We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea ”
Review of York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
York Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend the afternoon tea at the York hotel, everything freshly made, lovely intimate setting but best of all fantastic service
We were made to feel at home had 3 generations to cater for from 0-80 years old we all had a fabulous afternoon will defiantly return

Stayed: February 2014
Thank mummyfieldhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

We hired this venue for a small private function this weekend. The service has been excellent from the moment we enquired in summer through to going through the menu and plan for the evening.
Each member of staff were aware of our booking every time we called in and and couldn't do enough to make sure that our requirements were met
The food on the night was excellent and the rooms were arranged beautifully
The staff helped to make our evening a memorable one. Thank you to you all!!
We would definitely recommend the York to anyone planning a special party or function

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolvojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Excellent hotel...friendly knowledgeable staff... sumptuous rooms, window draping and chandeliers!!! firm comfortable beds with decent linen count .... electric showers that think they are power-showers... clean, quiet and well worth a visit. Bistro style "a la carte" restaurant with separate bar area....and a reciprocal arrangement with curry house next door...posh take out on a plate... Oh Yeah..Sky TV and Free Internet..... plus off road parking

Happy Guest and will be visiting again... can't wait for breakfast

Under new management and staff roles this Hotel is working hard to take it beyond it's allocated rating, they are carrying out a series of tweaks to get this beautiful building back to not just shiny but sparkling!

If you are staying and find an issue in your room...don't just have a moan about it on here. Tell the staff.. they have a snagging list... if they don't know how can they fix it?

No I don't work for they but as a naturally chatty person I do speak to people, and having worked in the industry I know how hard it is. Long hard hours for little reward, and one of the hardest things is managing peoples expectations with a smile...and The York does this excellently!

I have worked in 5* Hotels who could learn a thing or two from these guys.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I had the misfortune to stay here for two days ! The twin room that I stayed in the first night had that dirty smell ! The decor made it look like a brothel , the bed had pubic hair left in between the sheets , which were unironed and very creased , the central heating was turned off at 9pm and not turned on in the morning .I was given another room on the second night which did not smell but was VERY COLD .Again , no heating in the morning .... Travellers BEWARE

Room Tip: You would be better staying in a youth hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GKWALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkHotel, Manager at York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Would like to assure all guests we do have heating!! Would also like to thank the guest for sharing his excellent knowledge of brothels, we will look to change the decor ,from what we thought was tasteful decor (in fact its pictured in the gallery above picture number 2).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Rarely in today's world do you find someone who truly understands the value of and delivers genuine Customer Care, who is prepared to to that extra mile. The Receptionist at York (Hana) is one such special person. I 'lost' my recently departed Dad's wedding ring when staying there on Saturday night. With the circumstances explained, Hana took responsibility and ended up trawling through the rubbish bins and bags to find and retrieve the ring. It's not the worth of the ring - it was old and worse for wear - but the sentimental value. Hana - many thanks. Yes the York was good, but it's the staff that make it tick!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great Night in the York Hotel, arrived about 6.30pm - the lady at reception was really helpful told us where to get some food from (five minute walk) then let us eat our fish and chips in the bar area.

Room was lovely and spacious £65 for kingsize including breakfast - bargain only negative bathroom shower not so clean and the blinds didnt keep out enough light so had to use the curtains which were really just for show.

doubt we will stay in wolverhampton again but if we do will definately be at the York Hotel.

Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We paid a tenner extra for a superior room - and it was fab: huge room with bay window, lots of space, fridge, tea and coffee facilities. Check in quick and easy, very friendly member of staff - we told her we had to leave before breakfast so she placed cereals/juice/milk in our room the night before so we wouldn't miss out. Handy location for the awesome Mother India Punjab restaurant next door and not far from the racecourse. We parked at the back for free.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
1.4 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#2 of 21 in Wolverhampton
890 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Wolverhampton - Racecourse
0.8 mi away
Ely House Hotel
Ely House Hotel
#6 of 21 in Wolverhampton
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
A Park View Hotel
A Park View Hotel
#3 of 21 in Wolverhampton
355 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wolverhampton
479 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wolverhampton North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Hotel

Address: 138 Tettenhall Road, Wolverhampton WV6 0BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Price Range: £50 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — York Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished to exceptionally high standards offering the best unique rooms in Wolverhampton at great value. Handy for all local amenities, including city centre and race course. SKY TV & WiFi available in all rooms, superior rooms offer SKY Sports. Each room is equipped with Tea & Coffee making facilities plus a mini fridge.Our restaurant is now open Monday - Thursday serving hot food to residents & the public. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Hotel Wolverhampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing