We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very slow service and noisy, sitting outside” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minnow

Minnow
Ranked #35 of 79 Restaurants in Weybridge
Price range: US$11 - US$125
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very slow service and noisy, sitting outside”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We took our parents here for a meal on a tuesday night. We decided to sit outside as it was nice evening. This was a mistake. 1. Even though early, we had to go in several times to get even a drink order taken, even though we had been in and confirmed our phone reservation and asked if we could sit outside. 2. We found a party of about 16 subsequently sat next to us - friendly, but very noisy (maybe not the restaurant's issue, but a surprise to us. The restaurant does nothing to put large parties in one area or manage the external seating) 3. As the place got busier, it felt as if we were being ignored as we were not in a big group or in the centre of the outdoor area.
The food was reasonably good but the wait and the noise, with people bumping in to us at the table was an unpleasant experience, with an almost curt server even when we tried to connect with them. This is my first negative review out of a number of reviews on trip-advisor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank calgary_visitor_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    151
    109
    77
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They need staff training!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were at this restaurant on Saturday 22nd June, It was very busy and the girl who served us just couldn't cope, first she forgot to get our drinks, then left us with finished starter plates in front of us for ages, before asking if we would like dessert even though we hadn't had our main courses yet! Other people around us were also complaining about the length of time everything took and the poor service.
The food when it arrived was not that bad although the meagre portion of custard with the crumble was a bit mean - you do need lashings of custard with a crumble!
Overall - it was a really disappointing evening, my observation is that they definitely need to look at their staff training. This girl clearly was not in her comfort zone at all.
We won't be going again and will not be able to recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 508Ann66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I had the Portobello mushrooms with melted cheese, the mushrooms were supposed to be roasted, and you kind of expect them to be the big ones, maybe with the cheese melting in the middle. Not so, chopped mushrooms on toast with crumbled cheese that hadn't been under the grill long enough to melt. Hmm.
For the next course I had the triple roast, the waitress spilt most of the gravy on the floor before she served me, a shame as I really needed it because the chicken was so dry. The accompanying bacon wrapped sausage was absolutely stone cold. The beef was over cooked but the pork was ok. My husband had a steak, he asked for it rare and it came medium, the accompanying peppercorn sauce looked and tasted as if it had come out of a catering jar.
At this point we declined desert or coffee and cut our losses. Despite that they still fleeced us for £60 for the experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank okeydokey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottershaw
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

It is getting increasingly difficult to find restarants and pubs that tick the good food and ambience box. This did both. Although very noisy as there was a large group enjoying themselves. The service was very good and the two ladies that served us were very attentive and chatty. The food was of a good standard and tasted a Romanian Sauvignon blanc that was rather delisous and reasonable. I look forward to going there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chatty3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Manager Needed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lovely sunny day, arrived sat in garden, perfect. The we waited 3/4 hr before waiter arrived. 45 mins later starters served, over an hour later we had main course. Table filthy, asked for it to be cleaned, ignored. It was lunch time so must been left from previous day.
Perfect location but will not return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Minnow also viewed

 
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
 
Weybridge, Surrey
Shepperton, Surrey
 

Been to Minnow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing