We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!!!! A hidden gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamilton's Restaurant

Hamilton's Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 469 Restaurants in Wolverhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$31
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hamiltons Restaurant at A Park View Hotel is situated opposite Wolverhampton West Park and is a local neighbourhood restaurant on a grand scale. It comprises a restaurant and bar, offering fine dining to locals and corporates.The main restaurant and bar is a contemporary conservatory dining room in a rich palette of black granite tables, that is accompanied by an eminently approachable menu – a mix of sophisticated comfort food and modern British classics. Hamiltons Restaurant also provides the ideal location for events and celebrations with a dedicated team in place to help. With private dining room available for hire, and flexibility across the site, whether you are looking to hold an intimate private party or larger scale special occasion, the expert team at Hamiltons can create the perfect event to suit your needs
Wolverhampton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!!!! A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The most amazing food with such lovely staff. Nothing was to much trouble. We had the fish friday menu and the food was beautiful. Well worth a visit. Cocktails are also amazing!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michaela_minch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    47
    12
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea for two- lovely jubbly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I wanted to take my Mom for afternoon tea for Mother’s day and Hamiltons came up on Google. I reserved by email and booked over the phone – staff were friendly, helpful and polite throughout and also quick to respond to my emails.

The restaurant is lovely. It’s smaller than I expected, which made it nice and cosy and the décor made it look both cosy and contemporary. We were lucky enough to get a rare sunny day, so sat in the conservatory, which was lovely. The afternoon tea itself was tasty. The sandwiches weren’t great, as they tasted like they’d been made for a while (but we did turn up late, so that’s probably our own fault!) but the cakes were lovely. I was expecting proper slices of cakes and also proper cream scones, so was a little disappointed when I saw it was miniature versions of everything- but it turned out to be just the right amount, the small versions meant we could sample everything, which was lovely jubbly.

The staff were attentive and friendly and understanding when I called to say we were going to be late (got stuck on the motorway). It was a little pricey at £15.95 for a couple of butties and cakes, but most afternoon teas are about that price these days anyways, so it was all good.

Lovely restaurant, wonderful staff, tasty food and a pleasant way to spend a sunny afternoon, would recommend this hidden gem – my Mom, who used to work right next to this hotel- had never even noticed there was a quaint little restaurant in it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikkleruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mothers Day Dream Treat at Hamilton's Wolverhampton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband had booked this treat for myself and our baby, booking well in advance was the secret to getting a table, we arrived early to a full house, not surprising this chic little treasure not worth missing. A four course fab meal for £25 a head, and free for under three. Lets start with our starters which I had grilled asparagus spears, tarragon emulsion, truffle oil, Parmesan snow, my husband went for the smoked chicken & mushroom roulade which came with a lovely walnut bread, a beautiful bottle of crisp white Rioja, mains served in a timely manner with well mannered staff consisted of mouth watering leg of Shropshire lamb with minted pear conserve for me , and roast succulent beef with Yorkshire pudding red wine jus and all the trimmings you would expect in a fine eatery, desserts were heavenly a good old fashioned sherry trifle just like grandma used to make for both of us, finished of with tea and coffee with home baked cookies warm. Gift time was the perfect finish I received a lovely candle holder filled with home baked cake pops. A heaving bustling restaurant with tasteful music excellent staff and idealistic ambiance perfect finish for a well awaited return to this superb venue,10 out of 10 again. our son who is 30 months was not forgotten chef had prepared him miniature roast vegetables, and yummy rice pudding. Thank you all again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank harry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea at Hamiltons ..Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were made to feel very welcome with a 7 month old baby in tow. We were offered complimentary services for our baby including the use of a hotel bedroom for baby changing. The waitress even offered to manoevre the pram for us when entering and leaving the premises.The decor is beautiful, the staff were attentive and professional throughout. There was a wonderful selection of freshly cut sandwiches and a lovely selection of cakes all beautifully presented . There was also as much tea or coffee as we wanted and the offer of more sandwiches if required .there was more than enough for four of us and the cakes we couldn't manage were thoughtfully boxed up for us to take home. The price is very fair for what is provided . We are already planning to return for lunch and another family tea. We are also recommending Hamiltons to all our friends and family. In addition to the lovely hotel facilities ,we would also urge local people to patronise this restarant. It is a real find in Wolverhampton.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

food is amazing, décor is very tasteful, presentation also excellent. get in here before it gets so sought after that you'll have to book a year in advance!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tankgirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamilton's Restaurant also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to Hamilton's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing