We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place could be such a winner but fails!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chat Moss Hotel

Chat Moss Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chat Moss Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This place could be such a winner but fails!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We ate at the Chat Moss for a family celebration meal, there were 8 of us. On arriving at the Chat Moss, it looks lovely from the outside, with a good sized attractive beer garden to the back. However, on entering the pub we were nearly bowled over by an awful smell of dampness and staleness which was very offputting. As we were being treated, we didn't dare walk out, although we wanted to. Furnishings are dated and in dire need of redecoration throughout. The food was good and the serving staff friendly and helpful. If they could just spruce the place up and get rid of the awful smell they would be sitting on gold mine!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
7
7
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Lovely meal - 2 main courses and a free bottle of wine. The service was great. Even though the staff were very busy they were very welcoming and pleasant!
The beer garden looks great and there's plenty of secure, free space for the children to play.
We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELB234a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
222 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We have passed this pub so many times but never until last week gone in, which was upon a recommendation from a friend.

Clearly a local pub but had a separate dining area, which was light and airy. Good menu selection with mains on average £7. Food was great and had absolutely no issues, and everything was really fresh.

I was served at the bar by I think the owner and also the chef, and he was really friendly and efficient.

This is a Marstons pub but not the same as the newly built ones, which are generally 2-4-1.

Overall, a great meal and a lovely pub. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suesreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Called into the Chat Moss for some lunch. Nice pub, a little oldy worldly but nice and clean. Food was reasonably priced. 2 meals for £10 not bad at all. The pub is nice and clean and the staff really friendly. Would recommend this pub for a quiet drink and something to eat. Not really a young persons place!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Called at 2.15 on the way back from Bents garden centre on Wed, not knowing the lunches finished at 2pm. The landlord could not have been more accommodating and immediately asked chef if he could serve us. Thankfully, he said yes and we were brought delicious food at an amazing price. I chose the gammon, egg and chips which was delicious and so big it was hanging off the plate! My husband had burger and chips with garnish which he thoroughly enjpyed. The 2 meals on a ''meal deal'' came to the princely sum of £10. The service was warm and friendly, the dining room smart, clean and comfortable. Like other reviewers, we really are surprised to read the negative comments. Don't know what the B and B is like but can not recommend this place for value for money, highly enough. Will definitely be returning!
ps A cracking red wine too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandhim2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

I cannot understand the other poor reviews, I stayed here with my partner for a few nights before Christmas and found it to be an excellent place to stay, a great location for travel to Manchester (20 mins by car) or Liverpool (20 mins by train from Birchwood station, 10 mins away). The staff bent over backwards to help us get to the various places we needed to go. We ate there every day, breakfast and dinner, the choice for dinner was really varied with a constantly changing "specials" board. If you like your "real ales" you can't go wrong with a varied selection and a guest beer which I was told changes every week. Our room was spotless and cleaned every day.

Overall a great location, great staff, great food and a great room.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beemar57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

This was THE WORST BED & BREAKFAST i have ever stayed at. The owner was rude and abrupt and refused to serve breakfast even though we had all paid for breakfast with our booking. The rooms were disgustingly dirty and the noise emanating from downstairs through the night meant it was impossible to sleep.AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian_o_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Warrington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrington
1.0 mi away
The Greyhound Hotel
The Greyhound Hotel
#2 of 2 in Leigh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
7.2 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#10 of 21 in Warrington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
6.6 mi away
Villaggio
Villaggio
#15 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#4 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chat Moss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chat Moss Hotel

Property: Chat Moss Hotel
Address: 207 Warrington Road | Glazebury, Warrington WA3 5LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edit The Chat Moss Hotel is a large beautiful pub and restaurant with 3 ensuite twin rooms and 2 ensuite single rooms, all rooms are on the first floor, disabled access to the ground floor only. Each room has, free view TV, free WiFi, tea and coffee facilities and ensuite with shower. The bar has a good selection of traditional pub food, wines, spirits, real ales and draft beers. We also have daily offers, thyme nights, weekly compertions, dart board, pool table and live sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chat Moss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chat Moss Hotel Warrington, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing