We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Dear”
Review of Chat Moss Hotel

Chat Moss Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chat Moss Hotel
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Warrington
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Took a schoolfriend for a drink (we are both 60+) on a Monday evening. Place was quiet as expected. We both noticed a strong smell, I thought damp, friend thought drains. Had a couple of pints of well kept Breakspear but noticed a largish rat scuttling between the lounge and the restaurant !

We drew both to the attention of the landlord. He said he'd brought the smell, which was drains, to the attention of the brewery several months ago but they hadn't fixed it, the pest control company had been in recently to sort out the rats ! Poor bloke was at his wits end and said he wasn't too bothered because he was leaving next week.

This is a lovely historic building in a quiet village but is it any wonder that pubs are closing

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Frankcanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristian H, Assistant Manager at Chat Moss Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2015

Dear Frankcanoe

Since your visit to The Chat Moss last year's the pub has changed hand and the new License C and my self are aworking hard to bring the pub back to its former glory.

I wish to apologise for the experience you had at The Chat Moss and that no one has adressed your review untill now.

Be rest asured that the issues you mentioned in your review have been delt with and all though there is still along way to go to get the Chat Moss back the way is should be we would be most grateful if you if you would give he chance to change your view of us and possibly your review.

Hope to see you soon
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

We ate at the Chat Moss for a family celebration meal, there were 8 of us. On arriving at the Chat Moss, it looks lovely from the outside, with a good sized attractive beer garden to the back. However, on entering the pub we were nearly bowled over by an awful smell of dampness and staleness which was very offputting. As we were being treated, we didn't dare walk out, although we wanted to. Furnishings are dated and in dire need of redecoration throughout. The food was good and the serving staff friendly and helpful. If they could just spruce the place up and get rid of the awful smell they would be sitting on gold mine!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Lovely meal - 2 main courses and a free bottle of wine. The service was great. Even though the staff were very busy they were very welcoming and pleasant!
The beer garden looks great and there's plenty of secure, free space for the children to play.
We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELB234a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We have passed this pub so many times but never until last week gone in, which was upon a recommendation from a friend.

Clearly a local pub but had a separate dining area, which was light and airy. Good menu selection with mains on average £7. Food was great and had absolutely no issues, and everything was really fresh.

I was served at the bar by I think the owner and also the chef, and he was really friendly and efficient.

This is a Marstons pub but not the same as the newly built ones, which are generally 2-4-1.

Overall, a great meal and a lovely pub. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suesreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Called into the Chat Moss for some lunch. Nice pub, a little oldy worldly but nice and clean. Food was reasonably priced. 2 meals for £10 not bad at all. The pub is nice and clean and the staff really friendly. Would recommend this pub for a quiet drink and something to eat. Not really a young persons place!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Called at 2.15 on the way back from Bents garden centre on Wed, not knowing the lunches finished at 2pm. The landlord could not have been more accommodating and immediately asked chef if he could serve us. Thankfully, he said yes and we were brought delicious food at an amazing price. I chose the gammon, egg and chips which was delicious and so big it was hanging off the plate! My husband had burger and chips with garnish which he thoroughly enjpyed. The 2 meals on a ''meal deal'' came to the princely sum of £10. The service was warm and friendly, the dining room smart, clean and comfortable. Like other reviewers, we really are surprised to read the negative comments. Don't know what the B and B is like but can not recommend this place for value for money, highly enough. Will definitely be returning!
ps A cracking red wine too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meandhim2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I cannot understand the other poor reviews, I stayed here with my partner for a few nights before Christmas and found it to be an excellent place to stay, a great location for travel to Manchester (20 mins by car) or Liverpool (20 mins by train from Birchwood station, 10 mins away). The staff bent over backwards to help us get to the various places we needed to go. We ate there every day, breakfast and dinner, the choice for dinner was really varied with a constantly changing "specials" board. If you like your "real ales" you can't go wrong with a varied selection and a guest beer which I was told changes every week. Our room was spotless and cleaned every day.

Overall a great location, great staff, great food and a great room.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beemar57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrington
3.3 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#5 of 22 in Warrington
1,350 reviews
3.1 mi away
Warrington Lowton
Warrington Lowton
#16 of 22 in Warrington
134 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#9 of 22 in Warrington
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Greyhound Hotel
The Greyhound Hotel
#2 of 2 in Leigh
461 reviews
7.2 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#8 of 22 in Warrington
1,975 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chat Moss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chat Moss Hotel

Address: 207 Warrington Road | Glazebury, Warrington WA3 5LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Warrington
Price Range: £53 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edit The Chat Moss Hotel is a large beautiful pub and restaurant with 3 ensuite twin rooms and 2 ensuite single rooms, all rooms are on the first floor, disabled access to the ground floor only. Each room has, free view TV, free WiFi, tea and coffee facilities and ensuite with shower. The bar has a good selection of traditional pub food, wines, spirits, real ales and draft beers. We also have daily offers, thyme nights, weekly compertions, dart board, pool table and live sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chat Moss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chat Moss Hotel Warrington, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing