We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday evening”
Review of The Rams Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warrington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rams Head Inn
Ranked #3 of 14 Warrington B&B and Inns
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday evening”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

A group of us (9 adults, 7 children) visited and ate this evening.

This is a lovely, friendly, relaxed venue which feels like so much more than a local pub.

The Sunday roast was excellent, (with a variety of options) as was the gammon eaten by other members of the party.

Service was accommodating and unobtrusive and we were given the impression that nothing was too much trouble.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alijanpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    18
    3
    9
    21
See reviews for
42
21
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We visited the Rams Head on Sunday afternoon with the family and I must express what a fantastic time we had! The food was fantastic (I would recommend trying the prawns!) and the service was brilliant (very attentive and helpful).

Certainly worth a visit!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Went to the Rams Head after hearing about the recent improvements (as we are often up that way with work). Well we weren't disappointed, lovely surroundings and a friendly welcome. This was followed by some great tasty food at a good price, we had the bangers and mash (lovely locally sourced sausages - we were informed by our waiter) and the gammon and chips was really nice too. They have really improved this place and the new team there make a big difference. We will be visiting again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We used the Rams Head on recommendation as a good place to have refreshments for our late mothers wake. I have to admit we were nervous wether the choice was the right one following the comments left by some on trip advisor but nevertheless trusted our friends opinion as a good place to use.

I am pleased to say the food was excellent, brought out at the precise time requested and delivered by very polite staff. It was an enormous relief to my sister and I all went without any hitch and that many people commented to us how impressed they were.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Andrew W

The Rams is back!

Visited the Rams over the festive period with family and had a great meal
and several drinks too! What a difference the food is, we were introduced to
the new head chef (really nice guy who clearly cares about the food) and the
waiting staff were personable and engaging. Had one of the fish specials,
whole trout which was delicious. Over the last few years the Rams has been
through good times and bad but the good times are definitely back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Very poor Christmas day lunch. Rams Head was also open for bar customers so those lunch customers who had a table on edge of room had bar customers stood close around their table as they dined. Service was appalling. 40mins after sitting down we had not been offered food or drink (and others had waited longer than us!) This was not the fault of staff who were working very hard. They were understaffed and the manager was apparently at home (he obviously knew better than to choose The Rams Head for his Xmas lunch!) Tables were crammed together, no festive atmosphere and food was at best average. Very disappointing compared with previous experience at other hotels in same price bracket.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Warrington hotels

Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We used the Rams Head on recommendation as good place to have refreshments for our mothers Wake. I have to admit we were nervous wether the choice was the right one following the comments left by some on trip advisor but nevertheless trusted our friends opinion as a good place to use.

I am pleased to say the food was excellent, brought out at the precise time requested and delivered by very polite staff. It was an enormous relief to my sister and I all went without any hitch and that many people commented to us how impressed they were.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrington
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
453 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,452 reviews
2.2 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#9 of 21 in Warrington
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Lymm Hotel
The Lymm Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lymm
852 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Warrington
Travelodge Warrington
#12 of 21 in Warrington
207 reviews
2.0 mi away
Statham Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rams Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rams Head Inn

Property: The Rams Head Inn
Address: Church Lane | Grappenhall and Thelwall, Warrington WA4 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Warrington
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Rams Head Inn Warrington, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing