We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food in Wolverhampton (who would have thought it?)”
Review of The Hungry Bistro

The Hungry Bistro
Ranked #34 of 475 Restaurants in Wolverhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Hungry Bistro is an independent eatery in Wolverhampton City Centre serving up homemade British and travel inspired dishes. Do you like fresh home cooked food at reasonable prices? Do you hate being bamboozled by long menus of microwave food masquerading as "the finest quality"? So do we! At The Hungry Bistro, we serve a short, changing day menu of homemade favourites using only the best, seasonal produce. Feel free to pop down to The Hungry Bistro for a range of light bites, hearty meals, coffees, teas, cakes, wines and beers at the following times: Monday 12:00 - 20:00 Tuesday 12:00 - 20:00 Wednesday 12:00 - 20:00 Thursday 12:00 - 20:00 Friday 12:00 - 20:00 Saturday 12:00 - 20:00 Sunday - Closed
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food in Wolverhampton (who would have thought it?)”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had heard of this place through a friend's recommendation. We went for a pre-theatre meal to celebrate my wife's birthday. The food was lovely; the staff could not do enough to make us happy; the chef even came out to chat to us. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andyc_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    57
    20
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Quaint little place in an ideal location, with a brilliant choice of food and all at reasonable prices. Pleasant friendly owners and an incredibly talented chef. Will visit again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Second time”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Second time at this bistro. This time a busy Friday night Pre theatre. One waitress on we had to ask eventually if we could have our drinks and -we still hadn't got out food nor most of the restaurant at 7pm when show started at 7.30. Two people walked out. When it arrived it was a small desert bowl of pasta for £8.95. Also very spicy when not been advertised as such. A great shame as more staff out front and in the kitchen and decent sized portions would make this place a great addition to the centre.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carrie052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous food and service”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I have eaten at this bistro twice now - once on a quiet lunch time and again tonight for a pre-theatre dinner. Both times I have found the food to be delicious and the staff really warm and friendly. The place was packed tonight and the waitress serving was rushed off her feet but still managed to be really attentive to all tables and offered brilliant service - both my friend and I said that it was lovely to eat somewhere where the staff actually care that you have enjoyed the food and had a good time.

The menu selection is small but seems to be really carefully selected with something to suit everyone, and the lemon cupcakes are divine!

I have just moved back to Wolverhampton from Brighton and have really missed bistro/ cafes with this kind of atmosphere. The Hungry Bistro provides this in Wolverhampton and I'm sure i will be returning soon!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“What Wolverhampton needs more of”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very friendly restaurant bistro in a handy location in Wolverhampton centre. It is great to have an independent venue where the management and staff have put thought into how the place should look, the food and service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyWondering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hungry Bistro also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to The Hungry Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing