We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first impressions often mislead”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Warrington
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Warrington
Reviewed 5 August 2011

on the face of it a decent enough hotel, the exec rooms here are very large and the bed exceptionally comfortable, but its all false. You turn on the tv to find no radio and for the tv itself the oicture and sound very cheap. This is where a theme starts, you spot the chips in the inbuilt furniture, the rain head shower promises much but delivers naff all. The food reads well (ok a common fault of all Village hotels ive stayed at) is dire. Finally you wonder whats keeping the roof up for its certainly not the walls, these are clearly made from paper. I spent everynight sandwiched between both neighbours tv listening

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwardsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,940 - 1,946 of 2,045 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2011

We managed to get a last minute deal after leaving the nearby Daresbury Park in disgust, It was very nice. The room was clean and tidy and the gym and pool/spa were first class. The staff were friendly and polite.

There is a restaurant and pub attached to the hotel. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was good, but my main course (the salmon pasta dish) was rather bland. This was the recipe's fault rather than the chef's. When we complained, they were happy to knock the cost off the bill. The pub food was more straight-forward and good value for money. The draught beer is a bit pricey though.

Breakfast was average, but it seems to me that there are very few hotels who do a nice breakfast these days.

Overall though, we really enjoyed our stay and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Springer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed at the Village hotel for one night on business. First time in a Village hotel - my usual preference is for another chain which doesn't have a hotel nearby. Quite a queue at check in, maybe seven in front of me but I was in my room less than 10 minutes after arriving, very efficient process. Nice room although the lighting was a little low for my taste, very comfortable, great service from desk staff and duty manager when there was a minor issue with the room electrics (reported and fixed in under 5 minutes). My benchmark is how good the shower is, this one was excellent. Good choice for breakfast and checkout was swift, efficient and friendly. The Village chain is now my second preferred option when the first one isn't available. If there were more of them (especially in Scotland) they might be first choice as they are cheaper.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKtrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Visiting sick relative in Warrington so wanted somewhere central. Had heard about hotel so gave it a go.
Excellent location , easy parking. Not normally one to complain when I'm away but ..
Room at first looked funky but was soo dark it was oppressive.
First night rank for some ice in the room , never came.
Second bathroom towel was ? ..... You guessed it .... Hidden in draw in main room ???? Why ??? Doesn't make any sense....
Only one toilet roll ... Shower gel on wall in bath but no other toiletry stuff.
Night two after day in hospital ordered room service, Ceasar's salad NO ANCHOVY, NO POACHED EGG .... at £12.50 (errr? Hello ? A salad in Warrington ??? I live in central London and it isn't that expensive in West End restaurants)
and yes .... Turned up WITH anchovy and poached egg.... Sent it back . Apple tart , slice looked like a slice from your mum when she was trying to share the cake 12 ways and £5.50!!!
Rang down to reception circa 6pm waited over 5 minutes for a pick up to be told by a totally unapologetic member of staff "I was busy with other customers!!!"
food in restaurant good, fitness/spa facilities good rest not worth it.
Flashy place trying to pretend to be miles better than it actually us .... Don't be fooled by the flashy frontage. Would NOT revisit

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pritcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I stayed at the Village on the Dine and Dream package - was a little worried because I had seen a bad review about the food on a random site but from the minute I got their the stay was fantastic - Reception staff were lovely. The room was great and the i pod docking station was a nice surprise. The naughty Nineties cabaret was a blast ...not that me and the girls remember much after 10pm but the one thing I did remember was the food - it was fresh hot and looked good ......what more does a person want - so the bad review went out the window.
Anyhow I would reccommend any one of any age to stay - the breakfast is continental and full english - eat what you want and the leisure facilities are just what you need after a crazy night
A++++++++ for Village

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayleym007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We had the misfortune of staying at The Village Warrington the weekend of the 2nd and 3rd July 2011. We had considered staying at the Premier Inn just across the road from The Village, but we'd decided we'd pay a few pounds more for what we hoped would be a superior experience. How wrong could we be?

The hotel itself is modern and welcoming, but our overall impression was that the staff just couldn't care less. The catering operation especially needs a major overhaul.

We ate lunch on the Saturday afternoon in the Victory Pub. We ordered some "famous" burgers which were the toughest, most burnt, and lack-lustre burgers I have ever eaten. We tried to complain, but it was impossible to find a member of staff to compain to!

Sunday morning breakfast was equally disappointing. The queues were exceptionally long, the hot counter wasn't adequately long to serve a full restaurant, and the standard of the food was very poor - with undercooked sausages, bacon which was swimming in water and no scrambled eggs whatsoever. Coffee too was watery and tasteless.

It's also worth mentioning the "state of the art" health and fitness centre. Whilst well-equipped, it also felt a little cold and unloved.

Overall, not an experience we will repeat. On checking out, we weren't even asked if we had enjoyed our stay or had any feedback.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lexy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Absolutely fantastic from the second we walked in until the moment we left. Despite arriving late in the evening due to an accident on the M6, we were greeted by a very warm welcome by the Night Manager who also assisted us to our room with our baggage as we had the kids in tow.

We had a fantastic nights sleep in very comfortable beds in a large but cosy room. Breakfast was also a huge plus after being meeted and greeted by a very polite young lady on the desk who was also very helpful and gave us lots of info about the hotel.

As for the leisure facilities.....WOW!! Why are there not more of these hotels??

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bkareferee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warrington hotels
4.1 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#5 of 22 in Warrington
1,388 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,519 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Gullivers Hotel
The Gullivers Hotel
#11 of 22 in Warrington
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#7 of 22 in Warrington
275 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Warrington
Holiday Inn Warrington
#12 of 22 in Warrington
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Patten Arms Hotel
Patten Arms Hotel
#20 of 22 in Warrington
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Warrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Warrington

Address: Hotel Warrington Hotel Warrington 110 Centre Park Square | Warrington, Warrington WA1 1QA, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel Warrington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Warrington
#3 Luxury Hotel in Warrington
Price Range: £40 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Warrington 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Warrington is close to the beautiful Cheshire countryside and situated between three major shopping centres: Warrington, Liverpool and Manchester all within easy reach from the M6, M56 and M62. You can take a trip to North Wales or visit Arley Hall and Gardens. Family outings should include Chester Zoo and Gulliver's World. Village Hotel Warrington has 115 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding License, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Village Hotel Warrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warrington Village Hotel
Hotel Village Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing