We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mount Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

My Daughter got married at the Mount, the whole day was Magical for every one, so when it was time to plan my husband Retirement and 65th Birthday Party, only one place came to mind.
From planning the occasion, to the night of the Private Dinner, the service throughout was superb. All the staff were so friendly and helpful, all our needs were catered for. The rooms were spotless and comfortable and all our guests who stayed, have commented on the cleanliness, friendliness and service of the hotel.
all the staff were fantastic, but a special thank you to Jo, Jason and Abbi for making my husband private Dinner Party such a success.

Room Tip: The court yard rooms are a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThelmaWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    197
    83
    23
    16
See reviews for
180
213
20
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

On arrival at The Mount, I was informed that I had been upgraded to a deluxe room - always a good start!
The room was excellent, extremely clean and comfortable, with a spotless large bathroom.
Evening meals were very good with a choice of bar snacks or more formally in the restaurant, and breakfast was cooked to order. A buffet breakfast is served if the hotel has a large number of guests, but this was fine as well.
There are beautiful gardens to the rear of the hotel, and a large car park. The road at the front of the hotel is quiet most of the time.
I stayed for 5 nights and the standards were maintained throughout. The staff were efficient and friendly.
If I am in the area again, I will make a point of staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the rear of the hotel have views over the gardens and are furthest away from the funct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaultheScopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

When visiting family in the area we have stayed here on several occasions and found it to be consistently good. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is always nice and we have always found a table immediately, even on the busiest of days. The garden area to the rear adds to the impressive building. We have eaten in the bar and the restaurant - wouldn't hesitate to recommend either.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed at The Mount 18th &19th February 2014. I hadn't visited the Mount for more than a day trip since 1972, and when I walked through the doors it was almost as though I'd never been away. The hotel still exuded a friendly feeling, which is maintained from the genuinely friendly greeting at reception and the friendly and helpful attitudes of all the staff I met. My room was comfortable, I slept like a log both nights! Over my stay there were a couple of minor problems that were promptly resolved by the reception staff. I was saddened by the limits of the garden, the path where I proposed to my late fiancée stops at the end of the lawn now, but it still is a nice garden. My first dinner was an excellent piri piri chicken, which was so excellent I had it the next night too! All the waiting staff were good, and friendly; there was one problem with my champagne order being mislaid and a logistics problem finding it and getting an ice bucket. This problem was resolved by the restaurant manager and the General Manager most amicably. Breakfasts were fine, my fried eggs were done to a turn, but you do need a manufacturers course to work the toaster properly. It was so nice to have marmalade in a pot rather than those ghastly little pots!
Thank you all at The Mount for a lovely stay I'll see you in July.
Bill Glanvill

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Business trip, but got bumped to a huge suite! Nice food, friendly service - when I'm back in the area I will definitely stay here again!

I was finishing off breakfast when several guys from a conference turned up about 15mins after service stopped and all the hot plates, etc were away, the girls seated the and went and got their orders (they missed the all you can eat buffet!) - impressive service.

Thanks for a lovely stay - looking forward to another free upgrade next time! ;-)

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank N0rthY0rks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My partner and I stayed here on Saturday 15th February as we were at a wedding reception at nearby Pendral Hall. We were upgraded to a suite which was a plesant surprise and it was lovely, the decor and cleanaliness of the Mount is second to none, the bar area is newly decorated and of a modern design, the gardens are very well kept. Although I am not local I wil be visiting The Mount again, for afternoon tea or just generally for a trip out for lunch/dinner ,maybe another weekend is on the cards.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank July28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I booked this for Saturday 15th February for me and my boyfriend as we were going to a gig at the civic hall that night. The staff were pleasant, our room was very clean, a little small, but homely with clean towels and sheets and a TV. Our room had a radiator where you could control the temp of the room, we had ours at 30C, nice and cosy! The view wasn't great from our window, but that wasn't really important. A very good nights sleep, the bed was comfy and no traffic noise or loud guests. We had breakfast included, which was nice, but the food was however a little cold. The full English we paid for didn't include hash browns, which, to my personal preferences, was a little disappointing. Nonetheless, this was a very pleasant stay at a clean, friendly hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolverhampton
2.0 mi away
A Park View Hotel
A Park View Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wolverhampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
12.2 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
3.0 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#7 of 20 in Wolverhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#5 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
2.7 mi away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#2 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ely House Hotel
Ely House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Hotel

Property: The Mount Hotel
Address: Mount Road | Tettenhall, Wolverhampton WV6 8HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Wolverhampton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly Refurbished Mount Hotel is a grade II listed Period Property offering a variety of accommodation types standard rooms, deluxe room and executive rooms as well as a Serviced Apartment.All well appointed and Modern with FREE WIFI. The Hotel boasts an AA Rosette awarded restaurant The Drawing Room Bar and Grill wich was also a Runner up in good Food England and Wales 2014 it offers contemporary British cuisine with a twist. As well as having its own Champagne bar serving an array of Champagnes and fine wines. The Hotel also offers an array of function, conference and wedding packages in either our purpose built conference centre; Newly refurbished Mander's suite or exquisite Great Hall dating from 1890. We strive to provide the best customer experience possible and ensure all our guests are comfortable and their needs are met while visiting Wolverhampton and the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Hotel Wolverhampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing