We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and good value Pub Food”
Review of Chat Moss Hotel

Chat Moss Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chat Moss Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Manchester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent and good value Pub Food”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Lovely food, pleasant eating area, Surf and Turf was £8.95 and the steak was cooked perfectly and the portion not skimped on. Good choice which I thought was excellent value. The dining area was also quite busy which I feel reflects that this has improved from the previous reviews. Slightly let down bit a very long wait for desserts - hence the four stars, but these were also lovely and worth waiting for.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassieopea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
7
7
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Myself and my partner decided to take a drive and while out spotted the pub and stopped for lunch. We had two courses each and both really tasty! We ended up staying for most of the day. Beer garden is beautiful, restaurant nice and modern and pub traditional with a warm friendly atmosphere. New owners very welcoming and friendly, they even showed us round the B&B rooms.
Would definitely recommend and will certainly will be going back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Well we stopped in this place for one night with the new owners who took over a week ago the food was fantastic had two meals there no smell in the eating place and the bear was cheap,there was a bit of smell but give the new owners a chance they have worked hard and cleaned it top to bottom the old ppl who were there were sacked they had a big smelly dog and they smoked in there but give it a month and it will be best place around there we will be staying there every two weeks in future,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Having drank in this public house I find it very hard to understand how the standard of basic cleaning has dropped over the last two years the smell within the building is really off putting how they are allowed to serve food is beyond me the general appearance of the pub is really poor and now we have seen rats in the dining room and also on the car park. This pub has turned into a utter dump.

Room Tip: Stay well clear
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Warrington hotels

Warrington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Took a schoolfriend for a drink (we are both 60+) on a Monday evening. Place was quiet as expected. We both noticed a strong smell, I thought damp, friend thought drains. Had a couple of pints of well kept Breakspear but noticed a largish rat scuttling between the lounge and the restaurant !

We drew both to the attention of the landlord. He said he'd brought the smell, which was drains, to the attention of the brewery several months ago but they hadn't fixed it, the pest control company had been in recently to sort out the rats ! Poor bloke was at his wits end and said he wasn't too bothered because he was leaving next week.

This is a lovely historic building in a quiet village but is it any wonder that pubs are closing

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankcanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristian H, Assistant Manager at Chat Moss Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2015
Dear Frankcanoe

Since your visit to The Chat Moss last year's the pub has changed hand and the new License C and my self are aworking hard to bring the pub back to its former glory.

I wish to apologise for the experience you had at The Chat Moss and that no one has adressed your review untill now.

Be rest asured that the issues you mentioned in your review have been delt with and all though there is still along way to go to get the Chat Moss back the way is should be we would be most grateful if you if you would give he chance to change your view of us and possibly your review.

Hope to see you soon
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We ate at the Chat Moss for a family celebration meal, there were 8 of us. On arriving at the Chat Moss, it looks lovely from the outside, with a good sized attractive beer garden to the back. However, on entering the pub we were nearly bowled over by an awful smell of dampness and staleness which was very offputting. As we were being treated, we didn't dare walk out, although we wanted to. Furnishings are dated and in dire need of redecoration throughout. The food was good and the serving staff friendly and helpful. If they could just spruce the place up and get rid of the awful smell they would be sitting on gold mine!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Lovely meal - 2 main courses and a free bottle of wine. The service was great. Even though the staff were very busy they were very welcoming and pleasant!
The beer garden looks great and there's plenty of secure, free space for the children to play.
We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELB234a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrington
1.0 mi away
The Greyhound Hotel
The Greyhound Hotel
#2 of 2 in Leigh
431 reviews
3.3 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#5 of 21 in Warrington
1,254 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Warrington Lowton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Gullivers Hotel
The Gullivers Hotel
#7 of 21 in Warrington
524 reviews
7.2 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#10 of 21 in Warrington
1,706 reviews
7.2 mi away
Patten Arms Hotel
Patten Arms Hotel
#20 of 21 in Warrington
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chat Moss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chat Moss Hotel

Property: Chat Moss Hotel
Address: 207 Warrington Road | Glazebury, Warrington WA3 5LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edit The Chat Moss Hotel is a large beautiful pub and restaurant with 3 ensuite twin rooms and 2 ensuite single rooms, all rooms are on the first floor, disabled access to the ground floor only. Each room has, free view TV, free WiFi, tea and coffee facilities and ensuite with shower. The bar has a good selection of traditional pub food, wines, spirits, real ales and draft beers. We also have daily offers, thyme nights, weekly compertions, dart board, pool table and live sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chat Moss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chat Moss Hotel Warrington, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing