We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel for a night or two with a fantastic breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
pentahotel Warrington
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Warrington
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were attending a wedding in Warrington f/b the reception in nearby Culcheth. The location was perfect for this but a bit odd for anything else apart from business travel. Excellent for the price we paid though a little irritated to have to pay £6 extra for parking. It is definitely not the town centre though a shopping mall (with Asda) was only a mile or so away.
The duvet was very thin and I asked for an extra layer and was promptly brought a blanket which was fine. Could have done with 2 pillows each but managed.
The main positives: clean, good tv, good reading light, convenient, great young staff on reception/bar, with to my mind stunning decor just to my taste (check out the loos off the restaurant!) and the breakfast had to be the best of ANY hotel I have ever stayed in and I've stayed in quite a few.
One point that might be helpful - Our SatNav did not recognise the postal address (street or postcode!) A quick call to the hotel gave Faraday Street as an alternative and we found our way there with ease.
Great wedding by the way!

Room Tip: I think the rooms are all pretty standard. It was very quiet when we were there (Fri to Sun) so mad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandie7Sim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, General Manager at pentahotel Warrington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi Sandie7Sim

Thanks for your post. It was great to hear how much you enojyed our breakfast offering!

I'm glad you shared the sat nav details - something I will now look into!

I hope the happy couple enojyed their day and the team at penta look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Regards

Nicola

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,233 - 1,239 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

If you are paying £124 (plus £3 parking) a night and expecting a 4 star hotel you will probably be very disappointed. If you are paying £39 and expecting a stylish travellodge you will be very happy. if you want a 4 star hotel for less money go to Cottons in knutsford. I paid an extra £10 for a superior room which I think meant I got a towel dressing gown. Lumpy pillows as another reviewer has said. Nice view of an industrial unit and pretty noisy plant near by.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mebedbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, General Manager at pentahotel Warrington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks Mebedbug for sharing your recent experience with us.

I am disappointed that we were unable to make your stay more enjoyable on this occasion. Your feedback is important to us so that we can continue to make improvements for all our guests.

Best Regards

Nicola

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is located in the middle of a modern and well landscaped business park. Don’t visit if you think you can see the local sites as you are nowhere near. Open since Sept 2013, the initial image was let down by staff in jeans trainers and brazil football shirts. Ok there is a theme……… but jeans, trainers in a place advertising rooms at £200 per night NO NO NO

The hotelwebsite looks as though it is a buzzing venue with a hip cocktail bar. The reality is these are staged photos and the bar area whilst impressive links directly with the restaurant. It is open plan. Full of wall flat screen TV’s. Shame no consideration was given to clients who did NOT want to watch football! There is a pool table.

Clever touch, reception is included in the actual bar counter!!! This means they don’t have to employ separate staff haha! Check in was painless and polite. All staff are very young so expect they are on minimum wage.

Whilst this is a boutique style hotel, it is difficult to rate accurately for one simple reason. I asked what their standard tariff was for a double room – they don’t have one!!! The reply is they change the rates according to occupancy so when quiet you get a better deal on late rooms etc. Now this is where the difficulty lies as the rates shown are £200 per night.

For £200 a night the place needs to be spot on and all facilities and service to match the price tag- but sadly they don’t…………….. Read on. If we paid £200 the place would rate just 1star on Trip Adviser. We would not pay over £75 for a room here anyway. We stayed one night with breakfast included for £52 including parking. Shame they charge for parking in such a remote location. Not secure as can drive a car out of the car park via lawned areas.

In reality the hotel is a budget hotel with a twist. The rooms are a good size with ‘new’ open air hanging space, mirror and basic hairdryer. If you have long hair bring your own. a sofa bed and an average quality bed with cheap nasty duvet and wafer thin pillows. Trendy lighting and an excellent size TV. A desk area and chair. Bath towels were far too small but hotel does provide a nice bath gel set. There is good aircon.
The shower is not very practical, nowhere to hang towels or place gels except on shower floor. The basin and surrounding areas are glass or bath panel sheets. Open plan wet room style shower that already is rotting the bottom of the doors, as water splashes into WC area.
The bar looks fantastic but the staff are inexperienced and were unable to correctly mix a cocktail advertised in their bar menu. Took 15 minutes. Cocktails £9 , £4.50 a pint beer/lager
The breakfast area is too small and configured as a ‘C’ shape and there is insufficient room to move around other diners. There were only 4 people when we went and it was a pain, if it was busy it must be a nightmare, especially as can enter both ends, just poor design.
Breakfast was in itself FANTASTIC huge choice of quality continental including many meats, cheeses, salmon. Cereals fresh fruit etc and a superb help yourself full English with good quality ingredients.
Bar food and room service VERY pricey with a burger £13-£17.
All in all assessing it at the price WE paid the hotel provides new clean accommodation and excellent value for money at £52 for the night inc breakfast. So for this we give it 5 Stars, but don’t pay more than £75. Would we go back, if we had to visit area and got same price-yes.
This is a place to stop over if in the area or clearly for commercial meetings etc. It is not suitable for a romantic break as lacks the appropriate atmosphere for this.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room higher up to avoid noise from bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grantlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGPitt, Manager at pentahotel Warrington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hey grantlar,
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel In great depth.
Pentahotels is a design-driven, neighborhood lifestyle brand providing customers with comfort and style in a contemporary environment. The hallmark of the hotels is pentalounge – a combined lobby, reception, bar and restaurant – designed as a lively gathering place for both hotel guests and local residents
pentahotels offer a whole new approach to leisure and business breaks, something altogether different from the rest of the market. pentahotels watchwords are freedom, informality and great design. Our group prides itself on its excellent basics rather than on extravagant, showy displays of style over substance. The goal is to offer guests a level of hospitality and pampering normally only found in exclusive boutique hotels.
With regards to our food offering in our eyes is second to non-using the finest ingredients and our penta breakfast is something that as a group we are very proud to associate ourselves with having over 80 items to take your pick of.
While on this occasion you may have seemed a little confused by our concept we hope to welcome you again in the near future to experience the true penta lifestyle.

With very best regards
David Pitt
Regional Project’s Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Brilliant price for one night stay with breakfast - rooms basic but have everything you need ,spotlessly clean and fresh. Breakfast was good with a large choice. Staff were very pleasant and helpful . Location good . Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlastoFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGPitt, Manager at pentahotel Warrington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hello,
Thank you for the great review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
David Pitt
Regional Projects Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed here for three nights. Agree that it is a bit weird to walk in to find the bar, which is also reception. but once over that everything was good.It was pretty hot when I stayed, but the room air con was excellent and the hotel had inserted room cards to run this even when out of the room for the day. Room was clean and even when a fuse blew at 7.00am, turning off the lights, the reception got somebody up within 5 minutes to reset. Breakfast was buffet style and a good selection. I did eat in one evening and the food was excellent quality but perhaps a little expensive. Overall a good business hotel or for those to use as a stop over when travelling.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGPitt, Manager at pentahotel Warrington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi Nick G
Many thanks for taking the time to review our pentahotel in Warrington.
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future whether it is for business or pleasure.
Very best regards
David Pitt
Regional Projects Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Hotel is in some sort of Industrial Estate,and looks pleasant, but reception is at the bar - strange idea. It must have been the reason that no one answered the phone when we needed extra pillows, it was quicker to go downstairs and get them yourself ! The room was extremely hot 25.5c, we were at the back facing the road It did not cool down as 8th june was rather hot. We found the staff plesent and helpfull. For us, being a coach party was okay, as was breakfast- a big variety i would think something for everyone. I think the Hotel was terribly let down by the air con. It is really only suitable for over night stays. No wardrobe could do with a small fridge, and as there is no bath it needs something on the floor to stop people slipping - could be dangerous. It was a coach trip.

Room Tip: If staying overnight sleep downstairs in bar where there is air con, even the corridor to the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGPitt, Manager at pentahotel Warrington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hello Margaret 518,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
While some guest find our welcome a little strange when arriving at our hotel general consensus is that it is an individual standalone hotel brand with an imaginative design.
I am very pleased that you found our staff to be very accommodating and pleasant and that you embraced our breakfast offering which we are very proud of using the finest ingredients.
I must sincerely apologies for the technical issues we had during your stay with the A/C, unfortunately this had broken down and despite numerous visits from engineers we were not able to be fix this during your stay. However I would like to confirm this is now up and running in all 103 bedrooms.
Once again many thanks for your review and hopefully we will be able to welcome you again in the future
Best regards
David Pitt
Regional Projects Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

the reception is the bar and that sets the tone for the rest of the hotel. its modern and somewhat loud and bright, but it creates a relaxed atmosphere, plus its air conditioned (more of that later).
the breakfast was really good, with a wide range to suit all.
the rooms are functional, if you have lots to unpack, you will be disappointed by the lack of wardrobe space...as there isnt one, its just an 'arm' from the wall. the large screen TV is great and the free wifi a bonus if somewhat slow and temperamental. the bathroom is great, love the wet room feel and design and the bed is adequate. its the finishing touches to the room that could make it so much better, for example more pillows, wardrobe/drawers and maybe a safe (i wanted somewhere to store my camera while we ate). above all though it is the lack of air con in the rooms. when we booked in the temp was reading 25.5C but apparently its not air con but a recycle unit, so wont actually reduce the temp. i stayed 2 nights but due to the heat had a total of 6 hours sleep. i took a temp reading at 4:30am and it was 27.9C and even when i complained (no apology was offered) and given a fan the temp stubbornly refused to fall. so if you stay here...dont book into your room, use the lounge area, sleep on one of the many sofas and make use of the air con that is there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabian17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGPitt, Manager at pentahotel Warrington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Sabina 17,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on trip advisor. It was great to ready how you found the reception and bar relaxing and a great atmosphere if somewhat bright and load. We love our pentalounge and encourage our guest to treat it as their home and to kick back and relax. I am sorry however that you found our rooms not to your liking and that the safety deposit boxes where not explained to you at checking. For customers peace of mind we do offer a safety deposit box that can be located at the reception for your valuables such as your camera. On the date you stayed with us we unfortunately had some A/C problems that where out of our control. On a number of occasions we had engineers out however at that time they were unable to fix. I am now pleased to report that this has been rectified and we now have the air supply in all our rooms.
I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future so you can experience a more pleasurable stay with us
Very best regards
David Pitt
Regional Projects manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warrington hotels
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#8 of 22 in Warrington
1,974 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Warrington
Holiday Inn Warrington
#12 of 22 in Warrington
625 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#9 of 22 in Warrington
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,506 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Gullivers Hotel
The Gullivers Hotel
#11 of 22 in Warrington
557 reviews
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Warrington
Travelodge Warrington
#13 of 22 in Warrington
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Warrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Warrington

Address: Aston Avenue | Birchwood Business Park, Warrington WA3 6ZN, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Warrington)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Warrington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Warrington
#4 Family Hotel in Warrington
Price Range: £46 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Warrington 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR NEIGHBOURHOOD LIFESTYLE HOTEL Keeping road warriors grounded while on-the-go with distinctive design, a mix of fun with functionality, comfort with creativity, and style with simplicity. That is who we are and what we aim for - each day, every day, for you!Pentastyle translates as a cool design ethos that includes comfort and warmth while pentasleep means practical, comfortable guestrooms that ensure a sound night's slumber. Every visit to a pentalounge - our "lifestyle lobby" that multi-functions as a reception, bar, and cafe, perfect as a neighbourhood hub - will make you want to come back! Pentafun is guaranteed by gathering with people who all beat to the same drum. Pentahotel Warrington is conveniently accessible from the main roads and in a perfect location to explore Manchester or Liverpool which are both not more than 25 minutes away. The four-star hotel has two meeting rooms and offers laundry service and ironing facilities. Modern European cuisine is served in the onsite restaurant which is open for breakfast lunch and dinner. In your room you will find a comfortable bed a large flat-screen TV and a private bathroom. Free and premium Wifi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your pentahotel Warrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Warrington Hotel Warrington
Pentahotel Warrington Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing