We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves better than a 2 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paddington House Hotel
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Warrington
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice now due to visiting family who live close. Although I haven't eaten here there is a certificate showing grade 4 for food and hygiene dating back to July of this year. The rooms are pretty basic but have everything you need for a short stay. The only thing that bothered me, and I'm sure it's the same in all hotels, is how noisy it can be. All in all nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

loved every minute of it, staff were fantastic very friendly and helpful and everyone was smiling and friendly from the moment I walked through the door to the moment I left, room was good clean and tidy and above expectations from the price and if anything extra needed the cleaners and reception staff were happy to accommodate, there was some nice areas to go for walks and after staying last year it was good to see it had changed hands and the bar had been updated and had very nice fresh food that was at a very cheap price for the standard of food received, looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

100% honest opinion!!!!.
This is the worst hotel I have stayed in.no wardrobe in the room , just hangers.room is dirty, dusty. Dated furnture, Double room has a 3/4 bed in it. Room is 13' x 13' with additional grotty bathroom, 14" dvd analog TV with digi box. very dangerous to venture out of your room at night as most of the lightbulbs have blown in the corridors.certainly would not eat here.there is a lift with doors you have to close yourself ( now that's dated)!!!!!.got biscuits in the room the 1st night. this was probably a good hotel in the 1970s and clearly has not progressed beyond the era.if you don't mind a rough hotel, this is for you. Otherwise, don't do what we did and leave it till the last minute to find accommodation, you could end up here !!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Never never again !! On a more serious note if there was a fire you would struggle to find you way out because of the badly lit corridors . avoid at all costs. Believe me you will not be happy.this is a 1* hotel and that is being very very very generous.NOT RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernnie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

We arrived with some trepidation following the reviews below (booked before reading!) but overall the hotel exceeded our expectations. Stories about poor service were given creedance by a less than dynamic receptionist but overall (and in particular the breakfast host) it was good. The rooms/whole hotel is dated and could definitely do with some upgrading. Please use the lift if you plan to go.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomlake19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

as part of a group of ten lads we stayed here Saturday 20th July ready to see Madness at haydock race course. on the arrival the hotel looks ok, nothing flash nothing poor just ok which is fine when when only paying £45 a room for 2 with breakfast.

the lady on reception was ok even if a little bit rushed off her feet checking us in. when we asked her if the bar was open she said she was no octipus so no which at the time i thought was quite rude. this appeared to be a big mistake on her part as all ten of us quickly popped over the road to the dog and partridge pub where we spent a lot of money!

the rooms were ok for the money, no major concerns although in my room which was room 6 i did at first think there was a turd in the bath but this appeared to be some sort of rust or stain.

breakfast was included and served as a buffet type. i didnt see any tea and the coffee was Luke warm but i enjoyed the food would defitnetly recommend this hotel for a good quality breakfast!

other than the initial rudeness from the lady who checked us in the staff we met were excellent.

would i stay here again? yes if i had to visit warrington but no for haydock race course. the hotel was 10 mile away from the races. taxis struggled to get near course due to traffic so we ended up walking the last 2 mile and when leaving the course it was almost impossible to get a taxi back. theres only one taxi company in the nearby town ashden in makerfield which had very very very long queues and taxis from other towns wouldnt pick us up due to the traffic! we had to sit it out in a near by pub until 2am before we got a taxi and even then we had to flag one down which had just dropped somebody off. so if visiting the races book a room at the premiere inn or holiday in and you'll save £60 IN TAXI fares straight away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chill6834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This hotel is terrible, the showers don't work they give you the same towels you used the day before and they forget your food order, it's dirty they never had beer in the bar for a week and the staff are rude. DON'T STAY HERE!!!! Even for a budget it's bad.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulyg1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

If your not willing to pay for expensive hotels this hotel is good for the money you pay the food is decent rooms are spacious and comfortable but not the cleanest it could do with a makeover to make it look nicer but for 30-40 pound a night its good value for money and the staff are friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matmoe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warrington hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Warrington
Holiday Inn Warrington
#12 of 22 in Warrington
641 reviews
2.2 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#5 of 22 in Warrington
1,389 reviews
2.2 mi away
Patten Arms Hotel
Patten Arms Hotel
#20 of 22 in Warrington
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Warrington
Travelodge Warrington
#13 of 22 in Warrington
233 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#7 of 22 in Warrington
275 reviews
4.8 mi away
Warrington Lowton
Warrington Lowton
#15 of 22 in Warrington
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddington House Hotel

Address: 514 Manchester Road, Warrington WA1 3TZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Warrington
Price Range: £28 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Paddington House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Paddington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paddington Hotel Warrington
Paddington House Hotel Warrington, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing