We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more can you ask for?”
Review of Barons Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barons Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I have recently stayed twice at this hotel - for 3 nights on both occasions whilst working in that area. I phoned Keith before the first trip and asked him about the street noise that has been mentioned on other reviews and he was more than happy to assure me that he would put me in a quiet room. I had the same room on both visits and could not have been happier. If you want 5* luxury then pay 5* prices!! Keith could not be more friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable with lovely touches like a bottle of water and chocolate biscuits instead of the type you usually get which dry your mouth out and my bathroom was great. Also, there is free internet access which was great for me being away on business. I don't eat breakfast so can't comment but here is ample parking and if it had been summer the back garden has a lovely spot for sitting in. The hotel doesn't have evening meal facilities but Keith is happy for you to take food to your room and he does sell wine and a few types of beer. If I'm down that way again I would not hesitate to stay there

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ring Keith before you travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

We have just spent the night here in Room 10 with Arts & Crafts features. A warm welcome on arrival. Room & bathroom comfortable & clean. Excellent TV Two large radiators. Bottled water, hot drinks & Kit Kats. Very good breakfast (£5) Large lounge. Carpark good. Room not too noisy from roads. Star feature is Keith the very helpful host - nothing is too much trouble!

Room Tip: If you like Arts & Crafts style ask for Room 10!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meoncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Just booked for a one night trip for the two of us attending a wedding in the area. Wonderful hotel, with great communal areas, garden. Bedroom was pretty basic but clean with a good sized bathroom and bed so no complaints.
A great selection for breakfasts so happy all around! Can't beat it for the £50 or so for the two of us.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ_Middx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I found this unusual place on 'laterooms' and it seemed the best choice for a nights stay en route to Wales with my daughter, and to show her where I went to Uni 20 years ago. But you never know until you are there. It is on quite a busy road but surprisingly quiet and very characterful large old house which has been family run for a long time. It was not clinical and business-like the way many big places are but still had that hotel feel, rather than b and b. The proprietor was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the history. It is not very plush, but perfectly comfortable except the beds but we were told there were new mattresses arriving the next day. There were KitKats in the hospitality tray! which I have never seen. We had the large lounge to ourselves and watched a film. Facilities were fine. On a good day the garden would be very enjoyable. There was an easygoing relaxed atmosphere and we were not disturbed. And the price was excellent! I would come again. Recommended.

Room Tip: Even though we were facing the road it was quiet enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pushan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed 23rd Sept 2011. On aprroach to hotel it looked very nice. We were shown to our room which was room No2. Well must say it was very basic in much need of decoration.We left our bags as we were in a rush to get to a party we were invited to. On our return to the hotel we noticed on the floor blood stains in the carpet also when the throw on the bed was removed further blood stains were evident, now surely the maid should have noticed this when the bed linen was changed.Just not good enough!!! Bathroom is outdated.Also as stated previously the whole room is in need of a full uplift.Road noise was bad as the room is situated on main road.Breakfast was of a good standard no complaints.Just felt a little disappointed with the room.Would we recommend this hotel to friends afraid to say No!! due to our expereince. Total cost was £45 for two including breakfast like they say you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graham d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woottonbch, Owner at Barons Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay, and would like to outline what is happening at our Hotel over the next three months. We are currently in the process of refurbishing all the rooms and that work should be finished in that time. 90% of all bathrooms have been renewed. It is unfortunate that the room you were allocated has not yet been through that process, and we accept that this affected your stay. With reference to the stains found I total agree that the maid should have noticed and dealt with them accordingly. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and can only apologise for the slip up on this occasion, and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

My husband found the Barons Court Hotel on this website and booked it, as we wanted to stay near to the University where my son was graduating from. My daughter and I shared a double room, which was clean with a lovely bathroom. Lots of tea/coffee to make ourselves. The bathroon appeared to be fairly newly decorated. The breakfast (£5) a head was very good value for money. I/we will return. My husband and son shared a twin room on the first floor, which also seemed clean and comfortable.
We had asked if we could leave the car in the car park after we checked out (on the morning of the graduation) which we were alowed to do, and we were also given a room to change out of glad rags before we drove south again.
I am sure we will be back again, when my son graduated from a postgraduate course next sept.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stcrispins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Traveling with my family in England we have found this wonderful special Hotel. Too bad that we could enjoy the hospitality of the owners for 2 nights only. Surely we must go back for several days. The atmosphere of the place, the peace and serenity that we breathe, the warmth and hospitality of the owners and staff, the breakfast plentiful and prepared with local produce, ....... everything was perfect.
We recommend this Hotel, visit it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giuseppe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
1.3 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#7 of 21 in Wolverhampton
973 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#2 of 21 in Wolverhampton
883 reviews
1.4 mi away
A Park View Hotel
A Park View Hotel
#3 of 21 in Wolverhampton
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 21 in Wolverhampton
972 reviews
1.4 mi away
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
#16 of 21 in Wolverhampton
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barons Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barons Court Hotel

Address: 142 Goldthorn Hill | Blakenhall, Wolverhampton WV2 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wolverhampton
#1 Business Hotel in Wolverhampton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wolverhampton
Price Range: £33 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barons Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find our lovely 3-Star Hotel in Wolverhampton which is a traditional Edwardian building only 1 mile from Wolverhampton City Centre in the WV2 postcode. We offer single, twin and double rooms all of which are en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Barons Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barons Court Wolverhampton
Hotel Barons Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing