We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Rams Head - on the horns of a dilemma?”
Review of The Rams Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warrington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rams Head Inn
Ranked #3 of 14 Warrington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Had dinner there on 5th December. The first thing I noticed, having been there a number of times before, was how quiet it was. The initial service and reception were very good, but at 8 o'clock the guy who had been serving us came over and said that he was going off duty and the manager would be looking after us. How wrong he was! The promised dessert menu arrived 15 minutes afterwards and only after a reminder. A further long wait for the order to be taken and then when the dessert plates were removed, despite asking for it at the time a further 15-minute wait for the bill to be presented After yet another 15 minutes no-one came for the bill, so I had to go to the counter to pay. No apologies, no explanation.

The only redeeming feature was that the food was excellent.

They now have music on, which is fair enough, but perhaps because of this, or the inexperience of the staff, the restaurant side of the business seems to have taken a back seat. I suggest the owners decide whether they want the place to be a music venue or a restaurant and then set about getting it right.

Whatever they decide, I won't be going back, that's for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tango15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have dined here twice recently, the latter being on 24-Nov-13 and compared to a visit 12 months ago, the dining experience has improved 100%. The food is top quality, good size portions and well presented, and it's a pleasure to be served by cheerful and friendly staff.
We dine out twice a week and The Rams head is now back on our regular places to eat list.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Heard the Rams Head had really gone off in recent months. As the Parr Arms was full we eat in the Rams Head, they had 6 cask ales on offer which is an excellent choice. The food we had was also excellent. In all a good experience. Well done for pulling your socks up. The only major downer was that one of the cask ales had gone off, which was exchanged without question...but....they continued to sell the off ale to other customers as I saw one gentleman take the same beer back as well...very bad form that...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bearfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I'm a local and have watched the sad demise of the rams over the last three years or so - the latest 'new owners' tried hard for 6 months without any great success but now have a winning team with a great new chef and young management team . Lady nights meal / the tripod lamb - was terrific . Give the rams a chance and prepare to be pleasantly surprised .

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Just had a meal with friends. Thought the food was very disappointing. Overpriced and quality not what we expected. Staff were very friendly, but will not be returning. Can I suggest that you change the fat in the frier as it had obviously seen better days!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Rams Head Inn is an unpretentious village pub with rooms. The rooms are comfortable. The food is good pub food. Breakfast is Full English. The pub atmosphere and the beer are good but best of all the staff and the patrons are very friendly. We stayed here for a few days, and when we came back a week or so later, it was like walking into a friends home, such was the warmth of the greeting and such was our warm memory of the people we'd met and the friendly service we'd received on our previous stay.

Room Tip: It's a pub, not a 5 star hotel, but the rooms are a reasonable size, the beds are comfortable an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Just had lunch in the Ram's Head. Must say the service has improved a lot since having a meal there in the summer when the new management took over. I had the Swordfish steak, recommended. My wife had the Beef Sunday roast which she enjoyed too.Will return in the near future. A good selection of real ales too!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Shakers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warrington hotels
2.2 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#7 of 22 in Warrington
2,194 reviews
2.5 mi away
The School House Bed & Breakfast
2.5 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Happy Guests Lodge
Happy Guests Lodge
#1 of 1 in Dutton
174 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Warrington
Holiday Inn Warrington
#13 of 22 in Warrington
652 reviews
3.7 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#5 of 22 in Warrington
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rams Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rams Head Inn

Address: Church Lane | Grappenhall and Thelwall, Warrington WA4 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Warrington
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Rams Head Inn Warrington, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing