We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic & Very friendly”
Review of Barons Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barons Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic & Very friendly”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this lovely hotel 10 days ago and it was excellent. The owner is very pleasant and i was welcomed lovely. The room was brilliant. Big and spacious with 32" flatscreen samsung TV (all freeview channels). Very clean. Bathroom very modern. Quiet night sleep and comfortable bed. 5 minute walk to the local shops. I will definately stay here again if i am back down Wolverhampton.

Thank you for the stay. Charles J

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    107
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
75
160
55
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here with my 17 year old daughter, as we had a gig to to to at The Robin 2, lovely place to stay. Room was enough for our one night stay. We loved the decor, something you don't see very often. Being Christmas, the decorations were up which made the place even more homely. Breakfast was enjoyable. I had scrambled eggs on toast, mmmmmm is all I can say. If staying in this area again, would definitely go back. Thanks Keith for a lovely stay :o) x

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette4angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chobham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I have been to Wolverhampton a number of times and I have not stayed in any really good hotels there. This scores best on Trip Advisor so I tried it. It is a converted large house in a residential area. The room was small but reasonably presented. The features and breakfast were all reasonable also

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyBryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

What a lovely hotel Barons Court turned out to be!
I stay in Wolverhampton occasionally on business, and generally end up in a characterless corporate place, but I noticed barons court on line and it looked interesting, as well as good value, so I booked a twin room for a one night stay.
Small private hotels can be very variable, and I've stayed in some stinkers in my time, hence the usual "safe" corporate hotels, but I do like a bit of character, and this hotel has it in spades!
The building was originally a very classy Edwardian gentleman's residence, and the hotel conversion on the listed building is very sympathetic, with original features carefully preserved and a real "roaring twenties" ambience.
My young son and I got a lovely warm welcome and the manager was very helpful, friendly and polite.
There is a decent sized private car park.
The sitting room was lovely and our twin room was charming and sympathetically decorated to match the style of the hotel. The room had a good sized modern en-suite too.
It does feel very much like you are a house guest as there is such a warm homely atmosphere (I mean this as a compliment).
Due to an early start, we were unable to sample the breakfast, but the dining room looked lovely.
There is a very good Indian restaurant (Penn Tandoori, the manager gave us a 10%discount card) 10 minutes walk away, along with several other shops and a pub, but the hotel itself is in a largely residential area, so expect a 5 minute taxi ride into town if you want some nightlife.
Overall, I loved our stay here, and for me personally I can't think of a more pleasant hotel in Wolverhampton, although I guess from the one or two poor reviews on here from people who don't understand the decor, etc, it won't be everybody's cup of tea.
I, for one, hope to be a regular.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed for one night to go out in Bilston (c £5 taxi one way). Very good value for money. Clean and well-cared for (rooms and common parts), not battererd or worn. Single rooms not palatial but larger than you might expect with good sized bathroom (inc bath, as well as shower attachment) and wardrobe/storage space. Not at all claustrophobic. Very responsive and effective heating. Well furnished lobby/lounge area - timber beams, leather chairs etc. Welcoming - for example - willing to serve you drinks but also will provide glasses if you bring your own to drink in lounge or room, likewise willing provide plates if you order takeaway food etc. Easy to find on main road on a corner with easy free offstreet parking round the back in a walled off area adjacent to the hotel garden - it all felt safe. Free internet access.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at Barons Court for two nights in early November. The house is lovely and our room was large and comfortable, though the chairs could have been more comfortable. There was a big lounge for the use of residents and extra tea and coffee was available on a table in the corridor outside our room. The manager was very helpful and the choice and standard of breakfast, at £7 on top of the room price, was excellent. Convenient for the whole Wolverhampton area, with onsite parking.

Room Tip: We had what was once the master bedroom, with two single beds on opposite sides of the room. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have used this hotel 3 years on the run now as we have been going to Wolverhampton races for my birthday.
We booked 8 rooms, as a group of us were going, one couple had to drop out last minute & really we should have paid but it was resold last minute so we didn't have to pay in the end, which shows the honesty of the hotel, as they didn't have to tell us that.
Keith is very pleasant, he has a quick chat with you, but you can see he is basically running this single handedly so he hasn't got time to stand around making pleasantries.
It's a homely hotel, and doesn't have a bar & all the things which a lot of people want in an hotel, but we love it as it has a lot of character, clean & good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolverhampton
2.7 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 21 in Wolverhampton
755 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#6 of 21 in Wolverhampton
906 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 21 in Wolverhampton
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
#16 of 21 in Wolverhampton
190 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ely House Hotel
Ely House Hotel
#5 of 21 in Wolverhampton
261 reviews
10.2 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barons Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barons Court Hotel

Property: Barons Court Hotel
Address: 142 Goldthorn Hill | Blakenhall, Wolverhampton WV2 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wolverhampton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wolverhampton
#1 Family Hotel in Wolverhampton
#1 Business Hotel in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Barons Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find our lovely 3-Star Hotel in Wolverhampton which is a traditional Edwardian building only 1 mile from Wolverhampton City Centre in the WV2 postcode. We offer single, twin and double rooms all of which are en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barons Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barons Court Wolverhampton
Hotel Barons Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing