot (93) but given a fan which did the job.

All in All a nice friendly hotel near to the city centre, nothing to complain about really and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Business annex is nice and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daleybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Many thanks for leaving us your feedback following your recent stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

As a regular business user with Accor Group I booked this hotel and chose it for its location / price close to city centre as part of a leisure weekend. Room assigned ( 88 ) on arrival was in an annex ( Business Centre ) to the main building. First impressions were that room layout was good with all facilities required for an overnight stay. However we then experienced several problems that should really have been fixed prior to room allocation :-
1) Tilt and Turn tap in bathroom hand basin had operating lever broken off so tilt and twist was a pinch point for fingers.
2) Shower had little or no temperature regulation - cool or scalding !!!
3) Window in room had no locking facility despite street side access potential.
4) After breakfast and prior to checkout room lock failed so we could not re-enter room back to reception again - fault turned out to be use of budget batteries in locking mechanism.

All of the above was reported to reception but no maintenance was available early evening for the first 3 items. Clearly maintenance management is an issue !!

It's a pity because the bedroom and bed comfort were fine as is the Hotel location and breakfast was excellent with a good choice of freshly cooked food.

Having said the above we would probably use this hotel again but check room facilities before unpacking next time.

Room Tip: Check room facilities before unpacking. Rooms in main building have steep staircase to access all r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Many thanks for your feedback and my sincere apologies
Maintenance engineer on holiday during your stay but there is someone else who could have addressed the problems and I will speak to reception as there appears to have been a lack of communication throughout
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Have just returned from a great 3 night all inclusive break. Room great with four poster bed, swimming pool good. Food good, drink good,, staff excellent very friendly and helpful. Hotel clean. Could do with a few tables and chairs outside on a hot summer evening. Short walk to the centre of Wolverhampton. Would love to visit again.

Room Tip: we stopped at the business centre and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandMarylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Many thanks for your feedback - take on board your comments about outside seating
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just returned from a 2 night break - £168 for 2 people with breakfast, 2 course evening meal, wine/beer between 7-11 and unlimited coffee/tea - excellent value but the evening meal slightly disappointing as they obviously used frozen fish and chips. Paid supplement for steak on 2nd night, well worth it.
I had contacted the hotel prior to going as I had concerns after reading trip advisor after booking and they did put us in 4 poster room upgrade for nothing (room 83) it was very nice but needs a bit if tlc, light bulbs need replacing etc. This seemed to reflect throughout the whole hotel.
My husband visited the leisure centre but I have to say calling it that glorifies it. There is a very small gym, which had 2 running machines/bikes. There was no water provision which we did report to reception. Also the steam room smelt fusty again reported this, pool was very small.
The inclusive wine was palatable and choice of John Smiths/Fosters and cider was good although bar staff absent at times so long waits at bar.
waitress called Lisa really made it for us, she was so friendly and loved her job. We asked for feedback firm before checking out but they do not have them.
overall a lovely break but hotel needs a good makeover.

Room Tip: Room 83 in the Business Centre away from the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie_jones21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank your for your feedback - i will follow up your comments with our maintenance and housekeeping departments - and pass on your comments to Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I booked this in a last minute panic and it looked a good deal. I suppose it is really but you get what you pay for. It is what I would describe as a typical hotel that caters for the travelling business community. It also caters for coach parties. Be warned, these are going to take priority and fill up the hotel. The hotel is located on a one way system which could cause you problems and at a busy junction. The car park is large.

The rooms are clean, basic and well serviced but maybe a little tired. The staff are great and vey helpful. The hotel does seem to need some TLC and perhaps getting close to a refurb. as it looks a bit dated. I did not eat there but I checked and the restaurant has a fair if not a good reputation. Breakfast is about £10.00 and not included in the price. It is OK for the money but I would not want to pay more.

Room Tip: Rear rooms and the annexe are quiet. A busy road at front especially during rush-hour. Check first t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJA950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for leaving your feedback following your stay at the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#6 of 20 in Wolverhampton
893 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 20 in Wolverhampton
887 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 20 in Wolverhampton
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
A Park View Hotel
A Park View Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wolverhampton
328 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ely House Hotel
Ely House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Wolverhampton
256 reviews
0.9 mi away
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
#15 of 20 in Wolverhampton
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Property: Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Address: 126 Penn Road, Wolverhampton WV3 0ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within easy reach of M6/M54/M5 and NEC, the Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel offers some pleasant surprises. With original features throughout the bar area and a contemporary restaurant, the hotel provides an excellent setting from which to base your visit to the Midlands. There is also the opportunity to upgrade to one of six, four poster rooms, besides the other 76 well appointed en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goldthorn Hotel Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing