We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“West park” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Park, Wolverhampton

West Park, Wolverhampton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the few remaining examples of a fine, traditional, unspoilt Victorian municipal park. One of the first in England to set a trend for the provision of areas for specific sporting activities (originally bowls, archery and cricket). 43 acres providing beautifully landscaped green space within a ten minute walk of Wolverhampton city centre. Conservatory, tennis courts, chalet tearooms, boating lake, children's play area, bowling green (located in Park Crescent), disabled access.
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“West park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very lovely well maintained park couldn't see any rubbish anywhere on floor which shows how much effort grounds staff put in.only negative was when we went for a game of tennis all the courts had moss on them and a few of the courts nets were hardly were having up.just needs a good wash down and nets replaced on a couple and would be a really good court

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mmjones19761983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilf P, Manager at West Park, Wolverhampton, responded to this review, 30 December 2014
Hi mmjones19761983 ~ Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. As you know the tennis courts are free use but I'll pass on your comments to the team. ^Wilf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    77
    26
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I really like west park. I like to ride my bike around the pathways and also their is a lot of grass areas for playing games ect Football. Theirs a lot of flowers around the place. It's great to walk dogs. One of the best park in wolverhampton. Fun for all everyone!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wangle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilf P, Manager at West Park, Wolverhampton, responded to this review, 30 December 2014
Hi wangle6 ~ Thank you so much for your 5 star review. Look forward to seeing you in the park again soon. ^Wilf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
1 review
“A wonderful park spoilt by drug addicts who sue the toilets to do their injecting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We planed a lovely birthday picnic tday at west park. We know the park is Beautiful so thought it was the perfect place. On waiting a long time for a free toilet to get water for our dog i wondered what was taking so long,on the door opening it was clear! 2 men came out with all their drug parafanalia falling on the floor by my childrens feet.. Injections etc. Although they were picked up we made a sharp exit. What a shame a beautiful park is spoilt by abuse. Not something i want my children around

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lisa3574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilf P, Manager at West Park, Wolverhampton, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
Lisa - Not an experience we would want you as a visitor or anyone else to experience. Our resources are limited and when a ranger is available, they will make a polite request for a cessation to anti social behaviour. Our local bobbies have also proved very helpful in moving them on. We hope this doesn't prevent you from visiting us again soon. ^Wilf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Need patrol staff and ban alcohol”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely and beautiful in some areas, great to picnic on warm sunny days with family or friends. ...... but be warned parking can be an issue as people park here for free, then walk into town for work or shopping. I no longer feel safe walking alone or with little ones as lots of people gathering drinking and smoking illegal substances from the smells throughout the day....I think alcohol should be banned in the park......also play area overcrowded and children run unsupervised. .....The park is a reflection of the changing and diversity of the now local community so different social behaviour can be witnessed at certain times of the day like urinating on trees and bushes and throwing rubbish anywhere!

Don't go alone, don't take or wear valuables. ....don't get me wrong it's a lovely park close to the city centre and local swimming pool, has a nice lake, good to run/jog around as circular/oval in shape ....but lake/pond needs a sturdy iron fence around it to be completely safe for children and the intoxicated individuals that veer very close to its edge.

I just visit now when they have a show on or a fair attraction? But still with family to be safe!

Helpful?
3 Thank Airplane100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilf P, Manager at West Park, Wolverhampton, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
Airplane100 - It was uncomfortable to read your review. We would never want our visitors to feel unsafe. West Park does fall within a no-alcohol zone but we know that this not always a deterrent. Our resources are limited and when a ranger is available, they will make a polite request for a cessation to anti social behaviour. Our local bobbies have also proved very helpful in moving them on. We hope this doesn't prevent you from visiting us again soon. ^Wilf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Victorian delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

A great place to visit at any time of the year. Beautifully maintained this Victorian Park
has a grade 11 bandstand, a listed conservatory and a lake. There is a great
playground for the children and dogs are welcome,
The City show coming up will welcome thousands of people in July and there are many
events throughout the year.
There is a tearoom and today many people were sitting at tables enjoying the
sunshine.
The boats on the lake have disappeared - due I was told to cuts. but children
were enjoying feeding the ducks.

The rhododenrons are nearly finished flowering but the gardeners have been
busy growing and planting the brightly coloured annuals which they do every
year.

There are lots of benches for people to sit and enjoy the view and plenty of grass
to sunbathe.

Once visited you will come back again and again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JenniferAnne190762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilf P, Manager at West Park, Wolverhampton, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
Jennifer - thank you for your lovely five star review. We're glad that you are still enjoying the park. ^Wilf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Park, Wolverhampton also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to West Park, Wolverhampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing